We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Worthy of College level paper.

I loved this place so much that I wrote a paper on it for an English class. The personality of the... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2018
Wilkerson-35
,
Saint James, Missouri
Great place!

He has a great winery. There were 5 different wines I tried and I liked all of them which was... read more

Reviewed April 24, 2018
K J
,
Springfield, Missouri
via mobile
Read all 34 reviews
  
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
30
2
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten path drier wines trees cats winery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 34 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2016

I had read the other excellent reviews so was expecting greatness! Off the beaten path was an understatement. Looked abandonded. The building was extremely run-down, over-run with bushes, smelled damp and moldy, the bathroom had not been cleaned in years, and there was a dead mouse on the floor near a cat. Our "dump bowl" had a dead fly floating and had not been emptied in some time. We did not see the male winemaker but perhaps his wife? While she seemed knowledgeable, we couldn't get out of there fast enough. Maybe the old German winemaker would have made all the difference, but would not recommend this winery.

Date of experience: November 2016
5  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Such a gem of a winery. Worth the trip into the woods. Sweet German vintner with the best wine for miles. Go see him, you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Atilla63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Excellent winery to visit! It's a small place with great wine and the owner is wonderful. Hidden path, but well worth the trip!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Outdoorlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

You'll miss the driveway if you're not paying attention. Off the beaten path, good wines. Interesting German winemaker. Stepping into the tasting room was like going back in time. Many things sitting untouched for years. Many things haven't been updated (not that they need to be). Some seating outside if you want to enjoy a bottle on site.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank hedgeventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Heinrich is a great guy and an amazing vintner. Over the decades he has made some fantastic wines and he has stacks of award winning wines with the Heinrichshaus label to prove it. Treasure this man and his wine!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank mcmac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews