We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B!”

Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint James
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint James B&B and Inns
Millstadt, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Painted Lady for a weekend. The house is lovely and filled with wonderfully interesting antiques. While the other rooms looked very inviting, we stayed in the Little Tara cottage, which had a king-sized bed and a jacuzzi. The bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi (no weak jets here!) was perfect after a day walking/driving. The first morning, we had breakfast delivered. It came in a basket and everything was nicely boxed or wrapped and very delicious. The second morning, we ate at the house. Wanda cooked us another fantastic breakfast while Sandy showed us around the house. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast chatting with our hosts. We definitely plan to go back and may make this an annual thing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed this stay tremendously. We loved being able to completely relax and feel comfortable in the sitting room late evening, as well as being able to choose the breakfast time! Beautifully clean! We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast with great conversation and hospitality. Twin fawn nibbled on the lawn as we ate breakfast!

Room Tip: Lots of collections throughout the house so perhaps not a place for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at The Pained Lady during the 4th of July weekend. It is a beautiful house and the rooms are very clean. The owners are friendly and helpful when planning activities. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty to eat. Definitely a great place to stay if you are in the St. James area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebraland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent our anniversary here in October after another B&B fell through. We called late at night, scrambling to find someplace, and the owners were more than accommodating. We spent a lovely weekend in their private cottage (separate from the other rooms), and loved every minute of it. Giant jacuzzi, king size bed, private porch, nice and quiet. Very clean, very comfortable, couldn't ask for more. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We loved the private cottage out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ad0nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were tickled to find a B&B that offered a first floor room for my elderly parents, while my husband and I took a comfy room on the second floor. It was pleasant sitting on the back deck in the evening overlooking a wooded area. We felt right at home in the living area while my dad played the piano for awhile, and breakfast was pretty tasty!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed with another couple while spending the day riding motorcycles in the area. We did not make reservations and were winging it when we saw the Painted Lady B&B. We called and they had 2 rooms available. We were quite pleased they took us late in the day and were very happy with the accommodations and with our hosts. Very nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

This was a great weekend getaway. The house is huge (you can see it on [---]) and looks like it might be an old Victorian, but it was actually built in the 1990s, so it have fun things like a jacuzzi bath tub, separate shower - everything is planned out for guests. There is a great deck on the back that overlooks woods, and my husband and I just sat on the back deck that night enjoying a cold beverage and warm conversation. The bedroom is heavily Victorian, which my husband wasn't crazy about, but good luck finding a B&B in Missouri that's not Victorian or covered in antiques.

Breakfast was great - very hearty, and the couple that runs the place was very nice. All around a great time!

Helpful?
2 Thank poor_orion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James
1.4 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
10.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rolla
8.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
#3 of 13 in Rolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Coachlight
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rolla
Hampton Inn Rolla
#1 of 13 in Rolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast

Property: Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1127 S Jefferson St, Saint James, MO 65559-1449
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint James
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing