We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morro Bay, California
1 review
“extraordinary”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

From the grand house to the lovely hostess our stay was a pleasure. Beds were great and decor sumptuous. Fun interaction with hostess and guests created a festive air. We will go again if anywhere close to the area. Also loved the history of the house as well as the town of St. Joseph.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth frye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
My mission here at the Shakespeare Chateau is to re-introduce this fabulous mansion home to the public. Although it was closed for over a decade, I'm thrilled to have successfully re-opened this jewel as a luxury bed-and-breakfast, event venue, wedding mansion, and tour home. Check our website for specials and offers, then give me a call to make your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
179
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The workmanship in this place defies the imagination. The woodwork, done in the 1800's is something to behold. If you get an opportunity dont skip the Shakespeare Chateau, probably the best built home I have ever been in. The service was excellent.

Room Tip: Get the Romeo and Juliet room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loyal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
The Shakespeare Chateau is, indeed, one of the finest mansions standing - a true American treasure! I am proud to have the opportunity to be custodian of this house, and to give people a chance to visit. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Shakespeare Chateau in October 2013. We really enjoyed our stay. Usually my wife is more interested in bed and breakfast places than me. But, this place was great. I have been recommending it to my friends and would like to visit again myself. Every detail of the experience was perfect. The owner is providing a wonderful service by sharing her mansion, history, and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am so pleased to hear from guests like Bill, guests who are pleasantly surprised with their visit to the Shakespeare Chateau. We offer exceptional service and comfort to our overnight guests, as well as superb event hosting for weddings, dinners, company parties, business meetings, baby or wedding showers, and more. Call me today to book your weekend away or celebratory gathering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great B&B in St. Joe! Isobel makes you feel at home in this unique setting. Each themed room makes for a great stay. Breakfast has always been delicious. The restoration of the mansion has been a labor of love.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank slwaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I'm so happy to hear from my guests, especially when they are as excited and enthusiastic as these folks are. The fabulous "Euro Spa" shower in the Twelfth Night room is absolutely one of the favorite amenities here at the Shakespeare Chateau. Delicious home-made breakfasts and personal attention to our guests' comfort keep our business thriving. Thanks for visiting - see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were guests from 11/1 - 11/4 and stayed in the Twelfth night suite. Upon arrival we were greeted by Isobel, the inn keeper/ owner. Isobel shared the history of the mansion with us and gave us a tour. What an amazing home that is now an awesome B & B. The Chateua has been painstakingly and lovingly restored. The restoration continues as Isobel puts her heart into the Shakespeare Chateua. In a league of its own, pass on the hotel chain stay and experience a bounty of history at this amazing B & B. We experienced a wonderful continental breakfast 2 days and purchased a full breakfast 2 days of our stay. Breakfast was fabulous, the full breakfast allowed us to have a light lunch or none at all. Dinner options in St. Joseph are endless. Isobel gave us some dining suggestions and discount cards for local restaurants. The craftsmanship and quality of the home are evident by the year built. The suite was beautiful. The bed and linens were fabulous. The shower was awesome with great pressure and HOT water. Thank You Isobel for opening your home as a B & B, restoring & preserving history, sharing your heart and passion with guests and visitors. We'll return for another stay when in St. Joseph again. Have a Happy thanksgiving!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindellfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
As my first season of being open draws to a close, I'm gratified to know that my 600+ guests have enjoyed a pleasant and memorable visit to the Shakespeare Chateau and to St. Joseph. I've made many new friends, and look forward with eager anticipation to seeing many of you again. My work here continues unabated, and with a bit of good fortune, I'll soon have my fourth guest room open. Thanks to all who have posted reviews on TripAdvisor, and who have referred their family and friends to me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a joy to add the Shakespeare Chateau to the list of excellent venues for tourism in St. Joe! Isobel McGowan is doing an impeccable restoration and her standard of excellence is not just with preservation. Having dined there numerous times and toured the mansion, I can recommend this B&B to anyone visiting St Joe. It is also great for dinner events and parties. If you are looking for stunning ambiance, fine dining and a first rate historic account of one of St Josephs finest grand mansions be sure to call there. You will also be steered to other architectural gems, local events or tourist attractions. Thanks Isobel for promoting St Joseph so well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
It is truly a privilege and a pleasure to work and live in this grand mansion, and to be part of the phenomenal renaissance that is happening all around Saint Joseph! The Hall Street Historic District is an American treasure of architecture and period interiors, and I'm proud that the house built for Nathan and Elmarine Ogden in 1885 is now open for overnight guests, events, and tours. Thank you, Jo, for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

By chance we were able to get a room at this lovely bed and breakfast when we made a last-minute trip to Saint Joseph, Missouri. We instantly fell in love with the Shakespeare Chateau and its owner, Isobel. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite which featured a jetted tub, in addition to beautiful stained glass windows and a fireplace with original hand-painted Romeo and Juliet tiles. Even though the mansion was filled with priceless antiques and beautifully renovated period pieces, Isobel welcomed our young daughter and made us feel at home. Before bed, Isobel allowed our daughter to get a picture taken on one of the two gorgeous hand-carved dragons that adorned the stairway railing. In the morning we awoke to the wonderful smell of coffee and a hot breakfast. Overall our stay was enchanting and we will definitely be back to visit again soon. The Shakespeare Chateau Bed and Breakfast is a must when visiting Saint Joseph, Missouri.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting, and for bringing your daughter to experience the Chateau. The future of our historic architecture will be determined by those who are children today - I'm so happy to show young people the beauty and the craftsmanship throughout this home. Please come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#9 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#8 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Address: 809 Hall St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2139
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Shakespeare Chateau was built in 1885 by Nathan Ogden when St. Joseph Missouri was known as "The Queen of the River Cities." High atop a bluff looking down across the city toward the Missouri River, 809 Hall Street is one of several mansions in the Hall Street Historic District known locally as "Millionaires' Row." You'll enjoy meeting the friendly innkeeper, Isobel, as she takes you through the palatial interior. You'll marvel at 47 (yes, 47!) Original stained glass windows, carved cherrywood, mahogany, and walnut mantles, and of course, a bust of the Bard himself above the grand fireplace in the front foyer. But most of all, you'll enjoy our comfortable sleeping rooms, each one beautifully appointed with fabulous art and antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing