We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Room, TERRIBLE SERVICE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Very beautiful rooms and very quiet. Probably the best sleep I have had in a hotel. I did not hear anything the whole night. I did not hear anyone in the hall or anything next door. That never happens at a hotel! Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom is awesome with a TV and very spacious. Bed is comfy and huge!!

Service is less to be desired.

1. The pool has no beverage service AT ALL. I had to walk in my bathing suit to the casino/restaurant to purchase a beer. You should not have to do this when paying this much to stay here.

2. I booked a spa treatment for my wife a few days in advance. I booked a Pedicure & Manicure. My wife did not want the manicure when we checked in at 1:00pm. She called down to the spa and wanted to cancel the manicure but keep the pedicure. She was told NO and my credit card was going to be charged for it even if she did not get it. SHAME ON YOU AMERISTAR. We called 3 and a half hours in advance and she wanted to keep the pedicure.

3. I have had better front desk service at a Motel 6 and good luck finding a bell hop.

The casino is a fun time but you wont win any money. I also do not like how they charge $4.00 for a beer in the casino while you are playing games.

Over all, its a quite expensive trip if you are looking to get away for the weekend. I would rather stay at the Casino Queen or some place else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarecrowdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameristar-Hotel-Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Ensuring outstanding service remains one of our top priorities. While we are happy that you enjoyed your room, we are sorry that your service experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that your opinions are very important to us, and we will utilize it to evaluate our all of our guest experiences going forward. Again, we are sorry for any inconveniences that you may have experienced and we hope that you will give us an opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.The quality is high on everthing.
Their is know where else in St. Louis or St Charles that I would
stay. The designers of this hotel out did anything that I have
ever seen. Best Hotel Ever!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lew50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameristar-Hotel-Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

We are thrilled that we met your expectations and you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I was traveling home to St. Louis for the holidays, and my mom, as a special treat, booked the Ameristar using her points. Two reservations were required by them - one for the 2 comped nights, and one for the paid night. Without a doubt, the rooms are gorgeous! Very beautiful and impressive. Things started to go wrong when I arrived in my room and could not find the light switches for the bedside lamps. I called the front desk, and was told 'the base of the lamp" (not) and then the top of the base (not). The snippy clerk told me that she would send housekeeping..... By the time housekeeping arrived, I had located the switched on the cord itself. At about 8pm of the first night, it became loudly apparent that the room across the hall was having a very loud and large party. The door opened and banged closed (complete with the hostess squealing with delight at the arrival of each and every guest) no less than 20 times in an hour. The party-ers had also stolen a hotel wheelchair and were running and wheeling people up and down the hall. I called the front desk, and they sent security to request quiet. I was forced to sleep with earplugs that night. When I woke up the next morning, the across-the-hall party-ers had taken all the leftover food from room service trays and smeared it all over the floors and hallways. A very large dollop of sour cream was right outside my door on the carpeting, and I could clearly see and smell salsa, cheese, and other condiments throughout the hallway.

I departed that morning to spend time with my family on Christmas Eve Day. When I returned, it was past midnight, and I noticed that the maid had cleaned the in-room coffee supplies, but had not replaced anything.... no coffee.... no creamer, etc. I called the front desk to request some, and was told that housekeeping was gone for the day. I asked if I could come downstairs and get what I needed for the morning. Again, my request was denied - b/c housekeeping was 'gone for the day'. I requested that the front desk might let housekeeping know what I needed so that it could be outside my door in the morning (complete with the same liquid creamer that I had used that morning), and I was informed that I would have to call housekeeping myself in the morning, and that the hotel did not and had never used liquid creamer, but that I could go down to the lobby bakery in the morning if I wanted it. I assured her that I had used that very creamer from my room that morning, and she assured me that it was IMPOSSIBLE.

I went to bed feeling not so great about the hotel service and their level of training. After a totally crappy night's sleep the night before, imagine my dismay when the alarm clock -- which I had NEVER TOUCHED -- went off at 5:08am -- accidentally set by the housekeeper. I tried to get back to sleep, but could not. I would have gotten up to have coffee -- but THERE WAS NO COFFEE. At 8am I heard the housekeeper in the hall, and left my room to request coffee, liquid creamer (which she did indeed have on her cart) and sweetener. Merry Christmas.

On my way out to spend Christmas Day with my family, I stopped at the front desk to explain my 'difficulties'. Ryan, the extremely nice manager, listened calmly and comped my final night. He was the bright spot of my stay and the hotel itself.

I returned that night late and tired. After trekking to my room with my purse and bags, I discovered that my room key no longer worked. I trekked back downstairs to have it re-activated. I opened the door to my room to find that it had not been cleaned at all. The wet towels were on the bathroom floor, and the smell of wet, stale coffee filled the room. I called the front desk to inform them, and was told that I would have needed to 'specifically request' that my room be cleaned. INSANE! Do they even train these people at all????? My room was certainly cleaned the previous days WITHOUT any request, b/c that is how it is done at hotels. Clearly, the hotel has not yet figured out how to combine the two reservations that THEY required... so they thought the room was empty and had cut off the key......

Within 15 minutes, the night manager appeared at my door, accompanied by a security guard. Really? Really? He listened -- and my primary complaint this time was a stupid front desk clerk that thinks you have to REQUEST that your room be cleaned. He kindly asked if I needed anything. I assured him that I did not, and that I would not be gracing the front door of his hotel ever again after I checked out the next day.

Beautiful rooms. Great location. Untrained and non-service-oriented people at the front desk. Special thanks to Ryan.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sesmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameristar-Hotel-Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

At Ameristar, it is our goal to provide the very best in Guest service. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We sincerely thank you for the feedback that you have provided. Please know that we will use it to fully evaluate our level of service so that we can ensure that your next visit is a great one. We hope that you will visit with us again soon so that we can make your next experience the very best that it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Had a really good time and rooms are very nice- only thing that was terrible was only 3 small pillows on the bed and they were terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmlpjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameristar-Hotel-Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a good time during your stay with us. We do apologize that the pillows did not meet your satisfaction. Our goal is ensure every Guest enjoys a comfortable visit. We will use your feedback to evaluate the comfort of our beds.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Ameristar. The room was spacious and the bathroom was off da chain! The spa was very nice, basically had it to ourselves.

Two recommendations: 24 hour room service would have been great and the concierge needs FULL use of the interent (I wanted to check an entertainment listing, but the hotel has it blocked to restrict employees' usage).

Shout out to my boy from Oakland...thanks for your help!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameristar-Hotel-Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our Four Diamond facility and appreciate your great feedback about our property. We will review your recommendations and use the information to evaluate the level of Guest services we offer.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stay at this all-suite hotel whenever we take a short trip to the St. Louis area to go to a casino. The reception desk employees are always very helpful and the room is always very clean. The surroundings are high quality. Most of the views from all of the rooms either overlook the bridge and river or the city of St. Charles. It is close to the charming St. Charles downtown area and a Bass Pro Shop. Although a car would be necessary for either. It has easy access on and off Highway 70. We usually don't win at the casino; but the rooms are always first class.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C00kie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameristar-Hotel-Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

We appreciate your comments posted on Trip Advisor. Our guests are our top priority and we are thrilled your expectations have been consistently met. St. Charles area is a quaint historic town with lots to do and see. It is especially charming during the holidays. The streets are decorated and there are plenty of holiday sights and smells. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The hotels at the Ameristar are unbelievable! I had a basic room with a HUGE bathroom, bedroom, and sitting area. The beds were SO comfortable and the views are good no matter which side of the hotel you stay on - either a river view or a hotel/courtyard view. The rooms are so spacious and were very clean. Really enjoyed the TV in the bathroom. I was super impressed at how large the basic rooms were. The only downside is the smoking that is allowed in the casino which seeps out into the common walkways and conference center - but, luckily, this is completely separate from the hotel. Great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, St. Charles, MO
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
1 mi away
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
#14 of 18 in Maryland Heights
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis St. Charles
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Charles - St.Louis
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Blvd, Saint Charles, MO 63301-3500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range: $171 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing