We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We liked this place so much we stayed there on two different occasions.

Totally spotless to the point it looked new. The pool area was great and they had a small wine shop in the lobby. There also is wineryry about a mile away.

We found a coupon in a hotel book we picked up at the state line tourist office, and only paid $50.

Check out the photos and I think you will also want to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in such a nice review. We are always happy to hear from our repeat customers. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the St. James, MO area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    19
    8
    14
See reviews for
64
30
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Athough I generally don't care for motels with outside room entrances unless I'm on the first floor, we were very impressed with the St. James facility. It was incredibly clean - as if it had been remodeled in the past few months. The room was well furnished and rated right up there with the high dollar motel chains. We also like the bathroom/shower and the vanity separate like they are at the facility. the continental breakfast was the usual Days Inn spread with most everything except eggs and meat. the staff was also very friendly and made our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
What a great review.!! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. I am glad you enjoyed our accomodations and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to St. James or the St. James area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at this location in September 2012 and was very pleased. The location is very convenient, being just off I-44. The rooms are clean and appear to have been recently updated. The overall property is nice and again appears to have been recently updated. Breakfast buffet was good and is typical of what you would find at a motel in this price range. No hot food items on first morning of stay but on second morning (Saturday) biscuits and gravy was available. I wish the room would have had a mini-fridge but everything else was great. In room coffee maker, safe, hair dryer etc. included. Property has a nice indoor pool and a nice exercise room consisting of a treadmill, elliptical cross-trainer, bicycle. No on-site restaurant but several "okay" places close by. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rooster799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a kind review. We are always pleased when we meet and exceed our guest's expectations. Come back and see us during your next trip to the St. James, MO area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We chose the Days Inn based on the good reviews, but it wasn't a great choice for us. First the positives: Very friendly staff who are trying to provide a good lodging experience for their guests, and a well-stocked and fresh breakfast in the morning. But...we greatly underestimated how much the noise from the highway and the parking lot would interrupt our sleep during the night. I know that for economic and environmental reasons, motels are beginning to use air conditioner and heating systems that may only be set to "auto" setting, but this is not conducive to sleep when the system itself is noisy when it turns on and off and/or when there is excessive noise outside the room. The room itself was average, but not a good value for the price that we paid. It was clean, but not spotlessly so. We had a small non-smoking room that did not smell of smoke, but still had a musty odor (not sure if it was due to the A/C, age of the hotel, etc.). The beds would appeal to someone who prefers a firmer mattress-- they were a bit too firm for my taste. I wiish I could give the Days Inn a higher rating, because as I said, the staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on our property. It is disappointing that we were unable to meet all your needs. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Better by far than the resort hotel I stayed in at the conference I was returning from! This hotel is clean, nice service, good breakfast in the morning (waffles <3) The bed was so comfortable! It was the best sleep I'd had all week!!!!!!! Plus microwave, fridge, and free wifi!!!

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, ask to stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarabelle_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for the kind review of our property. We enjoyed hearing that we met your expectations
and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night while on our way to Branson. We were very impressed with the hotel as a whole. The check in process was fast, the rooms were super clean, and nice! The pool area was clean and nicely decorated with plants and rocks. For the continental breakfast we were very impressed. The kitchen area was clean and set up very nicely and organized. They offered waffles, bagels, toast, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. The staff was constantly coming in to refill food and keep the area clean. I highly recommend this hotel. It is hard to find small hotels that are clean, and this one is spotless!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferlyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
It's always a pleasure when our guests are pleasantly surprised by our hotel. We strive to make highway travelers comfortable. Next trip to Branson be sure to stop and see us again.
We are at the 195 mile marker on Interstate 44.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

1) NO ELEVATOR! Ask for the 1st floor unless this is NOT an issue with you.
2) Some rooms open to an inner hall rather than to an outside sidewalk (both floors).
3) Room: Clean, good beds, vanity/sink area in the room. Minimal electric outlets.
4) Pool: Very attractive area with plants and a wall of windows. NO hot tub in pool area.
5) Continental breakfast: Belgian waffles, toast, bagels, packaged donuts, 2 cereals, strawberry yogurt, apples, biscuits/gravy.

A pleasant experience with a minimal breakfast. I would return if the price was basement level AND ONLY if I were guaranteed a 1st floor room

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasokie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, General Manager at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review. We don't have an elevator, but we do try to accomodate first floor requests as often as possible. Next visit be sure to let us know in advance and we'll reserve that first floor room for you. Look forward to seeing you the next time your in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James
12.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
11.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rolla
12.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
#3 of 13 in Rolla
224 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rolla
Hampton Inn Rolla
#1 of 13 in Rolla
468 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenstay Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenstay Hotel & Suites

Property: Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Address: 110 N Outer Rd, Saint James, MO 65559-1083 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint James
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenstay Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean comfortable rooms and a full free breakfast. There is wine tasting available nightly, as well as wine available for purchase by the glass or the bottle. We offer an indoor heated pool you can swim in year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Greenstay Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites
Days Hotel Saint James
Econo Lodge Saint James
Saint James Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing