We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but has some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice location but has some issues”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This Country Inn is like most others, but in a prime location at the end of St.Charles's quaint neighborhood shopping district. However, the suite rooms are extremely small, and there is not enough parking. If you stay on a sold out weekend, be prepared to look for a spot on the street or in the city park. Also, their pool is far from inviting. The color of the water is green due to the paint color (according to the front desk clerk.) Breakfast is fantasitc, though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    236
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
298
288
29
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a pleasure it was to stay in this hotel! My friend and I had spent a week riding the Katy Trail when we arrived four hours before check in and hours before our luggage (which was being transported by the bike tour company). We were greeted with warm cookies and immediately given keys to our room. They stored our bikes for us until the tour company arrived a few hours later to pick them up. After we got our luggage, we were able to wash our clothes, as there was a spotlessly clean laundry room on our floor and the front desk had laundry detergent for purchase. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was very good, and I was impressed that they provided china and silverware instead of paper plates and plastic utensils. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the lobby area was very attractive. I would definitely choose this place again if I return to St. Charles!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TigerWhoDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again the next time your travels bring you through St Charles.
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel, and thank you for spreading the word about our services to other travelers. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance.

We hope to you again soon!

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed this hotel ( January 2011 ) while we were in town to watch the St. Louis Blues NHL game. I am familiar with St. Charles and the main street area. I have an aunt and uncle that lived there. This hotel was awesome. Clean. Friendly. Great customer service.

I had bought my tickets online and needed to print them out but close to game time while at the hotel another guest was using the sole guest hotel computer. I immediately ask the front desk if there was anything they can do help me out.

The front desk gentleman said sure email your tickets to my email address and I will print them out for you right now. Two minutes later I had my tickets and off to the the game we went.

This is why I love Country Inn & Suites they will do anything to ensure you are happy !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohalltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I am glad to read you enjoyed your visit to St Charles and the Country Inn and Suites and that we were able to get your tickets printed for you.
I thank you for spreading the word of our service to other travelers. Please contact me if I can ever be of any assistance.

Trent Greeno
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our family stayed here recently and enjoyed this hotel. The lobby is lovely and although a newer building it has been built with old time charm to it. Reception was friendly, room clean, breakfast had a good selection of food. Quiet location that is just a few blocks from the start of historic district shops and restaurants that run a dozen blocks or so beyond that. The rooms were well sound insulated. Pool was pretty warm in the late afternoon and then again in the morning, compared to the evening when it was a bit cooler, while we were there. We have noticed this at some other hotels also, and wonder if then tend to add more water in the late afternoon that cool it down? the pool was smaller than it looks in the photo though. Hot tub was a good temp. We had a room with two queen beds and it was a nice size to walk around. We have stayed at about 5 different Country Inn & suites hotels now and like this chain. I would rank this as one of the top two that we have tried. I would recommend this hotel and come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneenna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear pleased with your stay,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. On behalf of the staff, thank you for your stay and helping spread the word about our hotel and location. Please contact me if i can be of assistance in the future.

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Country Inn and Suties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in a quiet part of Main St. yet walking distance to the restaurants, shops, and nightlife of the charming historic downtown. The structure and decor are in the style of old St. Charles. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings. The corridors are wide. Coffee and fresh cookies are always available. The breakfast is more than continental. The hotel is pet friendly and near the Katy Trail. Good for dog walking. No doggie station so bring your plastic bags. St. Charles is a wonderful destination and the Suites are a great place for a getaway weekend. So many historic sites in the area. Plus, Donut King, the best private doughnut shop ever is on First Capitol. Addicting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtslavozarkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear St Charles native,

We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel so much. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate your kind words about our hotel, and we also thank you for helping spread the word to other travelers.
We hope to see you again soon!

With highest regards,

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites St Charles Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed on 6/16. Easy access to the Katy Trail. Within walking distance of the resterants in St. Charles. Did arrive early at 2pm, so I had had to wait for the room to be ready. Room was was good standing, although the shower bar was loose and hanging low.

It is a nice hotel, 3 stars for me, I would compare the accomedations to any Hampton or HI Express. On a lower note, the room does not have in room heating and cooling unit. The thermostat is a rough guess, and the room never did cool to my expectations.

(I realize this is not the hotel's fault, but most likely the fault of some unrulely guests) but at 2am that night the fire alarms go off and the hotel had to evacuated. Did not get back to sleep. Got out of bed at 5 to get going for the day, went down for breakfast at 6am, no breakfast till 7 on the weekends... so I checked out and got an early start to the day.

Although the price is a value for St. Charles, I'm likely to stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Elevator chime is noisy, recommend away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HI-Gold-Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Katy Trail Rider,

Our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay. Thank you for taking time to bring these issues to our attention. We wish that we had been notified the thermostat difficulties so that we could have addressed them right away or even moved your room. As for the fire alarm, our sincerest apologies, we have to evacuate when the alarm sounds for safety reasons.

We hope that upon your return to St Charles you choose to give us another opportunity to make up for any shortcomings, as we can assure you that we make every effort to ensure all rooms are in perfect condition.

Again we would like to express our apologies and our hope that you will return.

With highest regards,

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites St Charles, Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When our initial hotel messed up our reservation, we were sent to Country Inn and Suites. We arrived and received our room keys, no problem. We found our room didn't have a refrigerator and asked if there was any way we could get one or if there was somewhere we could store some of our picnic items. Not only did we get a refrigerator, we got an upgrade in rooms at no charge!!! Lance and Lisa are fabulous!! Very attentive and always there to lend a hand! The cookies are pretty good too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IWEKDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreeno, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed our hotel so much. On behalf of the Country Inn team, we appreciate your kind review and thank you for spreading the word about our hotel to other travelers. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to St Charles.

With high regards,

Trent Greeno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Address: 1190 S Main St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-3523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing