We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thanksgiving Feast”

Rainbow Trout and Game Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rockbridge
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Doniphan, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Thanksgiving Feast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Normally, this is a restaurant that specializes in TROUT! Thanksgiving Day is a different story. They put on this huge buffet spread that leaves nothing out. And, they have trout as well. Everything, literally, from soup to nuts cooked fresh on premises.
You'll need reservations for Thanksgiving and the place is about 60 miles from nowhere. If you are in a hurry to get there, don't be!
Food, atmosphere, friendly, what more can I say?
We have only been there for thanksgiving but are planning Sunday breakfast/brunch there in the next 2-3 weeks.
Bon Appitite!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradleyville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A fantastic place to visit! We enjoyed the scenery immensely, loved seeing the trout farm, and really enjoyed our meal in the restaurant. The trout is out-of-this-word delicious, and you can even buy some to take home with you. Loved the smoked trout!! The cabins were beautiful, but we didn't stay this time. We will definitely be back again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our second visit to this area and are still amazed at the scenery, service, and the wonderful food! A little drive to get there, but well worth the trip. Their pick three styles of salmon dinner is a pure delight. Their chicken is cooked to perfection. We chose to take friends out to dinner there for a birthday and received the best possible service from the initial drink order to carry-out containers for the bountiful food that was left over. Definitely a visit should be made to this place, if anyone comes into the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and away from the world.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you want to see how the people of the Ozarks enjoy themselves go down to Rockbridge. You know you're in the country when you go there and you're going to be treated right. Take you're friends and make reservstions to stay a few nights and fish. They've been around a long time and people keep going back year after year for their vacations for the peace and solitude.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
270 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great setting. The food was very good and the atmosphere was outstanding. This is one of those hidden jewels. The smoked trout was some of the bet I've ever had. This is not an easy place to get to, but is well worth the trip. The owners were great too.

Helpful?
Thank Kemper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Trout and Game Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Trout and Game Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing