We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Small Town Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocheport

Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Rocheport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small historic neighborhood.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Small Town Getaway”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Wonderfull small getaway town wt local winery and a few small places to eat and numerous arts/crafts/antique shops for "nic knacking," but note no in-town drug store or grocery store so pack accordingly. Rocheport located on Katy trail and great for walking or biking...ideal for bike/hike and/or quiet romantic getaway.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint shops, restaurants, and winery (Les Bourgois) nearby!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Enjoyed a one night stop here while bicycling along the Katy Trail. Would definitely enjoy coming back for another visit, especially with my wife! Lots of interesting shops, restaurants & nearby Les Bourgois Winery.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
383 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Charming, Quiet and Outdoorsy”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My boyfriend chose Rocheport as a romantic getaway for the two of us with the ulterior motive of proposing to me! We walked miles on the Katy Trail as well as thru downtown. While the population of the entire city is around 200, there were surprisingly few visitors on a Friday so it was almost as though we had the whole town to ourselves. There are a few shops with antiques and perhaps not surprisingly, no ATMs in the entire town, so be sure to take cash with you, although most stores/restaurants do accept debit and credit cards. We did find one that did not, however. Very small-town feel with a lot of history. The trail itself was very refreshing as we walked a few miles each way from Rocheport.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gabi_kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Many Shops, So Little Time!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a small, village type town just 20 min away from Columbia, MO. On a hot, hot day in July, we were glad to be able to hit so many places within short distance. The shops were cool and inviting and there was lots of merchandise to choose from. We had picked up a brochure from our hotel and the people at the front desk told us that we should go and we were happy we took their advice. Everything can be found from unique Mizzou items to antiques and flowers! Each shop/store had friendly, courteous staff and one even had a dog who wagged his tail to welcome you! Wish I could have had more time to really walk around and explore this town.........like the Amber Bed and Breakfast! I do plan to go back during the Christmas holidays and can hardly wait! Try Rocheport.........you'll like it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank msdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Hiking, Biking, Wine, History, and Charm - Loved Rocheport!”
Reviewed September 23, 2006

My sister, niece and I went to Rocheport on 9/23/06 and had a blast. We'll be back for sure!

Hiking: We took a short walk west on the KATY trail (the longest rails to trails project in America) and went over the Monteau river and through an old railroad tunnel. Very scenic and an easy walk.

Food / Wine: We had a great lunch at the Les Bourgeois bistro. This restaurant is built on a cliff above the Missouri river and serves a Bistro Bloody Mary that looks like a meal - it comes with bread, shrimp, and is stuffed with vegetables and olives - $6.00.

Biking: We rented bikes at the Trailside Bike Rental and headed east on the trail. Bluffs are on one side and the Missouri River on the other. There are lots of things to see (caves, springs, petroglyphs, AND you can park your bike and walk up to the Les Bourgeois winery for taste tests!).

Charm: You can easily park at the trail head and walk around town. There are darling restaurants, antique stores and a book store. Everything is walking distance from the B&B's.

The next time we go, we'll spend the night and do more bike riding. They were having a Wine Stroll the evening we left and it looked like so much fun.

Helpful?
4 Thank smonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocheport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing