We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richland, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Perfect Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in! The hotel was nice, clean, very friendly staff (from manager to cleaning staff). We had a king room which was very spacious, the refrigerator in the room wasn't one of those little 2 shelf kind, we could fit 12 pack of soda and still had room for other things. The bed was very plush and comfortable, bedding had such a pleasant smell! The indoor pool was a very nice size, not dinky like most hotel pools we have seen. There is a nice patio area off the pool area with a bbq grill for guest use. The location is phenomenal! We were within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and a small shopping center which included a Bass Pro! There was a Dennys right on the lot along with a gas station/convenience store. We plan to make a return trip and will most definitely stay again!

Room Tip: King rooms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel Combs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so happy to hear that your stay went so well and that our location and facility exceeded your expectations and met your needs. We look forward to seeing you again very very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    172
    60
    32
    8
See reviews for
178
127
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a nice stay here and the people could not have been nicer to us. We were especially pleased that the manager allowed friends who rode in on their bikes to store the bikes overnight in a meeting room. The only reason any of us came was to ride the Katy Trail and we have a lot invested in our bikes, so a hotel that understands that and helps out is definitely a PLUS in our book. The facility was nice and clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was with our room keys as they were having ongoing problems with the encoding equipment. Hope that's fixed by now. The manager, Tom Mezines was very helpful to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkokb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience. We love our Katy Trail riders and are working on adding other amenities such as a bike washing station to help our riders have a truly unique and pleasurable experience.

We did look into our key encoder issue and it looks like we have found a solution. I apologize for any inconvenience the key issues may have caused during your stay.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Best Western Plus was a nice surprise for an unplanned stop on our way to Kansas City. It has a nice, contemporary lobby which is accessible from two separate parking areas. The pool and hot tub is maintained very well, and was clean and tidy. There is a 24 hour business center with computers and printers and there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel rooms as well. The rooms are in good shape, clean, decorated nicely. The bathroom is large, updated with a corner vanity with a granite counter. The towels are laid on the shelf below the sink, similar to what is done in boutique hotels.
Breakfast is full service with cereal, eggs, waffles, pastries, and more. The food was delicious. the hotel staff was very accommodating and pleasant.We will stay here again on our next trip. It is a perfect halfway point from Chicago to Kansas City or Lawrence Kansas, home of the University of Kansas, our final destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us and our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We hope to see you again on your next trip through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recommend Best Western in St Charles, is well located , very close to the downtown, Lambert and the main highways. Im very satistfied with the service, people, rooms, and the price was excellent price compared against other hotels in the zone. I will choice it for future travels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to comment on your experience with us. I'm glad you found our service to be great and I hope we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Room was excellent - internet SLOW. convenient location to the school we were there for, shopping, dining, gas. The breakfast ok - no change day to day - always the same fare. The Front desk very helpful, but room cleaning a little off. Easy access to freeway (express way)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm disappointed we weren't able to achive a 5 out of 5 with you and I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I would love if you would contact me at the hotel directly at 636-946-6936 or by email at mgaler@bridgetonholdings.com so I can get some specifics about your stay and take a look at the internet access point near the room and also so I can coach the housekeeper who was responsible for cleaning your room during your stay.

Now that our renovations are complete we are looking hard at our breakfast offering and what we can offer for additional options as we know that people who stay multiple nights would like to see different food options each morning and we are working to offer that for our guests.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to talk with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped by after a concert just for the night and were very pleasantly surprised. Great hotel. Recently remodeled. Great décor. Clean and spacious rooms. Right across from casino and half a minute from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of our new product and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again if your travels bring you back through Saint Charles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A recent family visit to St Charles, Mo, was made especially nice by the staff regarding the recommendations & directions that they shared with us and the local maps that they provided. The extra deep pool was appreciated by all the swimmers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgaler, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad that our staff was able to exceed your expectations and that you got to enjoy our pool. We are proud to have the largest and deepest pool in the area at 12 feet deep on the deep end. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
Address: 1425 S 5th St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-2435 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A St. Charles, Missouri hotel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel is situated just five blocks from the historic district and is within walking distance of the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site and the Foundry Art Centre. This St. Charles hotel is minutes from Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, Katy Trail State Park and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis. The Lambert-St Louis International Airport is only eight miles away. The hotel is also less than one mile away from the Saint Charles Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing