We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Rolla
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

When I booked this room, I was expecting a typical Econo Lodge experience (no frills, somewhat clean, cheap). Boy was I surprised! This property just underwent a total renovation and I'm pretty sure I was the first person to stay in my room afterwards. It smelled brand new. I slept very well and had a great job interview the next day as a result!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
17
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
xxx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed at Econon Lodge for two nights. I was completely satisfied with the service offered. This motel is worth spending. The rooms very much clean. The Staff was very good and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member12345xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, OH
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Had a free night with my Choice Hotel points. Decided to use the points for a free stay on the way to Tulsa. Won't stay here again. Room needed to be exterminated badly, flies, spiders, and roaches! Breakfast, not worth the walk over to the office. Office staff very nice. But this Econo Lodge was not up to snuff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbgtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rolla hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This motel is a fine example of a very basic, no frills motel that is just good enough for a nights stay and a barely adequate breakfast the morning after.

It is located just off of I-44 in Rolla, MO about 100 miles southwest of St Louis. Generally a convenient location. There are a couple of restaurants right there, if one
desires a better breakfast in the morning.

My room was a single king, non-smoking. A small but fine room that was clean and odor free. It had both a microwave and a mini-fridge for guest use. The tv and the remote were also fine. The air conditioner seemed new and cooled the room well once I turned it on. The ice machine worked well. The room/motel was quiet and provided a nice nights sleep.

The breakfast the next morning was as dull as could be. Milk and cereal. Store bought doughnuts from a box. Off tasting orange juice. Yes, it was all-you-can-eat, but just dull. Just enough to fill you up until you can get a good lunch somewhere such as in Joplin, Tulsa or St Louis.

The staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. No complaints.

I paid for my room with points accumulated on my ChoiceHotels account. It was only 8,000 points, which I thought was a deal. When I made the reservation on the phone the man assisting me told me that it was normally $64.99 + tax for that room. Wow. If I had had to pay that I would have felt a bit swindled. Especially for that area. I bet one could find better hotels with better breakfasts for that or less. I would shop around before paying $65 per night plus tax for this place.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Contrary to some other reviews I thought Econolodge was one of the most comfortable and cleanest stays during my trip out east. At least in our room, the carpet and bathroom installations looked brand new. Most importantly unlike some other low to mid priced motels, the sheets were very clean! The front desk service was also pleasantly nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkpuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This place has nothing to commend it. I just needed a clean comfortable place to sleep. Hard bed, no hair dryer, filthy carpets, crummy breakfast. If I hadn't been so tired, I would have found another place. Choice hotels needs to have greater consistency for their rates. For the same price that I paid here, I stayed in a Comfort Inn in Mundelein, Illinois that was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B47Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The smell was terrible! Couldn't decide if it was dog urine smell or a musty smell. Turned A/C on hoping it would take care of the prolem. Did not. Kept waking up from the smell.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rolla hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rolla
Days Inn Rolla
#10 of 13 in Rolla
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rolla
0.1 mi away
Best Western Coachlight
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
#3 of 13 in Rolla
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rolla
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rolla
Hampton Inn Rolla
#1 of 13 in Rolla
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1417 Martin Springs Dr, Rolla, MO 65401-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Rolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Rolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rolla
Rolla Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing