We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great place to stay”
Review of Budget Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Lodging
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean and Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Budget Lodging is right off I-44. We have stayed here 4-5 times and each time the rooms are always clean. Rooms come with a fridge and a micro wave which is a plus. Popcorn when you check in is always ready along with coffee and both are free. A pool for the swimmers and breakfast is also ready by about 6-6:30am.

Room Tip: Rooms to the west can be a little warm during late afternoon if you leave drapes open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    74
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
78
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I couldn't be more pleased. I am so used to being turned away or treated poorly because I travel with my dogs. Hearing things like: no you can't stay, you have too many dogs, we have to charge extra for dogs, our pet rooms are on the 3rd floor etc.
The staff was extremely polite, understood that show dogs are typically well behaved and very clean, they had a lot of grass to walk the dogs and a fenced off leash play area. Even though we were on the second floor, there were no stairs and the walk to the room was short. The one and only problem I had was not getting room service on a day I put the door hanger out requesting it but, the day before I had the privacy please instead so I guess they erred on the side of respect.

I wish there were more hotels like this, everywhere!I would choose them every time!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We will be coming back. Crazy clean rooms! The lobby is sharp and so is the staff. More than helpful. Why wouldn't you stay here. Even the clientele are awesome. Really nice down home people. This is the way America should be! Clean, courteous and caring!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Localdj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here while visiting my husband's parents, who live in St. Clair. Initially, I was turned off by the name of the hotel: any place named "budget" anything gives me pause. But this place is very nice. Even the lobby was beautiful and inviting.

We stayed in one of the pricier suites (we used this as a substitute honeymoon since we never went on one after we were married). The only complaint I have is a minor one. We stayed here over Thanksgiving, and when we arrived at the hotel after driving from Ohio, we were absolutely famished. Unfortunately, there were no restaurants open within any decent distance (even the McDonald's was closed!) because it was Thanksgiving day. So we snacked on what little trip food we had left and just dealt with it until the next morning. The breakfast left something to be desired, so we ate what looked appealing and went on our way.

The room was so comfortable--I'd say even more so than our bed at home! It had a living area and kitchen and was tastefully decorated. I wanted to invite people over for dinner or something! We definitely could have entertained. If we have the money, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherRMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

What budget hotel has hardwood floors (well, at least a nice pretend wood floors), leather recliner, large, bright and clean bathroom and beautiful bouquet of flowers on the sink counter? The Budget Lodging does! We were so impressed with this hotel and what it offered for a variety of travelers. Although we don't travel with our dog, this place was very pet-friendly, even providing a fenced-in run for guests' pets. We had Room 126, which was next to a concrete wall and tucked down a bit, making it very quiet.

Room Tip: Just mention to guest services that you want a quiet room and they will do everything in their power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisMusicMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Traveled from California to Wisconsin, by far the best surprise was this great place to stay. This is the 4th time we´ve done this and each time we are so pleased.

Billy & Gini
Palm Springs / Milwaukee

Room Tip: Try the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomira, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have stayed here 4 times now. Every time, it is consistent. The staff is wonderful, the owners are great. Food is consistent - biscuit and gravy, eggs, juice, bagels. Always good. Clean and in the process of refurbishing rooms. We stay here every time we show at Purina farms for dog shows. will not go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for lower level if you expect storms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
14.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
0.3 mi away
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Super 8 St. Clair MO
#2 of 2 in Saint Clair
209 reviews
6.0 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
118 reviews
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
12.2 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodging

Property: Budget Lodging
Address: 866 S Outer Rd, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the scenic foothills of the Ozarks, Budget Lodging offers a refreshing dose of traditional Midwest hospitality with a family friendly atmosphere. All modern amenities are standard, with deluxe room types available including family suites, luxury jacuzzi suite, and a rustic cottage suite. We invite you to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodging Hotel Saint Clair
Budget Lodging Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing