We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the Christmas Celebration”

St. Charles Historic District
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic District St. Charles: 16 blocks of shopping, dining and lodging in historic, restored structures on the banks of the Missouri River. Settlement dates to 1769.
Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
307 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Go for the Christmas Celebration”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had out of town guests with 2 young children and some of the shops aren't child friendly there was the outside stuff to keep them happy. You can pay for a wonderful horse and buggy ride, see and collect cards of the 12 different Santa's from around the world. Here carols and see a historic parade. But don't forget all the shops, and the great places to eat. This place is good all year round but Christmas is even more quaint and really puts you in the Christmas spirit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank susiejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    245
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bars, Bars, and More Bars”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Wow, this was a neat entertainment area. Many fun bars. Darling little historic buildings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Junebugg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great browsing”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The historic district is packed with small shops & local restaurants. Quaint, good shopping & great food. We were strolling the streets @ 9 pm on a Friday & all the restaurants w/outdoor space were packed. Great for a full afternoon or a quick treat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GardenDiva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very quaint!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

What a nice way to spend a day! There is so much to see and do. Shop the small stores and eat at one of the great restaurants. You can then head for the winery for a glass of wine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank McDowB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Missouri
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of our favorite STL area destinations.”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and I often travel to St. Louis from our rural Missouri home to see the Cardinals and spend a few days in the city. We've learned to headquarter near St. Charles and make the half-hour drive to the ballpark. Strolling the brick streets of St. Charles is like walking in the footsteps of Lewis and Clark as they outfitted themselves for their great adventure. We particularly like several of the restaurants along 1st street that offer outdoor dining.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank 68amx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Charles Historic District also viewed

 

Been to St. Charles Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing