We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superior”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JC Wyatt House

JC Wyatt House
Ranked #1 of 213 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: 24 hour advanced reservations are mandatory, along with advanced entree selections, as we only prepare what each day's reservations require.....Beautifully restored 1891 home. Classically trained Chef. Superior dining, service and ambiance. BYOB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“superior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I attended dinner with our friend on Saturday. The food was so good words don't do it justice (thank you Jeff). The Host Jim is beyond fantastic! We were made to feel like royalty, the extra touches with our meal and service would not be possible at a chain restaurant. The ambiance of that beautiful Victorian adds to the charm of the experience. A real Treasure and I can't wait to go back!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeighAnnMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. joseph
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our family visited to celebrate some exciting accomplishments. The food is beyond fantastic. We had a nice time, enjoyed the atmosphere and the service is just top notch. Cannot say enough about this place! Would recommend to all friends.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Historic St. Joseph and Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked a family dinner party to celebrate a special occasion. There aren't many good choices in St. Jo, but this option was excellent. The city doesn't really have a food scene, but our enthusiastic host shared the story of their restoration and effort to revive the neighborhood.

All dining at the JC Wyatt House is a command performance. You order your entree selections in advance from an online menu and everything is prepared just for your party. It was the perfect "at home" dinner party without any of the work or cleanup.

The best part is you can bring you own wine. You won't be disappointed by their hospitality.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank duchamp_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
792 reviews
549 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“lovely meal in a historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My partner and his family had dinner at the JC Wyatt house. We had a great dinner, and the atmosphere is intriguing and historic.

It’s a bit hard to find in the dark, as we were driving here straight from KC airport, but there was ample street parking. The inside of the house and dining area is filled with antiques and historic photos, which really added character and charm to the place. I don’t think I’ve been in such an interesting setting for a dinner, which stems from the fact that this actually is someone’s house with only a few tables in the restaurant. Now, everything about this house screams 1880s, so that’s even more interesting. We were late arriving, so the rest of our party that was there on time got a tour of the house and was shown all the remodeling.

The food was very tasty and well-executed. Most of us had the salmon cakes for appetizers, and then. You have to preorder your food, so there’s not much of a “selection,” if you will. The loin of lamb that I had was a good portion, as were the other entrees. That night (I don’t know if the selections change or not), the dessert options were crème brulee or reduced chocolate soufflé. The crème brulee definitely was the better option.

Ultimately, I would definitely recommend JC Wyatt house if you’re passing through St Joe or are staying there. This is an out-of-the-way place relative to the rest of the town, but it’s worth it. For five people with three courses, the bill was around $250, so people can decide if that’s in his or her price range or not.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

A beautifully restored home and great food. And you can bring you own wine!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank roland s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Wyatt House also viewed

 

Been to JC Wyatt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing