We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I read some of the other reviews on here before I decided to book. It seemed like this hotel was the only chain in St. James, so I was a bit skeptical at first. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and nice the room was! The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very large. (I should mention here that for some reason I was put in a handicapped accessible room although I did not need it, and this may be the reason for the large bathroom.). The breakfast in the morning was good, except for the coffee which I did not care for. I may just be too picky about coffee, though! All of the employees I encountered were courteous and polite. The hotel is also in a great location because it is easily accessible to interstate 44, as well as the rest of the town. In all, I had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    19
    8
    13
See reviews for
59
28
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were on our way to Branson; had to take cover due to a tornado. The manager and staff were the most courteous I've ever seen, letting us and a few others take cover in the lobby, and offering items from the continental breakfast area if we were so inclined. We noticed this hotel seemed immaculate and had a very nice indoor pool area. Although we did not see the rooms as we did not stay, what we did see and the kindness of the staff would definitely make this hotel one of our favorites and will highly recommend the same. Thank you again Days Inn!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fansovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The service was great, clean rooms, common areas and the pool was great. The gift shop adds a nice touch. The best part is how the staff goes above and beyond for people in uniform. The staff had a cook out for all service members in the hotel on one of the nights I was there. This in it self deserves and excellent rating. The breakfast is great and the staff is courteous and professional. A definite place to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfersoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stopped here on our way to spend the weekend in Chicago. The beds were fine and comfortable. They offer a nice breakfast that included waffles. The breakfast area was HUGE! Most hotels I stay in have small crampedbreakfast quarters. This breakfast area was the best I've ever seen. Nice friendly staff. I'd stay here again when passing thru.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Not alot of choices on I-44 in St James Missouri. Business took me here, and the Days Inn proved to be more than a nice, clean place to stay. The evening and day staff were great, the common areas are superb, the room was clean and fresh, and the bed and pillows were superior to the $$$$ lodging in Vegas last month. Absolutely no hesitation - try it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisSunSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Being a motel in a small town, we were apprehensive but I'll tell you what, it's a very nice place. The lady at the front desk said it was completely refurbished in 2009. New carpeting, flat screen tv, very nice bedding (comfortable too), nice decor. The room still had a hint of new sheets/carpet/paint. Very nice fitness room (6 new machines.)The pool was a good size, but in January it was a bit cold for our taste. If I were traveling through the state, I'd stay here and avoid Rolla. read the reviews of the hotels there....eeeek! Anyways, the continental breakfast was fine, not very extensive but covered the basics. Overall I'd say it was an 8/9 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middlemancrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissAmanda74, Owner at Greenstay Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I appreciate the compliments on our hotel and I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you back in St. James, MO soon.

Sincerely,
Amanda Schaefer
owner, Days Inn & Suites-St. James, Missouri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Gave great military discount that brought price down - along with serving breakfast, this made the price the same as a cheap hotel but much more comfortable. WiFi and fitness room too. Nice beds, slept well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchildre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James
12.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
11.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rolla
12.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
#4 of 13 in Rolla
206 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rolla
10.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Rolla
Comfort Suites Rolla
#5 of 13 in Rolla
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenstay Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenstay Hotel & Suites

Property: Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Address: 110 N Outer Rd, Saint James, MO 65559-1083 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint James
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenstay Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean comfortable rooms and a full free breakfast. There is wine tasting available nightly, as well as wine available for purchase by the glass or the bottle. We offer an indoor heated pool you can swim in year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenstay Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites
Days Hotel Saint James
Econo Lodge Saint James
Saint James Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing