We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We've stayed there three times now and loved it each time! Clean rooms, great service, amazing food!

We enjoyed walking down to Abigail's for dinner (make reservations!) and of course the warm peanut butter chocolate chip cookies when you check-in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen_Clare_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were visiting the Katy Trail for biking and decided to stay at the B&B since it was our 30th wedding anniversary. We had never stayed at a B&B before but absolutely loved our experience. Mike and Lisa were great hosts. Every comfort was anticipated and offered. The property was so beautifully maintained inside and out. The breakfasts were outstanding! The Inn was very close to the trail so we were able to ride the trail whenever we were ready. We can't say enough good things about our stay and the experience as a whole. We definitely recommend this to anyone looking to really relax and get away. We would definitely consider a return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have stayed twice in the Inn, twice in the dormitory, and will stay the 3rd time in the dormitory in two weeks. Quality - Everything is done with excellence. Friendliness - I have always found Mike and Lisa gracious hosts. Very comfy bed. Plenty of places to set, read, and enjoy the quiet. Very clean. The last time were were there we chose the Honor Roll room because of the king sized bed. One minor negative of that room - It's right below the common room and you hear people walking around above you. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0gerj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We came down for a graduation at Mizzu and had a wonderful place to stay. The room was delightful, the breakfast was marvelous and the surroundings were beautiful. Afternoon graduation party was at Les Gourgeois winery on the Missouri River. Had dinner at a little café In town and got a surprise evening of blues & jazz by a talented band. We have handicap issues but were able to go up steps and the bathroom was great. We stayed in Honor Roll which is on the first floor. Our family was there and we had a place to meet and enjoy. We came in late and found everything ready and easy.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor good for physically challenged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding last weekend and it was perfect. Very clean, charming and great location. We stayed in the dormitory room as they are a little more cost effective. The self check-in was simple and within minutes we were settled into our room. Charming courtyard outside - perfect place to have cup of coffee in the morning. Only about 1 mile from Les Bourgeois vineyard.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We made our second visit to the Schoolhouse last week, and we once again had a great experience. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated, as are the common areas. The towels are thick and fluffy, and the bedding is high quality. We stayed in the Schoolmaster, which is in the corner near the breakfast area. It is spacious, with a roomy bathroom and a sitting area with an electric fireplace. There was only one other group each night we stayed, so it was very quiet and we had lots of room in the lovely, comfortable common areas. The grounds are clean and well cared for, and there are lots of places to sit outside. The breakfasts are excellent, and the food is plentiful – you won’t go away hungry! Our purpose was to ride the Katy Trail, which is an awesome experience. We were able to store our bikes in the locked shed and just ride off down the street after breakfast each morning.

Mike and Lisa are great hosts –knowledgeable about the area and very attentive and friendly without being obtrusive in any way. As others have noted, all the little details are taken care of here, and this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerider4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wonderful wife is a school teacher of two decades who is in her first year as a principal. I was looking for a surprise birthday getaway for her and thought it was perfect that I found a 100 year old converted school house B&B. It was a no brainer to pick the School Marm as our room and I was glad I did. It was well situated on the second floor, just across the hall from the common room where afternoon cookies and morning breakfast is served. The building and grounds are beautiful and well kept on the outside and absolutely jaw-dropping inside. The innkeepers, Mike and Lisa, were an attentive and kind couple who were pleasant and helpful from before I ever booked the room until well after we were checked out. They gave us lots of advice on things to do and see in the area and proved a calming and carefree experience for us. They also helped me with some unique issues I had with planning this weekend for my wife. Rocheport itself is a small and laid back kind of town great for walking, antiquing and people watching. I recommend the Les Bourgeois Winery as a great place to catch drinks, dinner, and a fabulous sunset. BTW the bottles at the B&B are actually cheaper than at the winery (I’m guessing that buying in bulk helps). Anyway, I couldn’t think of a better way to surprise my wife and let her know how amazing she is to me.

Room Tip: I didn't see either of the Dormitory Rooms, but all of the rooms in the main School House are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brybatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to School House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 504 3rd St, Rocheport, MO 65279-9009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range: $89 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant B&B Inn located in historic Rocheport school building with 11 guest rooms, private baths, some with 2-person jetted tubs. Complimentary multi-course breakfast, Wi-fi and street parking. Two blocks from Katy Trail and one mile from Les Bourgeois Winery Bisto. Dormitory House next door is designed for budget cyclists. Two private guest rooms with multiple beds, private baths, laundry, rooms stocked for self-serve breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing