We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a tetanus shot first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Riverside/Kansas City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was the worst hotel experience in years! There was no hot water, the place was filthy inside (though the external appearance was decent), breakfast offering was a couple pieces of gross sugar cake and raisin bran, we were put in a smoking room, the place was in a mostly industrial area and the morning staff was dead or mute, I'm not sure which. Probably tired of complaints. The hallway carpet was so dirty that the grounds were cleaner and there was brown ugly stuff smeared on the bathroom walls. Get a tetanus shot first!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nabenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 300 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on 8/13/11. What a joke! The room was expensive, swimming pool was out of order (permanently, according to the sign posted outside), horrible smell throughout the hotel, and staff that need to learn about personal hygiene.

The TV had very limited cable (with more than half of the channels being very snowy, and unable watch). The bed (mattress) was encased in a plastic ziplock casing, so you were sleeping on PLASTIC!!!! very annoying and uncomfortable! The chair in the room had a big hole in it with the stuffing coming out of it. Stains were all over the carpet.

I also noted that there was a sign about guests having visitors (was not permitted, even if they were not staying overnight). If you had visitors, you had to pay for them to visit with you. I am glad I did not have to deal with this!

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! Go to Motel 6! Better quality and service at that chain, than you will find in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirlinesOfWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the Riverside Super 8 on a business trip for five nights ending on August 4th. Being here for an extended stay I came into contact with most of the staff and they were all very helpful with directions and recommendations to the best food locations. It's been a very hot summer and it was nice to open my door to a clean, cool room. Super 8 has a friendly staff and were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

No pool nor computer, but close to KC and across from a casino.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teacher017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

It was a scorching hot weekend and the pool was broken. The rooms were nasty -- there was plastic on the beds, the shower heads were just barely hanging on, the air conditioner dripped into our room so the floor was soaking wet and slippery and the toilet didn't flush very well. There was a continual smell coming up from the tub drain so our room smelled as if someone had just used the toilet -- number 2! We had to ask for clean towels every night and we never got get clean sheets. The breakfast was worthless. The jam was so old it wouldn't spread -- no doughnuts or rolls -- just nasty stale cereal and horrible-tasting orange something. The cable had about 4 channels and we were not allowed to use the high-speed internet. I won't be ever coming back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

This place was unbelievable. Looks nice from outside but looks are deceiving. Once inside, the ceiling tiles in hallways are drooping down from leaks and are black with mold. Bathroom floors were sticky and smelled of urine. For as new as the motel looks it is in horrible shape. Sheets do not fit the beds so when you roll over they come undone and you are laying on a dirty mattress. One night we returned to our room about midnight and it had not been cleaned that day. We complained and requested compensation but they refused. Luckily we were leaving the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Thank Jayhawk119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Rooms were totally dirty. You get a total of 2 towels. The beds felt like cardboard. There is a bad smell all over. Window was broken in the room. Sheets had stains. Very Very bad motel!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Thank Travelgrlkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
0.1 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Kansas City
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City at Briarcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
2,892 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#76 of 109 in Kansas City
297 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
#4 of 4 in North Kansas City
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Riverside/Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Riverside/Kansas City

Address: 800 NW Argosy Pkwy, I-635 & Hwy 9, Riverside, MO 64150-1514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Riverside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: $62 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Riverside/Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Riverside/Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Super Eight
Riverside Super 8
Super 8 Riverside
Super Eight Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing