We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our new favorite vacation spot”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Big Cedar. We did end up purchasing into the timeshare and charter membership. Not sure how anyone could say no after visiting this property. We can't hardly wait to return. The customer service was really great, we only came across 1 grumpy-ish shuttle driver. Actually the only problem we had, was the shuttle is rather confusing, as to which one to ride. We did get stuck at the Devil's Pool and ended up hitching a ride with the next shuttle just to take us anywhere (I use a cane and was unable to walk the distance back to our condo. There is so much to do, we never once got bored and it even rained some while we were there. We never did leave the property, there was no need. The beds are comfortable, but we need to remember to bring our own pillows next time. The place was clean and the property is just beautiful. We rented a boat for a few hours and the staff at the marina was great. We came alone on this trip but can't wait to take the children, they are going to have so much fun... we did.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0eandsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    72
    24
    21
    13
See reviews for
201
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay by far of all my travel experiences! When my husband and I go to Big Cedar, we hardly leave the grounds because there is so much to do there. The restaurants there, especially The Worman House, are all excellent! It is one of the most beautiful resorts I've been to. The grounds are beautiful and views of the lake are even better! The beds are so comfortable that we went to the gift shop and bought the pillows they have in the rooms The last time we went was for my birthday and when we arrived at the room, I had a gift, balloon, and a card signed by all the employees! It was so sweet and made me feel so special! Wonderful place in every way!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The first night we got there, we checked in and went to our room. Quiet hours are from 10 PM to 10 AM, we were on the 3rd floor, someone above us tried to act like an elephant, and it sounded like the baby with them was being beaten with how loud it was crying. The second day we could hear them but not as loud. The third, my sister fell and hit her and eye, but the lifeguards are not trained well and didnt have ice on spot. The amenities were nice, and it wasnt horribly busy. The memorial day fireworks and fun day were amazing.If there is one thing that I can say is have your lifeguards better trained, and have ice on spot, and when and if you build more lodges, make the walls and ceilings thicker. Overall we had a great stay, and we do plan on coming back! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisstillhere98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The kids loved the pools, lazy river, slide, golf and the trails. Hubby and I enjoyed coffee on the balcony overlooking the lake and the green scenery. Already planning a trip for Christmas at Big Cedar. We plan on bringing the kids back every year. Love the location close to Branson.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We brought 4 kids 7 years old and younger to stay at Big Cedar Wilderness. The property itself is amazing. The landscaping, scenery, attention to detail to give a Lodge feel, and employees are amazing. We took a shuttle to the pool (below Devils Pool) and ordered food pool side. We had an amazing dinner ordered from Buzzard Bar. It was so relaxing. The employees were great. The kids had a wonderful time. The food was so tasty. We saw older children hanging out in the arcade. The shuttles will take you anywhere on property. They had several events going that night for kids. I would highly recommend this for a family get away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Since we have timeshare with Bluegreen, this remains our favorite & frequent timeshare vacation spot. Located @ Big Cedar Lodge property in Ridgedale, MO; this is an out-of-the way vacation destination that makes you feel like you are a thousand miles from the nearest city. Actually, it is located 10 miles south of Branson. Big Cedar itself is owned by Johnny Morris of Bass Pro Shop fame and Bluegreen partnered with Big Cedar many years ago to build cabins/lodges and have the timeshare guests eligible to enjoy all the amenities of the Big Cedar property. Once there, park your car and let the shuttle take you anywhere on property, be it the pools, restaurants, stables, marina or spa.
We stayed at the Indian Creek building in a 2-bedroom Concierge unit overlooking Table Rock lake. Kudos to Buggs who was waiting at the curb to unload our car upon arrival. The unit was top notch as always!
Although the golf course is not completed at this time, we were able to bag reservations at Arnie's Barn (Arnold Palmer) at the golf course for authentic Mexican food, which was delicious! It is only one of many buildings, including the golf course, which is still under construction.
A totally relaxing vacation once again. We have stayed here many times and encourage anyone who enjoys the outdoors to try it. Keep in mind there are many changes going on here, so Devils Pool Restaurant has moved to the Worman house temporarily. The new Garden Chapel on a hillside will host weddings when complete.
There is a reason Travel + Leisure ranked Big Cedar Lodge # 6 for "World's Best Hotels for Families". But don't despair, if you like a little less family and more couple time, go in the "off season" before summer break starts!

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor offer better viewing of the lake and the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our first time to stay on the Wilderness side of Big Cedar Lodge (we have stayed at Big Cedar several times). We were not disappointed! We were on the top floor of the "hotel" and had a great view of Table Rock Lake! There are a lot of walking paths. If walking is not your thing, shuttles are available to take you all over the grounds between The Wilderness Club and Big Cedar. There are several outdoor heated pools open even on the cool days. The scenery was excellent! The employees are the best around! The cookie lady comes around every night to bring cookies to your room! Room Service is available 24/7! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
1.4 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
6.6 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
8.2 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#30 of 140 in Branson
1,025 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
D'Monaco Luxury Resort & Restaurant.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar

Property: The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar
Address: 1285 Estate Dr, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4311
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Wilderness Club Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Wilderness Hotel
Big Cedar Wilderness Ridgedale
Big Cedar Wilderness Club Ridgedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing