We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this a suite?? No, this is a regular room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Is this a suite?? No, this is a regular room!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

While driving south on I55, we stopped ay the Ameristar in St Charles, Mo. Excellent hotel! The lobby was impressive and you know right away this is not a standard place. Check in was smooth although the rate I had was about $50 less then what the desk clerk wanted to charge me. Since I had a printout of the reservation, she fixed the rate, no questions asked. She also mentioned that some hotel booking websites have this rate issue.

The rooms at this hotel are outstanding. SUPER clean. We had two beds and each room has a sunken living room. Great extra place to relax. Nice bathroom too.

We had dinner in the diner. Food was okay. Too much pepper in the pot roast. Next we walked to the casino. It's a little far from the hotel but the made to look like a small town. The only thing we hate is the smoke in the casino. Wish it was smoke free like in Illinois. The casino decor is very nice, and it is big. Also ate at the buffet. Unfortunately, the food was not too good.

Overall, loved the hotel, enjoyed the gaming but not the smoke, had some meals that were okay but nothing to brag about. Would recommend as a stop for a day or two for a quick get away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripTime12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    129
    45
    21
    36
See reviews for
110
245
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was a local vacation for my husband and I. The customer service was amazing at all levels. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. The indoor/outdoor pool with hot tubs were gorgeous and a great way to relax. The dining was also very good and they have reasonably priced room service. Ameristar is such a great place to enjoy the weekend or just a night out. I love the atmosphere of the indoor city with the brick walkways, shops, dining, clubs, and the casino. There is so much to do without even leaving Ameristar, but you can also enjoy Historic Main Street in St. Charles just right around the corner. We had a great time and will definitely do it again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just spent two days here last week for meetings, best venue you could ask for. Rooms are just exceptional, can't say enough about how nice they are. Large, well apointed, comfortable with flat screen TV's everywhere you turn. Meeting rooms are nice, several restaraunts and a sports bar to choose from for dining. Pool and workout area are also well above average. Can't think of a negative, this is probably the nicest room I will stay in this year.

Room Tip: You have a choice of River or highway side, River has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 493DaveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ameristar St Charles is one of our favorite spots to visit. We've come here just as a couple, and several times with our young children. We spend the day doing touristy things in downtown St Charles and St Louis.....then normally end up back at the hotel and visit the pool, watch the fountain, let the kids play with the arcade a bit. Then after the kids go to sleep, we sometimes take turns going down and playing some in the casino. We love the rooms, and even with two small children, the room is large enough that the day doesn't have to end with they go to sleep. We even sometimes move a chair or two into the bathroom and hang out, watch tv, etc (for those that haven't been, there is a tv in the bathroom, and it's big enough to double as a small den).
Having said ALL of that.....as much as my 3 year old son is attached to this place, and as much as we like it.....unless the slots loosen up a bit, we may try a different casino/resort on out next trip. Consistently the hardest place to win that we've been.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcrkcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel was very pretty in the lobby area. Rooms were nice and clean. Pool was nice as well.
If your wanting to be right in the action of Saint Louis this is not the place. It's a nice 25 minute drive from downtown. If your wanting to just gamble and go to the resturants/ clubs in Ameristar then this is the perfect hotel.
We went for a bachelorette party and had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I instantly loved this hotel and booked it right away, I'am very happy to be staying there for my first time and enjoy my vavction. However I'am dissapointed that on the expedia website it has shown Ameristar to be within 10 minutes and "walking distance" of Busch Stadium. I didn't realize it was actually 30 mins away until after booking a room and I couldn't cancel my reservation anymore. I was looking for hotels near Busch Stadium since I have planned my whole trip around a Cardinals game I have booked. This hotel popped up on my search, though the distance I'am looking forward to staying here. I do suggest removing the false information for future guest. Thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynetteAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I travel to St. Louis frequently for business and had never stayed at the Ameristar due to the hotel being sold out. After a two night stay, I've found my St. Louis hotel. From check in to check out, it was top notch. Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating and my room was absolutely beautiful. Very clean and comfortable with all the amenities that I need to work in my room. The hotel is convenient to the interstates and the airport. I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We couldn't be more happy to hear this, Ms TravelDiva! I'm glad you had a successful visit and we are excited to host you again next year. Thanks for sharing your experience and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
1.0 mi away
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
#14 of 17 in Maryland Heights
515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 21 in Saint Charles
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Property: Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
Address: 1 Ameristar Blvd, Saint Charles, MO 63301-3500
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing