We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Donuts, Even Better Gyros! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Donuts and Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mario's Donuts and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Saint Charles
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Donuts, Even Better Gyros! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Who knew! Stop in anytime before 11AM and have a coffee or other favorite beverage with one of over a dozen types of home made donuts: old fashion sour cream glazed, long johns, chocolate glazed, cake with or without frosting, cream or icing stuffed, and several specialty and even seasonal treats to start your day.
However, come back for lunch and or dinner and try any of the menu items from salads to gyros, hummus to baba ganoush...don't know what these are? Don't be afraid to ask, because they are all delicious and most are made to order. You won't be disappointed...but you have to start your menu journey with Mario's Gyro. Definitely worth checking out and with two (2) locations in the St. Charles/St. Peters/Weldon Springs area, it's not too far out of your way.

Helpful?
1 Thank DarkonIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very casual place to enjoy coffee, donuts or a breakfast sandwich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We've been there several times and continue to be pleased. Quality of food is good and the prices are reasonable. Our grandchildren request to go here when they come to town because "it special". Not a Dunkin Donuts but a "special" place for a long time to come. Breakfast is served all day and the steak and egg on a bagel is delicious, made fresh!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hands Down Best Gyro's in St. Charles !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Little place, not much to look at, but holy cow - what a Gyro! Actually, all the Greek eats at this little Donut shop are killer! The wife and I split an order of hummus when we get the Gyro's - it's perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missouri-Morelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas by way of US Army
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stumbled upon Mario's, and decided to grab some donuts. We ordered a dozen donuts, and I also got a croissant w/ ham & cheese...everything was incredible. These were probably some of the best donuts I've EVER had, and the croissant was amazing, too! The lunch menu looked great, it's too bad we were just passing through town, and didn't have a chance to eat there again. I would encourage you to check them out! My GPS didn't give us great directions, but once we got there, we were so happy!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yearn4Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best gyros around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food. Great prices. Breakfast all day. My fave is the gyros and beer batterrd orings. Also great chicken tenders!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amilam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Donuts and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Donuts and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing