We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Quaint Little Shops”

St. Charles Historic District
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic District St. Charles: 16 blocks of shopping, dining and lodging in historic, restored structures on the banks of the Missouri River. Settlement dates to 1769.
Kalona, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Many Quaint Little Shops”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There are many unique shops lining Main Street. Also a great place to find many wonderful eateries. You wont be disappointed with the many offerings available to you along the historic riverfront.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    250
    29
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Up there with the best of historic districts”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Christmas Traditions in Old St Charles is so memorable.....live carolers in period costumes; chestnuts being roasted on an open fire; Santa's from around the world; trees & shops lit with Christmas lights; and sometimes shops offering free wassil, cocoa, and chocolates to the shoppers. But Los Pasada is the most moving. A reenactment of Mary & Joseph working their way, with donkey, down the cobblestone street, looking for an inn to take them in. They find none, but on their journey hundreds of spectators carrying their own candles fall in behind and everyone walks to the riverfront where they find the manger.

But even if it isn't the Christmas season, this area is one of our favorite places. The old buildings housing every kind of restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, live music, affordable shops, wineries, people watching, the katy trail. Nearly endless opportunities for history, fun, relaxation and beautiful surroundings ranks this little historic district right up there with Alexandria or Georgetown anyday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindykellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Place To Be”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Where do I even begin? The first time I ever came to Saint Charles I fell in love. I love to go to old towns and take pictures. My nephew lives here and every year around Christmas time they put on Christmas Traditions and my nephew has been tiny Tim for a couple years now... I love the envolvment that the downtown has when it comes to this... I love it here and recommend it to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sryan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back to Lewis and Clark”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a beautifully restored area in the mid-west steeped in history. Lewis and Clark made their first stop here in St. Charles and many of the homes and businesses that were present in the early 1800's have been restored. There shops from clothing to accessories to gifts and arts. Several restaurants, wineries, micro breweries, and outdoor dining under umbrellas and around open fires. This is a jewel in the middle of the U.S.. This is worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank teethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Like a step back in time”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love walking along Main Street any time of year to see the historical buildings. I usually just walk outside without going into most of the shops. There are tons of restaurants from far south Main to far north. You must go during the Christmas season to see all the decorations and costumed vintage characters.

There are tons of events all year long for every taste. If you don't like crowds then I would suggest not going to Main Street during one of the festivals as it gets super crowded down there. It would be best to check out the tourism website before you head down to make sure there isn't a big event going on that weekend.

Once you're finished on Main Street head on to North 2nd Street to the Frenchtowne area. It's not nearly as busy but then again there isn't nearly as much to see. The buildings are as good or better than Main Street. There currently aren't any eating places in Frenchtowne, but unique shops and architecture starting in the 800 block of North 2nd.

French Connection Antiques has been in business for 30 years. They have fine antiques and lighting. A new shop that's really cool is Dawn Lynz Design. This is a faux finish paint shop like none you've ever seen. One weekend a month Secondhand Chic is open. Frenchtown Heritage Museum is located on 2nd Street as well. What a great place to look around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Charles Historic District also viewed

 

Been to St. Charles Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing