We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms at the Ameristar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great rooms at the Ameristar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Husband and I visited the casino a year and a half ago but didn't gamble alot. We have been receiving offers for discounted hotel stays and some free play.

My daughter and I checked into the hotel on Thursday, March 19 about 8:30 pm for 1 night, taking advantage of the $59 per weeknight offer. The lobby looked fantastic, no line for check-in and the desk clerk was very pleasant. We asked for a smoking room with no floor preference so we were put on the top floor (room 2504) facing the river.

The room looked just like the pictures on the website except the sitting area was not sunken. We asked for a room with 2 beds. The room has a brown/orange decor. Beds were comfy. There is a large flat screen tv in the area where the beds are and then another one on the credenza in the sitting area. There were 2 (I think) chairs and a sofa. There was a coffeemaker inside (no charge) the credenza as well as the stocked refrigerator (sensored and there is a charge).

The closet is small to average size. The bathroom has a standup shower, soaking tub, double sinks with a large vanity, blowdryer, makeup mirror and the toilet is in a separate small area with a door. The floor has a beautiful tile as does the entry to the room.

There is an indoor pool and a spa. Room service is also available. We had confirmed for a late check-in and then check-out was by 11:00 a.m. We checked out using the tv in the room.

There are several restaurants of all prices in the hotel/casino lobby. Thursday night we stopped by the diner and got a piece of pie to go. On Friday, we used our $10 of food credit offer that we got in the mail at the bakery. They have cakes, cookies, ice cream, Starbucks coffee, danishes, etc.

Regarding the casino, it was busy Thursday evening and Friday around noon. The pop and coffee is at a self-serve station, which we liked. We did see a few cocktail waitresses but more on Thursday evening than on Friday. There are plenty of penny, nickel, quarter and dollar machines. Even though it was busy, we were able to find a machine to play on, in the denomination we were comfortable with.

This hotel/casino is easy to get to, parking is free in a parking garage, and all employees were very friendly. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, which was easy to connect to. The hotel is only a few blocks from the historic area of St. Charles. There are restaurants (Denny's, Waffle House, McDonald's) within a couple of blocks as well as shopping (Bass Pro Shops, Gordman's, Aldi)

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
St.Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

If you are looking for a cozy, comfortable, aesthetically pleasing hotel with social benefits Ameristar St.Charles is for you. The casino and lobby alone are remarkably beautiful, and when you get to your room not much changes except, well, the privacy. My room overlooked the indoor/outdoor pool area (not the river, which was what I was hoping for but this was also nice). The room was the perfect size, the lounging area being my place of choice, and the bathroom second. The supplied hygiene products were soothing as well as the shower/bath. I found it simple to relax and read with minimum distractions, however there is the occasional group walking down the hall. I thought it was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlettemonsieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We love staying here.

The bedroom has a HDTV. Plush bedding that is comfortable.

There is a sunk in living area with another HDTV, couch, chair and end/coffee tables. There is a mini bar fridge available.

Free, fast wireless internet.

The view is amazing.

The bathroom has a huge shower and bathtub. Nice high end bath soaps and lotion. Plenty of big, plush towels. Hair dryer. Small HDTV with Remote.

There is an indoor/outdoor pool (connected to each other). 2 hot tub areas (indoor/outdoor). There is a spa to get a mani/pedi or massage. 24 hour fitness center.

Gift shop.

Lots of great restaurants. 2 nighclubs with live music. Gambling. You are never at a loss for something to do during your stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stccple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

The rooms are similar in style to the Venetian in Vegas, with a slightly sunken Living room in the suite, all rooms are suites and are finely decorated in a modern motif.
My king bed was large and comfortable, not as comfortable as Starwood's Heavenly Bed, but good enough.

3 Flat Panel TV's in the room, bathroom has marble counter tops and fine tile throughout, nice double sink on the vanity. Living room was spacious with a variety of couches and chairs. Desk was small but this property is not looking for a Business Traveler.

The free WiFi worked great in my room.

I did order Breakfast from room service and unfortunately it took almost a hour to arrive and involved me calling down to see where it was. The woman who answered the phone brought up my food herself and apologized for the delay.

The Casino itself was quite nice and the staff at the property in all areas seemed genuinely nice and helpful.

  • Liked — Beautiful Suites, Free Wifi, Great Casino
  • Disliked — Room Service Delays
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CalP0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We had received a $79 coupon in the mail from Ameristar for a one- night stay in a King Deluxe Suite, so we decided to check it out since we were curious; the casino itself is beautiful, so we had to see what the hotel looked like!

Check-in went great; the gentleman checking us in was very nice and welcoming.

Upon entering our room on the 10th floor, I think both mine, and my boyfriend's, mouth dropped--It was GORGEOUS. I honestly was not expecting it to look as amazing as it did, not for $79. The one word that came to mind, was "WOW", which is all we could muster as we walked through, looking at everything.

The room was so neat and clean... The colors used were earthy & neutral; very comforting and relaxing!!

I walked up to the window to pull back the curtains to see what kind of view we had... And unbeknownst to us, it was also a river view! PERFECT!

As far as customer service goes, we didn't have to contact them much at all, but when we did, they were extremely nice and helpful. EXCEPT, they did not give us a wake-up call like they said they would. But luckily we set our own alarm, just in case.

The River View King Deluxe Suite usually goes for about $180/night, I believe, and although we just paid $79 (plus taxes), I think for the quality of the room, it would be worth it!! We didn't want to leave!

I would absolutely recommend Ameristar's hotel.

  • Liked — The room itself!--Just beautiful.
  • Disliked — Not receiving the wake-up call.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandykins816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I need to begin this review by providing the disclaimer that our room for this stay was comped due to casino points - HOWEVER, our negative experiences were a result of customer service, or lack thereof, that would have happened regardless of our paying status.

While the rooms are very large, contemporary, and nice (very similar to The Venetian in Las Vegas with the step down living room and large bathroom), the service hindered our overall stay.

Upon entering the pool area on a sunny, beautiful, and crowded Sunday afternoon, our group decided that we would partake in some drinks and appetizers while lounging by the pool. Things went downhill from here. On a Sunday afternoon, there was only 1 person working the pool area - a singler person covering the bar, pool side orders, as well as a small area where you can actually sit and eat with service. This was no fault to the server - they were just doing thier job. Because of this however, the line for drinks often was 7 or 8 people deep and it took 15-20 minutes or longer just to order and get a beer.

Our appetizer order was finally taken and the first plate arrived about 30 minutes later. Two hours later and multiple attempts to ask for an update, the second plate had still not arrived. Others have commented about spotting managements' lack of an eye for detail - the first manager we spoke to told us that he had other issues to deal with and that it was "time for him to move on". The SECOND manager we spoke to said that he would log it in his NIGHTLY REPORT and then attempted to sit there and socialize with us instead of trying to check on our order or even apologize for the inconvenience. Later that evening, we went to dinner at the sports bar/grill and only then, when we ran into him, did he offer to comp anything. Had we not seen him though, nothing would have been done.

About 9pm Sunday evening, after dinner, we once again went down to the pool to sit in the hot tub but found that there were no towels available. When I asked one of the "pool attendants" when more would be coming, she just smiled and said that there wouldn't be anymore...housekeeping was closed. The pool is open until 11pm! We had to dry off using the shirts that we had worn!

LIke I said, the hotel is nice, but the service we experienced should be an embarassment to the hotel and its management. Regardless of our guest status (again, comped room), no one that we interacted with knew this and for all they knew, we could have been spending big bucks on the room.

If the service doesn't improve, Ameristar will definitely never be the 5-star property that it is ATTEMPTING to be.

  • Liked — Room size; comfy beds
  • Disliked — Poor customer service; pool was overrun with kids...everywhere!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Rooms very nice, comfortable, and roomy. Check in flawless.

We booked a non smoking which we got, but you would think the floor would also be non smoking - wrong ? Smokers in the hallways and elevator lobby.
If you stay, get a room as far away from the elevator lobby to avoid hearing everyone talking/laughing as they head to their rooms at 3 am.

Exercise room is excellent.
Pool (Indoor/outdoor) was nice but the guests leave a lot of trash behind (I guess they believe for the price they paid, someone else should clean up). I seen two black suited hotel employees
(which I believe were management) walk right over some of the trash at the side of the pool and didn't bother to pick it up. The pool bathrooms are a lawsuit waiting to happen - slick tile wet with lots of water (I hope !). Wear pool shoes and take it slow.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — over priced for what you get in amenities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kscrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.9 mi away
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
#13 of 15 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 19 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing