We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
Nearby Hotels
$117
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$98
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$94
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wingate by Wyndham St. Charles(Saint Charles)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel(Saint Charles)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Hotel St Charles(Saint Charles)(Great Value!)
$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$94
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveler rating
442
143
52
28
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
143
52
28
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken living roomsports barview of the riverslot machinesdouble sinksan indoor outdoor poolseparate tubhuge bathroombeautiful roommissouri riversitting areabeautiful propertycoffee tableflat screen tvwalk in showerameristar casinohot tub
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 708 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had our third visit to the Ameristar St. Charles Resort Spa. Requested a high river view and were given a suite on the 24th floor. Great view of the sunrise. Rooms are very spacious and got a good rate from monthly mailing.

Room Tip: Best to request a non-smoking room with Missouri River view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

First things first... the hotel room I had was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable. The room was incredibly spacious, with 3 TVs, a sunken "living room" and a comfy couch. There was a separate bath and shower as part of a very large bathroom. The maid service was very friendly and did a great job.

The rest of the property was pretty good. There was no sportsbook (not allowed in Missouri, sadly), and the casino was nice enough, albeit somewhat stingy. I really liked the setup, where you could enter the hotel without having to pass through the casino. I enjoyed the concourse that allowed you to walk by the restaurants and bars on your way to the casino (or the conference center).

Parking was plentiful, the hotel/casino is close to "historic St. Charles" and very easy to get to, especially from the airport.

The only downside was the smoking... which was allowed pretty much everywhere outside the hotel. But that's par for the course with casinos.

Room Tip: You want to be overlooking the river if you want to see anything.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfranco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. Immediately we were impressed with the property. At check-in, we were offered a selection of a high or low floor and whether we would like a riverside room (of course we did).

After the quick and pleasant check-in process, we headed up to find a gorgeous and spacious room. The bathroom was very large, with double sinks, a separate tub and shower, and even a TV. This was excellent for me, as we were there on a Sunday and I was able to watch the afternoon football game while getting ready (even in the shower!) to head down to the casino. The rest of the room was just as nice. There was a large and comfy King bed and a large TV, and then you could step down into a living area with a couch and yet another TV. We wished we had been able to stay for more than one night, as we were not able to use all of the amenities in the time we had. The river view, while not spectacular, was a big step up from the view you get at most hotels in the area.

The pool area was nice, however, we went in the afternoon and there were a lot of rowdy kids. It probably wouldn't have been as noticeable if it had been warmer weather so we could have taken advantage of the outside portion of the pool. I did notice that they had a nice fire pit on the courtyard area around the outside part of the pool. Again, if we'd had more time, we probably would have bundled up a bit and gone out to enjoy it, but it was time for us to get ready to head to the casino for the evening.

The casino was nice, albeit a bit smoky. We only played blackjack during the evening, and we had enough luck to come out ahead for the night even after drinks. I wasn't very hungry, but my husband ordered a breakfast burrito from the deli in the upstairs area. This burrito was no joke. I think it was around $8, but it contained at least 12 strips of bacon, some sausage, cheese, and what appeared to be at least 8 eggs. It was a monster. After my husband was full, I picked at it a little bit, but we didn't even come close to finishing it. Pretty good value, if you're hungry and/or want a break from gambling.

The bartenders were nice and the drinks were not as expensive as they could have been. At the end of the evening, we decided to order a beer and take it up to the room. The bartender told us that security might make us pour it into plastic cups, which was not ideal, but we decided to chance it, and didn't have any problems.

One thing that would have been nice would have been some kind of in-room movie system. We probably would have paid for one when we returned to the room, as there was really nothing on TV, but instead we just channel surfed for a while before calling it a night.

Overall, we had a great experience and will likely return if we are able to get a decent deal on the hotel room again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoChicaGo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Ameristar is a great place to stay whether your here for business or entertainment. Rooms are huge, nice and the staff is great. The restaurants are all good, but not all open during the week. The Casino is very nice but doesn't seem to have good payouts on the slots at all. If you drink high end liquor, it's pricey for a casino. Overall though, it's a fabulous resort.

Room Tip: The rooms are very quiet and are all alike-nice suites with large bathrooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks for visiting and for sharing your review, Kelly! I'm glad you had a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of all: This resort is beautiful and the rooms spacious; however overpriced. The same can be said for the buffet. We were there for a wedding/reception weekend. The reception itself was elegant and well managed. If you are going to gamble: DON'T. If you manage to get into the casino without being insulted, demeaned, and ridiculed by the security check, you have already beaten the odds. Then you better quit while you are ahead, and turn around and walk out. Because no one was hitting it big on the slots.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews