We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Everything is first class”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The first class management and staff are a reflection of the well-kept and well run Old Town St. Charles Country Inn, which sets the pace for Main street. the staff made our five day stay memorable, but on top of that theyhad a winter storm that shut down the highways and extended our stay. The forward thinking manager arranged for staff to stay overnight and to be able to provide excellent service and caring help during the freezing rain, sleet and snow storm. I was impressed and appreciative.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and the staff make them even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobjan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn and Suites in St Charles. We kindly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about us to other travelers. Hopefully the next time you come to St Charles it will be warmer so you can enjoy all that Main St has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    236
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
295
287
29
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the second year that I have held a board meeting for 10 people at this hotel. Our directors arrived on Thursday and departed on Sunday. We were able to use the small conference room with the hotel providing a screen for our presentations and the telephone for our conference calls.

Winter storms were coming in, so a few of our directors left a day early to get out of St. Louis before the snow and ice came. The front desk staff also attempted ti get a cab for one director who was leaving at 6:00 a.m. but because of the icy road conditions, the cabs said they wouldn't come until the roads got better. He contacted another cab company but he did advice our director that it might be better if she could reschedule for a later flight and take a cab once the roads became better for travel. She took his advice and there were safer conditions when she finally left for the airport.

We appreciated that he was concerned about her safety.

They have a nice breakfast and also have coffee in the lobby all day and evening.

They are great to work with. They are also in a good location with lots of nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Rosalee,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our meeting facilities. We look forward to your next stay.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stay here every time we fly in or drive, on our way to iowa. It is always clean, rooms are nice, and the staff very friendly.

The breakfast is more than most hotels and offers a lot of choices

Pool and hot tub are currently under repairs.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Linda,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn and Suites in St Charles. We kindly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about us to other travelers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stay at this Hotel, every time I go visiting my Daughters little family. I love that it has a Pool and Exercise room, for when my two grandsons stay with me. It is between Mc Donalds and I HOP and across the street from a really good Chinese Buffet. The Staff at the DESK is really wonderful. HOUSE KEEPING could not be more helpful. Every staff member I came into contact with, ALWAYS had time to say hello, even stop to chat! For me, it is my Home away from Home. I was VERY SATISFIED stayed there!

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms close to the Pool because the noise travels. And don't get the rooms cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Frances,

We are thrilled you enjoy your stays at the Country Inn and Suites when you come to St Charles. We kindly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about us to other travelers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The building had a nice exterior that did not clash with the charm of Main Street. The Lobby was nice. The staff was very nice. Didn't try the breakfast. The Suite was comfortable. One star subtracted since the sounds from outside, such as pedestrians and cars on the brick road, were fairly audible in the room. One half star subtracted since the ventilation carried the sounds of the next rooms where it seemed like 18 to 20 babies and preschool children screamed unsupervised until 2 AM. One and a half stars subtracted due to the hotel's laundry service causing the room to vibrate audibly from 8 AM to 5 PM. Things actually moved on the tables, naps were impossible and headaches were induced. We were told that the problem was an unbalanced washing machine. If that's the case, and they know about it, why hasn't it been fixed? Apparently the problem is the worst in the one-bedroom suites, so they offered to move us, but we would then have had to move to a lesser quality room and we needed the extra space. One star added back on 'cause this is not a two-star place.

Room Tip: Any room near the hotel laundry area vibrates badly if there's an off-balance load in the spin c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jobsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited on 1/4/2014. Went as a couple and spent one night. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was OK, not great. Lots of shops and eating establishments nearby. The KATY trail runs directly behind the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curtis053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn and Suites in St Charles. We kindly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about us to other travelers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This Hotel is absolutely A beautiful building. It fits in with the Historic St. Charles, Missouri historic area very nicely. It even has covered parking. But the airconditioning system here is absolutely the worst. I have tried several times to stay here, but if the outside temperature is over 80 degrees you will be in a musty sauna inside. It is so miserable that I can not explain it. They have tried to fix and overhaul the system several times. But it is too bad to ever endure again. They will not give you back your money either, but if they have any left they will give you a small portable table fan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTG-travlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize that for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Address: 1190 S Main St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-3523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing