We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newer Hotel with Old Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Newer Hotel with Old Feel”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel and comfortable. Staff was very pleasant and hot/cold breakfast was good. Close to casino and St. Charles' wonderful historic downtown area. Parking garage could be a little bigger. Right on the river and very senic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The2Goods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    232
    48
    14
    10
See reviews for
289
283
27
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at this location as opposed to the St. Peters, Missouri Country Inn which is just a few miles West on Hwy 70. Mainly because the location is in a historic district with cute shops all around. However, there was a sewer stench outside during our 5 day stay, likely caused by the Missouri River which is within walking distance.

The breakfast had good variety as most Country Inns have, but whenever we arrived from a full days activities, there was not the customary offering of complimentary cookies available.
But there is a Walgreens close by if you need to satisfy a late night sweet tooth.

The property's decor is in keeping with the 1900s charm, so we really enjoyed that. I would advise families who have various phones, laptops, etc that need outlets, to bring a power strip or an extension cord because we had trouble finding enough outlets to meet our needs.

If anyone has pet allergies, I would steer you towards another property, because every morning I saw the same guest with her adorable pint-sized dog, BOTH lounging on the sofa in the lobby. People at the front desk didn't seem to find this problematic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

When we arrived in St. Charles on a Friday before Christmas, the town was bustling. We had tried to call ahead to make reservations at a restaurant called Premiers on 2nd Street, but the phone number was out of service. When we got to our hotel, Lance at the Country Inn and Suites tried to reach the same place for us and when he could not, was most helpful in getting us into a local restaurant just after we checked in. Otherwise, we may have had to wait hours before getting into any of the jam packed restaurants.
Hotel was pleasant, clean and comfortable. We travel through here frequently on way to see family and would most definitely choose this place again. Good location, close to historic part of downtown St. Charles. The restaurant selected for us was little more than a block away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

While on a road trip towards Kansas, I stayed in this hotel.
Nice property, with a lot of things to do nearby.
Parking garage underneath the hotel can be kind of full, but there's a big parking lot behind the hotel.

Downside of the room was the airconditioning/heating system. It was pretty loud, and it didn't have an "off" switch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and just love the location. It is located at the beginning of the historical area of St. Charles and one block from Ameristar Casino. For those who are not familiar with the area, the historical part of St. Charles is approximately 10 blocks of restaurants, quaint shops, and an assortment of bars that border the Katy Trail. The trail is right behind the hotel.

As mentioned in other reviews, the front desk personnel do an exceptional job. There is also an attractive lobby area with a selection of coffee, fresh baked cookies, and teas. One thing to note is that the hotel is designed to look as if it fits in with the historical area, so you might not recognize it as a hotel when driving by.

All in all the rooms are large, clean, and the beds comfortable. The breakfast had a nice selection of items consisting of eggs(standard fare), bacon, bagels, and an offering of fruit, juices, and other assortment of goodies. I did not see any issues with parking as some had mentioned in other reviews. Granted I stayed when the hotel was not that busy. Parking is provided in the back with parking in both the covered area underneath the hotel with access to the elevator (the elevator is not the fastest though) and also in the back parking lot. There appeared to be plenty of parking spaces.

This is a wonderfully run hotel in a great safe location for visiting both St. Charles and St. Louis. There are wonderful shops, restaurants, bars, biking and walking trails, and if you wish easy access to the interstate to the wine area. Also, St. Louis is an easy commute and beautiful Forest Park and its attractions are not to be missed. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of 5 relate to a few cosmetic issues that are an easy fix. I did notice a few scuff marks on the walls of the room I stayed in and felt that it could be touched up a bit. And the pillows although plentiful could also include a softer one.

All in all I had a wonderful relaxing stay at the Country Inn & Suites as usual.

Room Tip: The back rooms face the trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPBOUND10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel is excellent and right on a wonderful running and bike trail. The young man at the front desk, Adam as awesome. Hope his boss knows what an asset he is. The hotel was very tidy and well maintained. We will look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Room 109 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan67St_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We always stay here when going to historic Main street because it's perfectly located. There is a parking garage to park your car in before check in and you're able to go walk the street and visit the neat shops and restaurants. At nite it's nice to be able to walk to a restaurant and not have to worry about finding a place to park since it's very busy. It's a very safe location, too!

The hotel is very lovely. The front desk staff is very nice and they have complimentary coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby. At nite they offer fresh, baked chocolate chip cookies as well. Our room was great - very nice, neatly up to date, high ceilings that made it appear larger, and very clean. The bathrooms are clean and spacious as well. The free breakfast in the morning is very tasty and plenty of selection located in a breakfast room with tv and plenty of seating.

You can't go wrong at this location and the prices are normally pretty good. I definitely recommend this to everyone and can't wait to stay here again and enjoy a nice weekend getaway to Main street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatchTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
167 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Address: 1190 South Main Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Saint Charles Country Inn
Country Inn Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing