We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bike shop for a Katy Trail ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bike Stop Cafe

Bike Stop Cafe
701 S Riverside Drive, Saint Charles, MO 63301
+1 636-724-9900
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This hip little cafe is a local favorite for flavorful espresso drinks, grilled sandwiches, salads, homemade soups and treats. Located on the Katy Trail, cyclists of all ages love our friendly bike service, Katy Trail bicycle rentals and great food. A family run, socially responsible company, the Bike Stop Cafe advocates for healthy living and alternative transportation. You'll find good food, bike talk and great friends at the Bike Stop Cafe. We have vegetarian, Vegan, Organic & Gluten Free options.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bike shop for a Katy Trail ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My son and I came from Boston and Portland OR, to ride the entire Katy Trail from Clinton to St. Charles. We rented our bikes from Tony at the Bike Stop Cafe which is located right at the St. Charles trailhead. We called ahead and discussed what kind of bikes we would need, saddle bags, how tall we were (for bike size) etc. and when we arrived at 7:15am the morning of our ride, they were all ready to go for us. He outfitted us with spare tire tubes (which unfortunately we needed) CO2 canisters for inflation, tool kit, panniers and helmets. Everything worked beautifully! The bikes were very nice and were perfect for our 5 day trail adventure. We had no problems at all and thoroughly enjoyed our experience in no small part due to the great bikes and supplies we got from Tony at the Bike Stop Cafe. Though we didn't eat at the cafe, I'd recommend the Bike Stop Cafe 100% for their bike rental and service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne97225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great place after a bike ride!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Bike Stop Cafe is a really creative idea! As you come in hungry and tired after riding the Katy Trail, this is the place to refresh yourself. They have a good menu with both meat and vegetarian items. I had the Humina Humina sandwich! It was very fresh tasting. Hummus, avocado, tomatoes, and lettuce on a really tasty whole grain bread. It was very good, though I would have liked more hummus. The vege "fries" are a nice touch! The walnut-gorgonzola salad was excellent!

They have a variety of drinks and they also have breakfast items too. Patio seating is the way to go when the weather is nice! If you are in the mood, you can rent a bike and take a ride after you eat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We didn't do any of the bikes - just a quick lunch. Food is amazing, taste great. Took a little while to order and get our food, but the girls were super friendly, and the atmosphere is just right.

We'll be back and try out the bikes when it isn't 90+ degrees outside!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CodyM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable bike rentals and good snacks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lots of bikes available for rent. The peanut butter balls, gooey butter cake and the iced tea were very good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWHoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun lively place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. There is a creative menu with many options for both meat and no meat eaters. We were able to sit outside a on a beautiful morning and enjoy our food. The breakfast wrap and smoothie were nice large portions for the price

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dlmphaseten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike Stop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bike Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing