We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery”
Review of St. James Winery

St. James Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Camdenton, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Winery”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

St James Winery has a variety of wines, awards, and very knowledgable clerks. What I did not know was St James, MO has 5 wineries and a wonderful local restaurant, Sybil's. A lovely weekend getaway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gigi6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Wells, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impersonal place!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

No charm here. We didn't serve ourselves on our visit. We were given a description list to choose from and could taste up to 8. Servers checked our list and poured each selection. Other people were offered dark chocolate to try, but maybe we weren't tasting a wine that went with choc. Did find a nice mango wine. Other fruit favors available and a nice velvet red. Depends on what you like and what you are used to concerning wines and tasting rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. My friend also bought some gourmet dipping oil, but it was kind of expensive. Good value on wines.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jkcalcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Sweet Wines at St. James Winery”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This winery has lots of sweet wines! We prefer dry and semi-dry wines. We were disappointed but there seemed to be quite a few a sweet wine drinkers there and they were happy.

Helpful?
4 Thank Teri Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Humbug”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

For the largest wine producing vineyard in MO., this place is a disappointment. Yes, you can taste 775 sweet wines and yes the gift shop is nice, but it is close to the expressway, there is no wine garden, and there is no charisma. It is a money making operation period. Congrats on their 500 medals of some sort, but getting medals is meaningless when the wines are tasteless (oops, if you like grape juice they are fine).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ohbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Nice winery to visit and sample wines. Very knowledgeable personnel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbugAlliance_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Winery also viewed

 

Been to St. James Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing