We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find along Hwy 44” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cabana

La Cabana
Ranked #15 of 22 Restaurants in Saint James
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice find along Hwy 44”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

After a long day on the road, we saw this little Mexican restaurant at around 9p on a Friday. Tired and hungry pulled in and was treated to some live music! We ordered a combo with chile relleno, soft taco, and a beef enchilada. Also ordered tacos on the grill. TOTG came with 4 tacos, beans and 2 cups of salsa. Food was average. Enchilada a little dry and boring. Chile relleno fair, tacos good with the salsa. All in all, nice break from the typical fair along the highway.

Helpful?
Thank willilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average, at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Food, Service and Quality is average, at best. Nothing was really bad, but nothing to brag about. Pretty bland food, not what I am used to for Mexican. We may eat here again, but not on the top of our list.

Helpful?
Thank TripJAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
“Yummy Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great service, food and price. Being from the Bay Area, California we are used to really good Mexican food restaurants and this was great! Enchiladas and Carne Asada Burrito special were great. Chips were fresh, salsa was the only thing that was just ok. This restaurant was refreshing after way too many "country buffets" around here. Some reviews are complaining about the atmosphere. Not sure why. Murals were lovely. We would go here often if we lived around here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
307 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Typical Midwestern Mexican Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have eaten here a few times. This is very typical of the hundreds of Mexican places that have appeared over the past few years, all with different names but surprisingly similar menus. Don't get me wrong, I happen to like these restaurants, so we go to quite a few. It seems the only thing that distinguishes these places are the chips and salsa. La Cabana is in an old family restaurant building, so some of the wildlife murals on the walls are left over from that. Not Mexican themed, but I see why they kept them, as they were very well done and I would find it hard to paint over them. The beef in all these type restuarants needs more spice in my opinion, and this one is no different. I use the salsa very generously on anything I order. Everything here is "typical" of these type restaurants. Nothing too awesome, but nothing bad. Just a good place to get my Mexican food fix. The service is good and the food comes out fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KDJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We ate at La Cabana because it was the only restaurant close to our hotel that sounded appetizing. We went there with our three kids. On first entering the restaurant, the lights are super bright, and the walls are super white. The atmosphere is the furthest thing from feeling like a Mexican restaurant. The menu looked promising, but once the food came out, we thought otherwise. The hamburger was grey and mush in my daughter's taco salad and the chorizo was tasteless in my husband's burrito. Our kids barely touched their food, and even my husband left over half of his burrito. We paid $50 for our entire meal, where we would have been better off getting value meals from McDonald's. We do not recommend this restaurant for the food or atmosphere. The manager was very friendly and welcoming and seemed to know everyone that walked in the door. They really need to rethink their food and atmoshphere, and maybe they can turn that place around.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferlyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabana also viewed

 

Been to La Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing