We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW! It was amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW! It was amazing!”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We decided to stay at Amber House on our anniversary this year as a quick getaway. The pictures do not do it any justice. It was in one word "amazing". Mary was a an incredible chief with delicious breakfast both days. We stayed in the Topaz room but can not wait to return and visit the Onyx Room!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimm61804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
235
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Amber House is so impressive. I felt so grateful to stay in a place where the owners' passion for her business was evident in every little detail. Our room was beautifully decorated and so clean! The bathroom was spacious and so spa like. The bathroom alone is worth the price of admission. The bed was so soft and comfy you needed to set the alarm to wake you up in the morning. Mary's breakfast was a fun experience because you got to meet and chat with the other guests while you feasted on a gourmet breakfast. My favorite little surprise was the late evening homemade cookies Mary would leave for her guests to munch on. To my surprise my normally grouchy husband loved the place as much as I did and we had a great time.P.S.: Eat dinner at Abigail's.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaLenexaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you are visiting Rocheport, this is the one and only place to stay! Amber House is a beautiful bed and breakfast, one that we will return to every year. I choose AH after researching online, I was looking for a modern place to stay b/c my fiance' & I are not into country / frilly / antiques. This House has it all, Mary the innkeeper has an amazing attention to detail. As soon as we pulled up to the house I noticed how well kept the lawn and flowers were and was really happy to see the large front porch. This house is very bright and cheery on the outside, very inviting. Upon arrival, Mary gave us a tour of the house. She must stay busy because she keeps everything immaculate, it feels as though you are the very first guest! All the rooms are classy and warm. There is a butler's pantry on the main floor with different coffees, teas, and snacks as well as a mini fridge between the suites that is also stocked with water and different pops. Outside our room there was a bookcase with several dvds and books you can help yourself to. As for the room... WOW! We stayed in the Onyx room and it was so perfect! The bed and pillows are very comfortable, the decor is tasteful and reminded us of home. The bathroom is a dream come true... a large whirlpool tub with a double sided fireplace that connects to the bedroom as well. Also double sinks and a large double headed shower with plenty of hot water! Mary has thought out every small detail to this place, down to the doorknobs and light dimmers. I also suggest dinner and wine at the Blufftop Bistro just down the street, we had a fantastic dinner there followed by a wonderful surprise engagement! Afterwards we sat on the large porch at the Amber House and drank wine under the stars... it felt like we were worlds away, so quiet and peaceful. We also drank our morning coffee on the porch and relaxed while breakfast was cooking, and let me tell you Mary is quite the cook! The meal was gourmet and beautiful and afterwards we toured her amazing kitchen (you can take cooking classes there also). To sum it all up, Amber House exceded my expectations, it was the most romantic place we have ever stayed! I highly recommend, you will not be disappointed. Thank you for everything Mary and we love our coffee mugs, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissainKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Amber House Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful place to lay your head. My wife and I love to bike and since it is so close to the Katy Trail it gave us a luxurious place to stay with a wonderful gourmet meal. The owner's were friendly and very hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Let me put it simply. We stay at B & Bs frequently and have experienced quite a range of Inns.

The Amber House was delightful in all regards. Clean. No - spotless. Great breakfast. Impeccable service. Privacy at all times.

Gotta love it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAR9371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, KS
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Steve and Mary are two amazing people that truly love what they do! Steve was there to welcome and walk us around the property and up to our room and when we met Mary, her gourmet talents preceded her (thanks for the wonderful cookies that were sitting out for us when we arrived!).

The house is in the style of an old victorian, but it is truly an updated, extrememly clean, haven for a weekend away from life's stress! We stayed in the Jade room, and the bathroom/shower was a wonder among itself! Jets ALL over the double-stall shower made it fun and you may never want to get out! This room was a warm, inviting, comfortable place to lay our heads (during "nap time" or after a night at Les Bourgeois Bistro or Abigail's and shopping downtown).

As for Mary's culinary expertise... just ask to see her kitchen (seems hardly fair to call it that!) - it will take your breath away! Breakfast the first day was quiche and then fresh fruit with yogurt on top and french toast slices (yes, TWO courses!), and the second day, she delighted us with egg/cheese souffle, fresh greens, bacon, and then fresh filled crepes with fresh strawberries over the tops (again, TWO courses!). She is truly gifted and my tastebuds thank you too!

We'll be back for sure!

As for the food... Mary's

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsweekend2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Enjoyed two nights in the elegant Onyx room. Room was art deco style, bed very comfortable, and the double sided electric fireplace created a very nice glow. The air jet tub was wonderful after our long hike. Wonderful cookies to nibble on. Full gourmet breakfast with excellent coffee. Fridge stocked with sodas and bottled water. Mary is a lovely lady and wonderful hostess. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocheport
9.9 mi away
Hotel Frederick
Hotel Frederick
#1 of 7 in Boonville
221 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#9 of 35 in Columbia
299 reviews
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Boonville
Comfort Inn Boonville
#4 of 7 in Boonville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amber House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 705 3rd St, Post Office Box 57, Rocheport, MO 65279-9039
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber House is a luxurious, year-round, full service bed and breakfast in beautiful Rocheport, Missouri. Situated on the famous MKT Trail, we are happy to welcome cyclists to rest and rejuvenate with us. Visitors come to enjoy Les Bourgeois Winery or to browse the shops and galleries of Rocheport. With four well-appointed guest suites, a state of the art kitchen, formal dining room, and wraparound veranda, the house exemplifies comfort and good taste. The Amber House is the perfect space to accommodate your next gathering (e.G., Holiday Parties, Girls Weekend, Receptions of all types, business meetings and more). We prepare and serve a, multi-course breakfast each morning with guests' preferences in mind. Using locally sourced foods whenever possible, we take pride in supporting Missouri's farmers. Farm fresh eggs, Crop Circle Farms, Goatsbeard Goat cheeses, and Patchwork Family Farms pork are a few examples of the offerings from The Amber House kitchen. We also offer lunch and will skillfully prepare a multi -course dinner served in our relaxed, yet formal dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing