We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay-Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Riverside
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay-Getaway”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've been coming to Argosy for the last couple months as I gamble a little at the craps table from time to time. In December, they sent me a coupon book with 2 free rooms, 2 free buffets for 2 people, and 4 match play coupons. This is awesome for someone at my level of play!

Last weekend, my wife and I decided to make use of the free room. Making the reservation was very easy as the operator was very courteous and easy to work with. Upon arriving at the hotel on a busy Saturday, we were greeted by very friendly front desk staff.

From the outside, the hotel looks so-so, but on the inside, it's easy to see that Argosy has done more than one renovation! The corridors and elevators were tastefully decorated, better than many Vegas casino hotels. The rooms were also very nice. We stayed in a standard king-sized room. Even in the standard room, it comes with one of the best bathrooms I've ever seen, complete with rainwater shower that you could almost lay down flat in. The bed was also very nice with a pillow-top mattress that slept just as well as our own.

We tried the buffet while we stayed as well. Saturday is prime rib night, so of course we had that. It was one of the better prime ribs I've had (not the best, but this is a buffet after all). They also boast a large selection of food, including full bars of seafood dishes, asian dishes (complete with pho and sushi), and american entrees.

The casino is, in my opinion, the best layout and ambiance in the KC area. The french decor is well done with lower ceilings in the casino area. They have many slots, maybe not as many as Ameristar, but their table games are better. Great craps dealers are patient with players both experienced and inexperienced. They love taking questions and help to keep the atmosphere at the table exciting.

They almost always have craps, blackjack, and roulette for $5 minimums. They also have pai gow poker for $10 even on busy weekends. My only wish is that they wouldn't raise the minimums at tables when you sat down for a certain price (no grandfathering minimums here). The only other negative is the ventilation in the casino. Whereas you cannot smell smoke in the public, non-casino area of the property, inside the casino it smells like an ashtray (and so do you and your clothes when you leave). I think Ameristar wins there, but not by much, and no casino in the area is any better.

All told, Argosy is the top casino in KC in my opinion. The hotel, buffet and casino all rival many Vegas casinos. I will continue to return to stay, eat, and gamble in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floors facing the river. The view from the other side of the hotel are bland a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    101
    43
    22
    29
See reviews for
54
140
16
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The room was great, the bath was awesome, the casino was nice. We aren't casino people, but we got things figured out- lots of walking for our "free money" lol but not a big deal. The breakfast buffet was Much better than the Supper buffet- but I had more food than necessary in each visit. We were there for the Christmas brunch and it was good too. Loved the made to order egg station. And the Christmas trees were beautiful. We had massages in the spa- they were great- and everyone on the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful.
Being from nebraska where everything is non smoking, we were plesantly surprised that we could sit in the lobbies and halls of the casino side of the building and smoke a cigarette at our leisure- so i you aren't a smoker- beware :)

Room Tip: We chose a high room-and were fine with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shari j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Been to the Argosy Casino several times so we decided to try a weekend get away and stay at the hotel. The rooms are very nice and spacious and the bathrooms are over the top. Extra large shower with room for 10. Sitting bench in shower with dual shower heads, one rain shower and one wall spray with temperature control. French doors leading into the bathroom with separate toilet room and sound system. Housekeeping was a little lacking in that they didn't change the linens as requested otherwise the room was cleaned and straightened. Restaurants were nice and affordable although the dinner buffet was a bit expensive for the value. The hotel has gated parking for guests which allows you to park away from the casino crowd. Reservations can be a little pricey for this area, they must think that they are in Vegas, but they do offer some great deals if your plans are flexible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Casino is nice and most of the slots give you play for your money. We enjoy coming over here when we are in Kansas City a few times a year. It’s a nice place to go and have a drink, play a few table games and slots. Totally enjoy the atmosphere of this Casino.

Room Tip: Go during the day and enjoy their buffet for a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex, uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My Mum and I were visiting from the UK to see family and stayed at the Argosy for 4 nights at the end of December. We were just looking for somewhere to rest our heads and we were more than happy with what we got at the Argosy.
Some of the reviews have mentioned that the place is looking a bit tired these days and there were signs of this; in our room the cabinet door hung on its hinges for example, but it really wasn't anything that spoilt the overall look or feel of the hotel.
It is a lovely looking place; the public areas are quite smart and we enjoyed visiting the casino, cafe & buffet restaurant. I went to Las Vegas last summer and had laughed before this trip about how this casino hotel might seem a bit of a let down in comparision but actually it was a really fun place to stay with enough stuff going on to keep us amused when we weren't with our family...!
The buffet restaurant was lovely and good value, especially at breakfast. We had a couple of drinks at the Crazy Olives bar/restaurant (they do a lovely chocolate martini cocktail) but the drinks were a lot cheaper in the casino (as you would expect).
We were very happy with our room- we got a really good deal by booking direct on a '48 hour sale' and we got exactly the room we'd requested- double queen, high floor, view of the city and non-smoking. The bathroom is lovely and the shower is amazing. Nice toiletries which were replaced daily (handy with two ladies staying in the room) and lots of nice towels. They could perhaps add a shower gel to the stock instead of just a bar of soap though. Room had pretty much all we needed- hair dryer, ironing board, fridge etc. We slept well: the beds were comfy and the room was nice and dark. Agree with other reviewers about the thinness of the walls/floors- we could occasionally hear other guests but it wasn't a massive bother.
We expected to be quite sensitive to the smoke in the and hotel and casino, as you cannot smoke in any indoor public areas in Britain, however, while it was a bit smokey it wasn't too bad at all and I think they do a reasonable job at keeping the place ventilated.
Free Wifi would have been nice- as this was quite expensive on a daily rate which I didn't take up.
Almost all members of staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, particularly the reception staff and the barman at Crazy Olives; just one lady serving in the smaller casino bar who was a bit off but that was it. Overall, I think the service there is a real asset to the place.

Room Tip: Ask for city facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Argosy in Dec 2012 and were impressed with the beautiful hotel room! The decor was very inviting, the enormous shower room with an overhead and wall shower head, was invigorating, and the restaurants were delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank JeanaKnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I agree with some of the other reviewers, in that it was somewhat difficult to find. Once there though, the staff were great. We stayed there for two nights. The room was gorgeous and clean. Flat screens, large tiled glass enclosed shower, and comfortable bed. My husband and I were somewhat afraid to venture out because of not being from the area and all of the surrounding freeways, so we stayed in. This hotel/casino has everything you need under one roof though! We did not utilize the spa or gym, but we went to two of the restaurants and visited the casino. The lobby leading into the casino is beautifully decorated from the ceilings to the wall and had a Moroccan feel. Overall, it was a great getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
4.2 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
2,516 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
8.5 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
8.6 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
5.8 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City

Property: Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
Address: 777 NW Argosy Pkwy, Riverside, MO 64150-1512
Location: United States > Missouri > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa features a gaming floor that rivals all the fun and excitement of Las Vegas, an award winning hotel offering the most luxurious amenities in the city, an indulgently rejuvenating spa, and five exceptional dining choices. Whether your appetite is for a Certified Angus Beef steak at The Journey, a choice of 99 Crafts & Drafts at 99 Hops House or an action packed table game on the Casino floor, we've got the winning combination ready for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Riverside
Argosy Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing