We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comparison”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I wanted a bed and breakfast to celebrate our anniversary. I kept finding b and b's that looked like g'ma's house. Then I stumbled on Isobel's Shakespeare Chateau. Oh. My. Goodness. The pictures don't do this mansion justice! We arrived to a very quiet mansion that we were able to walk around freely. Then Isobel, the owner, appeared and she was so kind, sweet and knowledgeable about the mansion, the surrounding mansions and the town. Immediately I felt like I was getting to stay overnight in a museum!! There is so much eye candy in the mansion that I am still processing all I saw. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite and there was nothing, and I mean NO THING we didn't like. Our whole stay we felt like we were staying in a home of our own. I could hardly stop thinking about the history of the mansion, who had lived in the suite before and what all Isobel has done to restore this jewel. Our breakfast was served when we wanted, not too early. We were never disturbed. One of our fav parts of the evening was walking around the mansion barefoot and just looking around, feeling very comfortable and at home but in a mansion unlike any we had ever seen! I know this is a very rambling review, but, wow. I cannot stop thinking about our stay. We WILL be back! Thank you Isobel and staff (one other sweet lady who's name we didn't catch:) for an amazing anniversary!! Can't wait to see you again.

Room Tip: We were not able to tour the other rooms bc they were occupied. But our suite was superb. Immaculate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We were so pleased to host you, Michelle, for your anniversary. Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed response - I know other travelers read our posted reviews, and they appreciate your insights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 324 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a wonderful way to pass an evening. The mansion is so opulent that you feel as if you are a character in a black and white movie. You know immediately when walking into the house that the whole structure was made with loving details everywhere. Ms. Isobel is a perfect match to this wonderful house. She lovingly tells the history of the mansion and you can see it in her eyes how much she has cared and loved every room. I have been in bed and breakfasts all over this country and can say with assurance that this is my favorite. I'm going back as soon as I can and now have a wonderful getaway to look forward to. Thank you Isobel!

Room Tip: Romeo and Juliet Suite is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you, Paula, for staying at the Shakespeare. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and was so pleased and surprised to receive the bouquet of flowers you sent the same day you left. We're still enjoying the lovely "Stargazer" lilies in the parlor of the mansion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The house is absolutely beautiful with all the stained glass windows, woodwork, fireplaces, tile, etc. Isabel, the owner, gave us a very interesting tour. She really knows her history and is passionate about restoring this old mansion. Both breakfasts we ate there were delicious. She even remembered my husband doesn't like mushrooms and left them out of his meal. She is very gracious and accommodating, letting us choose the time we wanted to eat. My husband and I stayed in the Twelth Night room. The shower was amazing and is made for tall people which is just what I need. The toilet is kind of hidden behind the room door and the door squeaks really bad so we left the door open during the night so it wouldn't wake the spouse up. There is a bright light that shines through one of the windows at night so if you're sensitive to light at night when you're sleeping bring a mask for your eyes. The pillow was a little hard so I woke up with a headache in the morning, but I get frequent headaches so not sure if it was caused by the pillow or not. My husband thought the pillows were fine.

Isabel made us feel very welcome. She is an amazing woman. She is doing much of the restoration herself. She was doing the tedious job of stripping paint off the intricate woodwork of one of the fireplaces. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I was very pleased to host Sue and her friends at the Shakespeare Chateau. Sorry to hear that a light was left on, perhaps in the hallway? I'll be paying close attention to ensure that lights are off at night. Of course, I'm always at the mansion, and my guests are encouraged to call me for any reason but especially if there's anything I can do to enhance their comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I spent a fantastic week-end with another couple at the Shakespeare Chateau Inn & Gardens! Upon our arrival on Friday evening until we left on Sunday morning Isabel was an excellent host! The Shakespeare Chateau is an incredible building. Isabel is doing excellent job in restoring the Shakespeare Chateau to it's Victorian era. The furniture and art work that Isabel has furnished it with is just incredible! Overall, our stay was relaxing and totally enjoyable! Thank you, Isabel!

Stayed: May 2013
Thank NolanDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you, Nolan, for your visit and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We're always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay here on Historic Hall Street. I hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a lovely get away with friends for a weekend. The historic house is like a castle. Isabel, the innkeeper, is most gracious and gave us a wonderful tour of the house with the complete history and explanation of all the fabulous details. The rooms are comfortable, the water pressure is good, the temperature control is excellent, and the breakfasts are to die for! This is my first experience staying at a B & B; I highly recommend Shakespeare Chateau Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SharonDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Sharon and her friends had a great weekend getaway at the Chateau - they visited some favorite Saint Joe destinations and restaurants, enjoyed a play at Robidoux Landing, and played cards in the dining room parlor here in the mansion. I loved hosting this fun group - hope they'll come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Decided to stay here for a business trip over the local chain hotels. Amazing architecture and stained glass greet you upon entering, perfect front porch for a relaxing afternoon, delicious and thoughtful breakfasts, and elegantly appointed rooms with free Wi-Fi throughout. A quick drive from Benedictine College or Northwest Missouri State for parents visiting students and within walking distance of downtown St. Joseph restaurants.
I couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: Loved the Twelfth Night room - fireplace, stained glass, elegant wallpaper on the ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

It was my pleasure to meet and host you during your stay here in St. Joseph, Ashley. I wish you the best of luck in your career and hope you'll return to the Shakespeare soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On our way home to St. Louis, my wife and I decided to spend a night in St. Joseph, Mo. after visiting friends in Kansas City.. It was a good decision because we found a delightful restored mansion, run by a hands-on, energetic innkeeper, Isobel. The experience lived up to the positive reviews online, and I think this was one of our best B & B experiences, and we've been doing B & B's for 35 years of so. Sometimes you get a good Inn, and a so-so innkeeper, or else a so-so inn and a good innkeeper. In this case we got an outstanding Inn and an outstanding Innkeeper. The place is beautiful, and she spent quite a long time showing us the house and answering questions, even though she had been doing that all day because the Inn was on a house tour. You get the feeling that you are staying at a relative's house who is genuinely glad to see you.
An added bonus was that we took advantage of the 50% off price to get a room if one is available less than 24 hours from the time you call. I appreciated that Isobel made that offer on her website, instead of putting the onus on the customer to have to ask about discounts. That spoke volumes to me.
All in all, we highly recommend the Shakespeare Chateau Bed and Breakfast, especially for travelers like us who are passing through St. Joseph and want to spend a 1/2 day looking around, and have a really cool overnight experience, (and at half price if you get lucky!)
Phil Hengen
St. Louis, Missouri

Room Tip: They are equally nice...we had the one with a King bed and a jacuzzi tub. Bed was really comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you, Phil, for staying at the Shakespeare Chateau, and for your glowing review of the Inn. We are dellighted to know that the comfort of the room pleased you, and that you enjoyed your stay in St. Joseph. I hope you'll consider a return visit the next time you pass this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
0.6 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#10 of 12 in Saint Joseph
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#2 of 12 in Saint Joseph
361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
#6 of 12 in Saint Joseph
105 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Address: 809 Hall St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2139
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $149 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Shakespeare Chateau was built in 1885 by Nathan Ogden when St. Joseph Missouri was known as "The Queen of the River Cities." High atop a bluff looking down across the city toward the Missouri River, 809 Hall Street is one of several mansions in the Hall Street Historic District known locally as "Millionaires' Row." You'll enjoy meeting the friendly innkeeper, Isobel, as she takes you through the palatial interior. You'll marvel at 47 (yes, 47!) Original stained glass windows, carved cherrywood, mahogany, and walnut mantles, and of course, a bust of the Bard himself above the grand fireplace in the front foyer. But most of all, you'll enjoy our comfortable sleeping rooms, each one beautifully appointed with fabulous art and antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing