We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at School House Bed and Breakfast Inn for a spring night between jaunts on the KATY Trail. It was delightful in every way, from the prompt attention we received upon arriving and the warm chocolate chip-peanut butter cookies and iced tea to the lovely room, perfectly clean and sunlit. We appreciated the dining recommendations to satiate our bicycling-induced hunger. Breakfast the next morning was over-the-top good. A perfect stay from beginning to end!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
149
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in the School House B&B for one night on a birthday weekend trip. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, I can't think of a single complaint! Check-in was between 4 and 6 (unless you arrange differently), and they greet you with cookies. We stayed in the Dick and Jane room, because we wanted to have a 2-person jacuzzi tub...worth the extra money! The room was beautiful with very high ceilings so it felt very spacious. We loved the jacuzzi so much that we used it twice just to get our money's worth, and it came with essential oils that smelled delicious. We went to Les Bourgeois during the afternoon, and there was a Mizzou event at the Bistro/A-frame, which was disappointing because it was overly crowded, so we went to the tasting room and toured the facility down the road. For dinner we went to the Blufftop Bistro, which was amazing food and ambiance. Mike had recommended to us to go to the General Store down the road if we wanted to see live music that evening, which we did and was a very cute bar with games like Scrabble to play. The sleeping accommodations were very comfortable, and then the next morning we went to breakfast and enjoyed wonderful food that really exceeded my expectations. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we hope to return!

One note is that we had bought our own wine to drink in the room, but as other reviewers mentioned there is beer and wine for purchase, which is a really wonderful feature!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Dick and Jane room if you want a King size bed and a jacuzzi tub, as well as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for one night in the Teacher's Pet room at the School House. The room was amazing and Mike and Lisa were very hospitable and attentive. We had an en-suite bathroom, mini fridge stocked with complimentary soda, coffee maker, already loaded with fresh coffee grounds and water for the morning, Wine and beer available for purchase (Schlafly beer was $2 and bottles of wine for $15). Our room had a wonderful Jacuzzi tub for relaxing, bathrobes and plush towels were provided. The entire building has been modernized and kept spotlessly clean. We viewed the other rooms which were very cozy sporting 12 foot ceilings and elegant furnishings. When we arrived, Lisa had hot cookies coming out to the oven to welcome us! The breakfast was amazing as well. Every detail was carefully attended to.

This B&B is right on Third street in Rocheport, a very short walk to Abigail's restaurant and all the various shops (several of which are antiques dealers). Great location in this wonderful little MidMo town on the Katy Trail!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Teacher's Pet is the best room in the house! But all of them looked very lovely. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimLeCroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our first time to Rocheport and found it to be a lovely little town and were very pleased when arriving at the School House Bed & Breakfast. The owners greeted us upon arrival, had cookies, tea and soda available, and showed us our room and told us about everything. They were very informative and told us about places in the area and made sure we had dinner reservations. They even provided us with their cell phone number in case we needed anything after hours. It was peaceful, super clean, and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious and the checkout process easy. We loved it and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kincadch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdmksg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The property overall was very nice and well kept. We stayed in Teacher's Pet room and found it clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and we had plenty of room. The owner greeted us and carried our luggage up the stairs upon check in and and explained everything about the room. He also left us with his cell phone number for any issues after hours.
Breakfast in the morning was good. Had enough tables, so we did not have to eat with complete strangers. There were tables for 4 if you wanted that experience.
Overall nice experience. Was a bit pricey, but we did stay over Valentines weekend and did have one of the best rooms available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast. It was very nice and we had a wonderful time traveling with two other couples. There was no real check in, we were met by the owners who had chocolate chip cookies, tea, and other snacks available. They asked about any special requests or food allergies and we then were shown our room, amenities and they discussed the area and we had a wonderful visit with them.
They have a few different sitting areas that made it nice for us to have drinks with or friends before and after dinner. We think its nice that ask guests not use the common area after 10:30pm as a courtesy to others. Once we retired to our room the bed was very comfortable and we could not hear any other rooms. The bathroom and shower was nice and vey clean.
Breakfast was delicious and filling. The check out was as simple as leaving you room key in your door and leaving.
The School house was a very nice get a way and we left relaxed and refreshed. I am sure we will return in the summer to see what else the area has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the Schoolmarm room. King bed, very comfy, only recommendation is y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjlhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the nicest cleanest b&b we have stayed in. We will definitely be back! Breakfast was very nice and fresh. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will be excited to go back this summer with our bikes.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlyjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocheport
9.7 mi away
Hotel Frederick
Hotel Frederick
#1 of 7 in Boonville
221 reviews
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boonville
10.1 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Boonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Bed & Breakfast

Property: School House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 504 3rd St, Rocheport, MO 65279-9009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant B&B Inn located in historic Rocheport school building with 11 guest rooms, private baths, some with 2-person jetted tubs. Complimentary multi-course breakfast, Wi-fi and street parking. Two blocks from Katy Trail and one mile from Les Bourgeois Winery Bisto. Dormitory House next door is designed for budget cyclists. Two private guest rooms with multiple beds, private baths, laundry, rooms stocked for self-serve breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing