We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Saint Charles

“Can’t wait to go back!”

Tompkins by The Rack House
Order Online
Ranked #22 of 303 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Price range: $15 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tompkins
Description: Upscale American menu made from-scratch, farm to table produce and meats sourced primarily from local farms, most within 50 miles of our location. Boutique wine list, patio, and a unique event space that holds upwards of 100 guests. Executive Chef Philip Day and Chef de Cuisine Matt Hulme develop a seasonally changing menu, while Sommelier Josh French provides excellent wine pairings and select bottles.
Reviewed October 31, 2019

If you haven’t been to Tompkins yet you need to go! Aside from the great food and ambience our service was amazing! Our server LeighAnn was so friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and made great recommendations. Scallops were awesome! And don’t forget the chocolate cake for dessert!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Thank you for the feedback and support Katie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2019

Took my husband here for his Birthday. What a surprise. The scallops were wonderful. The food was good but Leigh-Ann was superb. She was friendly, very knowledgeable and attentive. This place is great and so is the service.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Thank you for the review Charlene, we appreciate the support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

Our wonderful professional waitress, Kristen, led us through the menu, skillfully describing the selection of from-scratch items. Most were sourced from local farms. Our experience was relaxed, enjoyable and we will definitely be returning soon and often.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Not sure that this place is actually going to make it. Their steak was $35. Was not a very good quality steak. They call it strip steak. It came in four separate pieces. The first piece I cut into was very tough. I moved on to the second one and it was more tender but still not as tender as it should be. When the waitress came back I told her about the problem, she went to the kitchen. Someone came back and asked me what was wrong with the steak. I told him that it was tough and was very sinewy. He said that's the way the steak is. I told him no I know my steaks better than this. He asked what he could do, I said that he could just replace it with the same size piece of steak. The second piece was better but still not a $35 steak. The waitress was very helpful and very attentive during our whole stay. Personally I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. For the money you pay the food should be much better. There are several other restaurants on Main Street St Charles with a higher quality food for a lot better price.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2019

Thank you for the feedback. This is our second location and we've been in business for going on six years now. I'm sorry the steak wasn't cooked to the way you prefer it. Its locally sourced beef, which is why it costs a bit more and everything we prepare is made from-scratch. Our menu changes about every two months or so, based on seasonal local produce, so maybe give us another try after the first of the year and we might have something on the menu you like better. We're not trying to be like everyone else, and the people who like what we do, really like it. We've got a significant following of regulars, but yes, please try any other place on the street. There are a lot of other locally owned restaurants and pubs and we support them all. Thanks for giving us a try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

Leigh-Ann was a wonderful server. She was so nice and polite. During our dinner she was very attentive, forward thinking and personable. We enjoyed our experience and will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Jenwever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notlimah19, Owner at Tompkins by The Rack House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Thank you for the support and shout out to Leigh-Ann! We very much appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tompkins by The Rack House also viewed

 

Been to Tompkins by The Rack House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing