We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeton, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been to multiple B&B's over the years and The Schoolhouse is one of the best we have been to. Very clean and well kept. It is a "can't miss" especially in the fall. The Rocheport area will take you back in time and the schoolhouse will do the same. Mike and Lisa take pride in their properties and you can tell by the quality of stay that they provide.

Room Tip: 1st Floor is the best floor unless you stay in the Teacher's Pet Suite on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    20
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
157
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place was great. My husband and I wanted to take a quick getaway trip for our anniversary and it was perfect. We are usually hesitant to stay in bed and breakfasts because I think sometimes they can be a little TOO personal. This place was perfect. The owner greeted us and filled us in on everything we could want to know....even down to how to dim the alarm clock! I was appreciative....and then they left us alone which was also perfect. Our room was beautiful and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We also took bikes and rode the Katy Trail and they had a nice locked shed set up behind the B&B to store them in. They had pumps and bike tools available if we had needed them. They were just a couple of blocks from the trail. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've stayed here several times with a group of women on retreat. The owners are not only attentive and kind, they go out of their way to make sure you feel at home. We had the run of the place of the evening and woke to the smells of a wonderful, home made breakfast. You won' find a better kept B&B in a more beautiful small town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMama1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We decided to take a weekend off for a road trip with our tandem bike, and since we had stayed at the School House Inn way back in the early 1990s, felt it would be fun to go back and bike on the KATY Trail. The Inn was every bit as wonderful as we remembered. The owners have really gone the extra mile to set up everything you could possibly want or need, including a locked bike shed to keep your bike secure overnight. Took some nice bike rides on the KATY Trail to Columbia for lunch and the Les Bourgeoisie restaurant up on the bluff for dinner while we were there. What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortGuyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this lovely B7B over Labor Day weekend with my 3 teenage daughters, my husband and my mother. We chose the School House because it was the perfect location for riding the Katy bike trail. The trail starts very close to this B&B plus they provide bike storage! The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful and the inn keepers were pleasant and gracious. This is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We took a Friday night to celebrate our anniversary a few days early because the next weekend would be a busy time. It had been a long time since we were here last (maybe 15 years), but everything was still excellent as it had been back then. Rooms were nice, clean, quite and homey. The breakfast was great and hosts were superb. Differently a must do again, hopefully we won't wait another 15 years!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higginsville, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Rooms were beautiful, marrying antique style with the modern comforts we've come to expect. Breakfast was delicious; restaurant-quality served in a very relaxed setting. Along walls and on desks were displayed historic information about the old schoolhouse and the renovations the owners did. They thought of everything: from DVDs and bottles of wine down to old books and a communal puzzle! Near Arrow Rock historical site and several wineries and situated right on the Katy Trail, there's plenty to do even in the small town of Rocheport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocheport
9.7 mi away
Hotel Frederick
Hotel Frederick
#1 of 7 in Boonville
233 reviews
10.1 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Boonville
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Boonville
Comfort Inn Boonville
#4 of 7 in Boonville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
692 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Boonville
Days Inn Boonville
#5 of 7 in Boonville
303 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Bed & Breakfast

Property: School House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 504 3rd St, Rocheport, MO 65279-9009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant B&B Inn located in historic Rocheport school building with 11 guest rooms, private baths, some with 2-person jetted tubs. Complimentary multi-course breakfast, Wi-fi and street parking. Two blocks from Katy Trail and one mile from Les Bourgeois Winery Bisto. Dormitory House next door is designed for budget cyclists. Two private guest rooms with multiple beds, private baths, laundry, rooms stocked for self-serve breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing