We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Home Cooked Meals, Very Reasonable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant

Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 250 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant is a family-friendly restaurant that serves your favorite comfort food around the clock. We're open 24 hours every day!
St. Louis
Level Contributor
300 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooked Meals, Very Reasonable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant has been here for years. It was time we tried it. We enjoyed our meals. The dinner was home style and very good. The service was good, not great. The restaurant was comfortable but could have been a little more tidy. The prices were very reasonable. We're sure to return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HiggySt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    35
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home Cooked style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a diner style restaurant, but the food is excellent and it is open 24 hours. We actually ordered whole pies from here for a family celebration because the pies are so good! (we were not disappointed!)
Although many come here for breakfast, I am not a breakfast fan so I have sampled quite a bit of the menu and found almost everything to be tasty. My dad ordered the 1 lb whole catfish and was amazed. It came straight from the fryer. Hot and with a light, crispy cormeal coating. He left nothing but bones. My sister in law says their sausage gravy is the best she has ever had. Needless to say- you should give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe_Lover823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
246 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Isn't the customer right?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Gingham's is one of our family favorites, though we usually have breakfast here on the weekend. This visit was during the week, which may account for what occurred.
When our food arrived, the waitress handed the wrong plate to three of us. My two brothers switched their plates and laughed it off. My mother had something that she didn't order. She pointed this out but the waitress began arguing with her that she HAD ordered what was on that plate. We also told the waitress that our mom had ordered something else, but the waitress was adamant, insisting that Mom had ordered 'B1'. (We checked the menu and couldn't find that breakfast listed). It wasn't until the manager came over that we were able to convey the concept that however the mistake occurred, the correct food needed to be brought to the table so that my mom could eat it.
This could be a training issue, but it did affect our enjoyment of our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kocickasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It's usually packed on Sunday's. But it's worth the 15 min wait time . Food quality is excellent. A little but pricy. But portions are fair and service is good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yazrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Popular Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The management of Gingham's strives to take excellent care of their customers. The Over 60 Group is especially fond of this restaurant because Seniors are offered special deals each week. Want some home style cooking? Go to Gingham's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSPITLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Charles, MO
 

Been to Gingham's Homestyle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing