We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very sweet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Budget Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Lodging
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
235 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“very sweet!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Looking for something outside of St Louis for a night on the road. Wanted to be outside of St Louis for Friday morning rush hour! Choose this place from the reviews on TA. It was a great choice! Very reasonably priced ($69 including tax) and very clean. Comfy bed, sweet front desk person and a nice room overall. Thought it very sweet that they added frilly curtains and a potted flower to the window and sill. A nice little homey touch. Great decision to stop here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wings1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    70
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
88
73
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This motel is quite a find, located in a small town along I-44.

The property is clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and are in excellent condition. Breakfast is provided, and it is much more than would be expected.

There is a Subway restaurant within easy walking distance.

It is an excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the property are at ground level... no steps and you can park right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chosen because of high ratings. Did not disappoint. On Hillside with beautiful sunset view. Great price and excellent accommodations. Friendly and efficient staff. Very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stop here when traveling to vist our family in Texas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My hubby and i ecided to leave early for our vacation and want to thank those who might have liked to keep Budget Lodging a secret but didn't.

The motel was easy to find, check-in was quick and the parking well lit and safe. This was a nice building with breakfast and meeting rooms... Not typical of what I would expect when parking outside my door.

When we entered our room it smelled faintly of perfume and the decor was nice but dated. It kind of made me feel like I was at my moms, and that was nice. Everything in the room was immaculate and in good condition. The bed was awesome and the shower great. The employees were very friendly, spoke English and were probably related. Breakfast was so-so, but there were other places nearby to grab something on the go. The value was exceptional.

If you do not believe in God, keep driving. There were reminders of The Lord scattered throughout the room and common areas. I found it comforting, but others may not.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwick
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Family run motel/inn in good location, very clean. Exceptionally friendly staff who know their history and are eager to make your stay comfortable. Good bed and lots of hot water. Check out the water towers which are labeled hot and cold for a joke. Also Merrimac Caverns are a must see in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiresoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for our breed national specialty being held at Purina Farms. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The rooms were reasonably sized and clean. Best of all there were multiple grassy areas for taking the dogs out. Breakfast was warm and ready each day. After scoping out the other options in the area, i would absolutely recommend this facility over the others!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astroluna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was a little leary about staying here between the name and the fact it was a small, locally owned motel, but I was pleasantly suprised.

Pros: Very clean, nice and helpful staff, very quiet, ample parking, coffee/tea/hot chocolate free in the lobby

Cons: The TVs are very small and dated, rooms have actual keys (not swipe cards) which concerned me for safety

They offer an average breakfast in the morning - waffles, bagels, cereal, etc. There are fast food restaurants nearby -Subway, McDonalds, and Burger King, as well as a couple of gas stations, but that is about it. They are very pet friendly and there is ample grassy areas to walk dogs. The area seemed generally safe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quiet and away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithRedDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clair
14.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
0.3 mi away
Super 8 St. Clair MO
Super 8 St. Clair MO
#2 of 2 in Saint Clair
188 reviews
6.0 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
106 reviews
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Washington Hotel
12.3 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodging

Property: Budget Lodging
Address: 866 S Outer Rd, I-44 at Exit 240 & Hwy 47, Saint Clair, MO 63077-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Clair
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the scenic foothills of the Ozarks, Budget Lodging offers a refreshing dose of traditional Midwest hospitality with a family friendly atmosphere. All modern amenities are standard, with deluxe room types available including family suites, luxury jacuzzi suite, and a rustic cottage suite. We invite you to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budget Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodging Hotel Saint Clair
Budget Lodging Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing