We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Cedar Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister(Hollister)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Welk Resort Branson(Branson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fall Creek Inn & Suites(Branson)(Great Value!)
$80
$50
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/01
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveler rating
1,117
247
93
58
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,117
247
93
58
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop of the rockbuzzard barworman housedogwood canyonvalley viewbasssinging cowboyroom cabinhorseback ridingcave tourtable rock lakethe cookie ladywilderness clubbeautiful resortcookiespaddle boatsdevil's pool restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,450 - 1,455 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We have been to many different places for vacations, but Big Cedar is defianatly our favorite place to go. We have been back to Big Cedar numerious times and never had a bad time. The staff is ultra friendly, the rooms are clean and even though it rained every single day we were there, we still found stuff to do. Even if it was just getting in the hot tubs.The one thing I would like is for them to heat up their heated pools a little more. With the rain and the cooler air in September, they were a little cool to get in.We stayed in a cabin and just loved it.We just got back and I'm already planning for the next get away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miktread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

First line in the brochure: "You can't help but notice the quiet." Er, excuse me. Saturday morning, 8:00am. We're staying in the "Wilderness Club" area of the property one building away from their newest construction project and, yes, wouldn't you know: In spite of the fact that the parking lot shows a full house of guests, Big Cedar Lodge has decided it's a great idea to allow a back-hoe to run noisily. The two or three workers, who must have nerves of steel to look right over at the nearby buildings filled with sleeping guests and proceed with their work, are lustfully yelling back and forth to each other. Moments ago, the Wilderness Club at Big Cedar shuttle bus happily joined in, making a reverse turn and setting off its shrieking back-up signal, which was then matched by the scream of the Caterpillar. Very nice. All of this has honestly made us wonder about Big Cedar - I mean, where's the common sense here? By the way, we definitely appreciated the complimentary cookies last night.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank plazascribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

1) Away from Branson strip area appx ten miles, so the back & forth for shows is a slight drawback from staying out near the strip area.
2) We stayed in the Falls Lodge. Very nice! Tip: try not to get room near elevator or walkway to the outdoors. It can get noisy early from both kids and adults coming and going. I would ask ask for the upper floor. You actually enter the lodge on the third floor and go down to the first floor.
3) Rooms are real dark with curtains closed, so don't oversleep.
4) Worman house breakfast buffet was delicious. $11.95, but extra for coffee and juice. I think it was $2.50 each.
5) There is a soft-sell vacation time share presentation available. They actually give you resort bucks worth $150 if you sign up to attend the presentation. We did, but chose not to buy. No pressure as this is owned by "Bass Pro Shops."
6) They need to put soap dishes in the bathrooms and showers.
7) Clay Self is a regular entertainer in the pub , almost nightly. He is a very good singer and pretty funny too. Good food and drinks in the pub nightly.
8) My only real complaint was no morning coffee or newspaper available in the lodge, unless you wanted to brew the in-room pot. Not for me! You have to drive down to the Truman coffee house. $1.50 for a newspaper that I think should be available at each lodge. You can walk, but it's a climb back up!
9) Truly, this is a very nice destination.
10) Friendly employees.
11) One call gets you a quick shuttle ride within the property. I preferred to drive my own car to and fro.
12) Free wi-fi

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chipshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

About 60 of us...young children, adult children, parents, grandparents...gathered for several days at Big Cedar. There were activities for all, swimming, boating, tennis, entertainment for all ages. Restaurants were nice. We had family dinners planned by Big Cedar personnel that were really nicely done. We were able to have small group BBQs at our cabins. Rooms were comfortable for older adults to retreat to. Cabins were great for kids to have space. The scenery was beautiful. What a wonderful place to gather.

My only concern was the lack of recycling. We expected to recycle our considerable piles of glass and cans, but were told by housekeeping that there was no recycling plan in place at Big Cedar.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We traveled to Big Cedar for a vacation with our widely scattered extended family because it was relatively easy to drive and fly to, and offered the amenities of a hotel while allowing us to stay together and save a lot of money by cooking and eating a lot of meals in the cabin (while grandma and grandpa could retreat to their room in the lodge). I agree with most of the very positive reviews here, but want to add a few practical details for people like us who have small kids and want to cook.

We had a 2 bedroom cabin with loft in the Cedar Trail area (very good location) and were very happy with the kitchen. The appliances are a little old, but all functioned well. The kitchen is fully stocked (you might have to search from some things, like the barbecue tools we found on the last day), although we stretched the pots and pans to the limit when cooking for ten. There are dishtowels and dish soap and dishwasher detergent, plus supplies for making coffee. You have to bring oil, butter,salt and pepper, etc., but that pays for itself in one meal. There is a full stove/oven, dishwasher, and full size refrigerator, plus a microwave and two-slice toaster. The grill was pretty new and worked very well. There is a nice grocery store on the highway near Branson that is fairly convenient - no fresh bread, though.

One concern I had was about the pools, and whether they would be appropriate for toddlers. In the Devil's Pool area, there is a big pool that is zero-entry at one end, but there is no divider between the shallow and much deeper areas (you can see the change in the pictures where the pool goes from brown to blue). However, right next to this pool (although not shown on the map) is a nice-sized baby pool that is about 2 ft deep and shady. We didn't go to the Swimmin' Hole Swimming Pool, but over in the Brushey Creek area there is a nice zero-entry baby pool that goes to about 2 or 2.5 ft. The Lazy River varies from about 4-5 feet deep, and the slide is a big concrete structure that is not appropriate for little ones, especially since there is a sign that says you can't stand in front of it to catch them. The indoor pool is quite deep, and this was the only place that had a sign that said no swim diapers were allowed. Life vests are available at the Brushey Creek area for the lazy river and pools, but there didn't appear to be any other pool equipment (like kickboards) to borrow.

We went to the Devil's Pool restaurant and Truman House to eat. DP was very good, but the Truman House was disappointing for breakfast. The view is beautiful, but the coffee came in paper cups, and my cappucino had about 1 mm of foam (although it was enormous). Plus they nuked my carrot muffin until it approached the temperature of the sun. The "pastries" consisted of cinnamon buns and muffins - we didn't try the quiches or breakfast burrito. It was disturbing to sit in a lovely garden with a cafeteria-level breakfast - given how nice the rest of the resort is, you'd think it wouldn't be too hard to have a decent coffee shop. My advice is to go to the Collections gift shop where they have decent coffee for $1 (in thermoses), or just make your own!

One last thing - if you are in a cabin, bring a flashlight! The master bedroom downstairs in our cabin had 3 table lamps but I had to drag my suitcase over to the window to find anything, and at night we had to find things by touch. Oh, and the hairdryers are UNDER the sinks (felt silly when I called for one and then found two in the cabin later!).

Overall we had a very nice stay - it was great to have room service every day, the cabin was very nice, and the pools, free minigolf, boats, tennis, and playground kept our kids well-occupied. Horseback riding was fun and reasonable, too (the kids get to ride through the woods instead of in a puny circle as usual). Also, we went during the last week in August when the Missouri and Arkansas kids were already back to school so it was almost half the usual price. For $400 night the cabin (which slept 8) was a real deal, and we all agreed it was a perfect place for a vacation with young children and extended family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berwynbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews