We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for touring the historic downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find for touring the historic downtown”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Country Inn and Suites in St Charles, Missouri is the best place to stay in St Charles if you are looking to stay in the Historic District. We have stayed five times, always during the Christmas season. It is only two blocks to the beginning of the Historic Downtown and built in keeping with the historic brick style of the old shops and homes. No better way to see the entire downtown area than to be able to walk from your hotel.

The decor of the hotel is upscale but the price is a good value. The rooms are unusually large, very clean and the bedding is very comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get rooms 201/ 202 or 301/ 302 you will have a side window which looks out on the brick paved streetscape and a partial vuiew of the river. Quite pleasing during the Holiday's when the whole of St Charles is decorated with lights.

During the Holiday's wine and cheese and chocolates are served from 4-6 P.M. The breakfast ( in the room price) is substantial offering home made waffles and usually a nice choice of donuts. The staff has always been extremely helpfull but, we have found rooms by the pool to be a noisy, especially when the hotel has a lot of children. The only bad thing about this hotel is the outside elevator. Built on the outside wall of the building, it can be very cold in the winter, not a good thing if you are returning to your room from the pool.

Room Tip: Book early for a holiday trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    238
    50
    14
    11
See reviews for
303
294
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oconee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here several diffrent times. we enjoy the area it very clean and nice. the hotel has a nice breakfest offered with several selections. The first time we stayed was my wifes birthday and we had a room with a jucuzzi and had problems with it. they did there best to repair it but could not. They charged us for the night but gave us the room for half price and another free nights stay for the jucuzzi room. We have been back four more times.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this Country Inn because of some of the reviews I had read about the hotel and the price was reasonable compared to some of the hotels in St. Charles. We were pleasantly surprised by the caring staff and the breakfast was actually pretty good. The hotel clerk was very friendly and told us all about the services such as the breakfast, pool and fitness room. The rooms were nice, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet during the night. The hotel is only a block from the downtown area and all the shops and restaurants which was absolutely wonderful...about five blocks of really old world shops, boutiques and neat outdoor patio restaurants. The only drawback was that the city was repaving the street in front of the hotel so it was pretty dusty and we had to go around all the construction. But after the pavers are all installed it will definitely be a great addition to the area. We will stay here again when we are in St. Charles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whampel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a very nice, clean hotel. The lobby has a homey feel, and the beds were very comfy, but the best thing about the hotel were the staff. Lance and Lisa went above and beyond to ensure that our family was able to stay in rooms that were next to each other. They were very helpful and the rest of the staff were friendly as well. They also serve a nice breakfast, which is always a bonus with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjgammill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in late July for a nice relaxing getaway weekend. We traveled down from Chicago and the hotel was super easy to find. This place exceeded my expectations on just about every level, and was more than worth the very modest price we paid. The hotel property itself was very well maintained, and it just had this small town charm that I was hoping for. It fit the ambiance of St. Charles very well. Check in was really smooth, and we were in our room within minutes of arrival. The rooms were very spacious, as was just about every aspect of this hotel. It just seemed larger than the average Inn. Really no complaints what so ever about this property, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in St. Charles.

The location was perfect, was within walking distance of the historic downtown area, and also within walking distance of a very large casino. The pool area was adequate, and every time we went there, we had it all to ourselves. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and they truly took the time to make sure you were comfortable and happy.

The breakfast was pretty average, but there are a ton of great restaurants in the St. Charles area. I would recommend the Old Mill Stream Tavern on Main St. Try the Bloody Marys and the Mill fries...delicious. The casion also has some very good eateries. Little Hills Winery on main street is extremely good, the wine was fantastic, but the service was a little slow. Granted, who is in a hurry in St. Charles. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The staff was friendly and checked us in quickly. We had a two room suite that was very clean. The room needed a coat of paint and the bath needed a stronger fan. The furniture and bed were comfortable. They were working on the S. Main while we were there, so it was a bit tricky to get around at first. The hotel is located about two blocks from the historic downtown; so it was an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. They had a nice breakfast with great variety. We especially liked the fresh fruit and the kettle of oatmeal. It was a great location for going into St. Louis and hitting some of the vineyards to the west.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at this motel while traveling with a group. One night was enough to make us want to go back for a few days. There are few motels that are this clean, especially with construction going on all over outside. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. There was a good selection for breakfast including fresh fruit. When we arrived the A/C was not working in some of the rooms and it was a very hot day. They didn't just pass it off with a so what, they worked very hard at getting all rooms working properly. We arrived early in the day and most of our group was out all day. In the evening when some of our rooms still didn't have air, it was resolved promptly.
You can walk to many restaurants and shopping in the historic area. This would be a great place for a couple to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Address: 1190 S Main St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-3523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing