We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

“From-scratch dining experience in historic St Charles ”

Tompkins by The Rack House
Order Online
Ranked #22 of 303 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Price range: $15 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tompkins
Description: Upscale American menu made from-scratch, farm to table produce and meats sourced primarily from local farms, most within 50 miles of our location. Boutique wine list, patio, and a unique event space that holds upwards of 100 guests. Executive Chef Philip Day and Chef de Cuisine Matt Hulme develop a seasonally changing menu, while Sommelier Josh French provides excellent wine pairings and select bottles.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

With a Chef & Sous-Chef, Tompkins delivers spectacular food in the heart of Main St in historic St Charles.

They offer a ‘from-scratch’ dining experience sourcing fresh produce from local farms. The sommelier has done a spectacular job of pairing each dish with a glass of wine...the O’Fallon Hen of the Woods Agnolotti with a glass of 6th Sense Syrah was memorable. As was the service by Kristen & Kendall!

Chloe, the manager, pays attention and the staff went to great lengths to accomodate my spouse- a celiac & no fructose diner.

The building is the former Mother-in-Law House, a registered historic building, which makes for great ambience!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank livaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! As a locally owned business your support means a lot to us. We've got an excellent staff and they do everything they can to take care of our guests! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2019

I went to tompkins the other day for lunch and Leigh-Ann was a fantastic server! I will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Thank you for the feedback and support Kristen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2019

If you haven’t been to Tompkins yet you need to go! Aside from the great food and ambience our service was amazing! Our server LeighAnn was so friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and made great recommendations. Scallops were awesome! And don’t forget the chocolate cake for dessert!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Thank you for the feedback and support Katie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

Took my husband here for his Birthday. What a surprise. The scallops were wonderful. The food was good but Leigh-Ann was superb. She was friendly, very knowledgeable and attentive. This place is great and so is the service.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Thank you for the review Charlene, we appreciate the support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

Our wonderful professional waitress, Kristen, led us through the menu, skillfully describing the selection of from-scratch items. Most were sourced from local farms. Our experience was relaxed, enjoyable and we will definitely be returning soon and often.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tompkins by The Rack House also viewed

 

Been to Tompkins by The Rack House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing