We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwich”
Review of White River Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
White River Grille
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: International
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Rockaway Beach, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The owners do an incredible job in putting good food on the table at a reaonable price. Their Grilled Rueben is one of the best that I have had in many many years. They say stacked high with corned beef brisket and they mean. Many ruebens that I have had contain only 2 or 3 layers of meat. While I have not bother to measure it, the meat must be at least 3/4 thick, maybe even an inch. It is GREAT. There is just enough cheese and sauerkut to complete the sandwich, not to mention the great bread and 1000 island dressing.

The price for Rueben sandwich the is less than $8.00. Recently at a well known chain, I paid almost $10 and did not bother to finish it.

The White .River Grille does a great job and I am always happy to visit it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. The food is great and they treat me like family every time I walk through the doors. The burger is a favorite but also love the tacos and surf and turf. Lots of variety and the homemade salad dressings are worth the trip. Love the thousand island.

Helpful?
Thank Jonomac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had the French toast and it was delicious. I'd love to get their recipe. I make a darn good French toast, but this was even better! The prices are incredibly reasonable and I would recommend this place to family and friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
“breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

the biscuits were very good, but the gravy was horrible, no sausage in the gravy, it tasted like flour and water with pepper in it. i ordered scrambled eggs and thats not what i got, i basicly got a chopped up fried egg, the cook needs to learn to whip the eggs for scrambled as you would for an omlet. the potatoes should not have that orange seasoning on them unless people ask for it,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The fish had a very good flavour and there was a large amount of it. I also ordered a cup of soup and it was also a large serving. We could have split a meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcella101420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White River Grille also viewed

Rockaway Beach, MO
Rockaway Beach, MO
 

Been to White River Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing