We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Little Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center

Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the journey of explorers Lewis & Clark.
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a nice little museum with a very nice gift shop. The selection and prices were very good. They have done a nice job with the museum, albiet small. Kids will definately enjoy it.

It is right on the Missouri river at the point where Lewis and Clark began their journey West.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It is very unique building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a fun great gift shop, was cheaper then most, but the museum wasnt much there so we didnt see it because we didnt want to waste the 5 dollars a person for nothing. But have to walk behind, beautiful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic replecation of the expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This museum is a must see to immerse yourself as if you were part of the expedition. The museum is setup with replicas of the expedition in a timeline manner with many real life artifacts. There is also a movie that is narrated as entries from Lewis and Clarks journals from the expedition. The Center is located on the banks of the Missouri River. There are several man made dug out canoes on display that have been a part of the discovery expedition.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, MO
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We were a little disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stop in Historic St. Charles. We were a little disappointed. We went up to the gift shop to see about the museum and they didn't even speak or see if we wanted to go inside. The cost was $5 for adults, I am not sure it would have been worth that anyway. But they could have said, "Hi" or "welcome", but nothing. :(

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Worth a side trip for anyone visiting this historic town. A nice little museum packed with information and staffed by enthusiastic and knowledgeable people. One of the staff we spoke with participated in a reenactment of the full journey and had lots of stories and interesting tidbits to share. Don't miss the movie describing this amazing journey and be sure to visit the full-sized replicate boats downstairs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center also viewed

 
Saint Charles, MO
 

Been to Lewis and Clark Boat House and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing