We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Totally exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Amber House to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. WOW. The grounds were perfectly manicured and the inn itself is a charming (but new) Victorian that was absolutely immaculate inside and out. We stayed in the Onyx room, which had a ridiculously comfortable king size bed, two-person jet tub, and dual head shower. The bathroom alone was worth the price of the room! The owners, Steve & Mary, were as accommodating as could be and totally non-invasive. We were able to store our bikes in the garage when we weren't using them, which was a nice touch. A butler's pantry was stocked with complimentary soda, water, and tea, as well as homemade cookies to snack on. A small fridge upstairs was also stocked with water and soda, and Mary's breakfast was HEAVEN. My husband & I commented how much we felt like were at a Napa Valley breakfast as opposed to one in Missouri (he's from california, I'm from NY, and we both have very particular tastes.) In the morning, Steve brought out fresh coffee, juice, and water. Breakfast was served in two courses- first, we were served crimini and asparagus omelets, sausage links, and warm biscuits which were seasoned perfectly and absolutely delicious. Then, we were served blueberry cream cheese french toast with powdered sugar and fresh raspberries. YUM!!!!!! We were completely stuffed after eating all of that, but it was an easy jump over to the Katy Trail to burn some of it off. Would DEFINITELY go back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are decorated differently and have different amenities, so check out their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
232
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our children gave us a gift certificate to stay at the Amber House Bed and Breakfast. Steve and Mary are lovely hosts. We have a wonderful breakfast, could not eat everything they served us. We rented bikes right there in Rocheport and rode the Katy Trail, which is just blocks from this place. This was just the best weekend ever!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jade room. It was beautiful!! Such a comfortable bed and it was so tastefully decor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reading54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We enjoyed our two nights! We have a vegan diet and Mary was glad to provide a great breakfast. The sheets on the bed are luxurious! We stayed in the Jade room and liked the dual sinks. This area has a wonderful winery and Abigal's is a close by restaurant. She also provided a vegan selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pianogardenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Rocheport, Missouri for years to enjoy the Les Bourgeous Winery. We usually go to this charming Missouri River winery to enjoy their food, wine, and beautiful bluff-top view of the Missouri River. This time we decided to stay in the historic town of Rocheport at the Amber House Bed and Breakfast. What a perfect little get-away, 2 hours from Kansas City. We were impressed with every aspect of this modern, yet un-stuffy Victorian inn, built specificly as a B & B. Steve and Mary were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was amazing. We stayed in the Onyx room and loved it. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gploetner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Amber House in their Onyx Room. It was beautiful, the breakfast in the morning was delicious, and the owners were very happy to cater to our needs. The king-sized bed was amazing, as were the two-person bath and dual-head shower. We definitely plan to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottParsonsFacetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecompton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We loved our stay at the Amber House B&B. Our room was impeccably clean, and beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Mary made the most delicious breakfast, which included a lovely peach and blueberry pastry. The wine and appetizers the evening of our stay were delicious too. If we had come in off of the Katy Trail, I'm sure we would have taken advantage of the the giant Jacuzzi. The Topaz Room is simply gorgeous. I told my husband that I felt as comfortable as I do in my own home. I highly recommend The Amber House.

Room Tip: The Topaz Room is beautiful. The bed is very soft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paintinglady_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent a night away at Amber House for my husband's birthday. I could not have been more pleased. Right away I was impressed with the grounds and home and how immaculately everything is kept. Its a beautiful home. Steve and Mary were delightfully accommodating hosts and Mary's cooking is amazing. Our room was charming and comfortable. I cant recommend this place enough - we will be back! Thanks, Steve and Mary!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbutcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocheport
9.9 mi away
Hotel Frederick
Hotel Frederick
#1 of 7 in Boonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#11 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boonville
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Boonville
Comfort Inn Boonville
#4 of 7 in Boonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amber House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 705 3rd St, Post Office Box 57, Rocheport, MO 65279-9039
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber House is a luxurious, year-round, full service bed and breakfast in beautiful Rocheport, Missouri. Situated on the famous MKT Trail, we are happy to welcome cyclists to rest and rejuvenate with us. Visitors come to enjoy Les Bourgeois Winery or to browse the shops and galleries of Rocheport. With four well-appointed guest suites, a state of the art kitchen, formal dining room, and wraparound veranda, the house exemplifies comfort and good taste. The Amber House is the perfect space to accommodate your next gathering (e.G., Holiday Parties, Girls Weekend, Receptions of all types, business meetings and more). We prepare and serve a, multi-course breakfast each morning with guests' preferences in mind. Using locally sourced foods whenever possible, we take pride in supporting Missouri's farmers. Farm fresh eggs, Crop Circle Farms, Goatsbeard Goat cheeses, and Patchwork Family Farms pork are a few examples of the offerings from The Amber House kitchen. We also offer lunch and will skillfully prepare a multi -course dinner served in our relaxed, yet formal dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing