We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel four times and it is wonderful everytime. You do have to accept that there are dead animals on the walls everywhere- but if you're ok with a visit to a typical Bass Pro then you'll love this place. The rooms are amazingly comfortable nad the restaurants are always great too. Every night they even leave cookies on your pillow and there is a lot to do in the area or you can just relax. I will say the rooms on the hill above the lake are nicer than the ones I've stayed in lower on the hill and some of the rooms feature a strange bathtub that has windows that look out onto the rest of the room. If you were sharing a room or had your family in the room I think the bathtub with windows would be strange-but otherwise it is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityrider76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    214
    76
    49
    33
See reviews for
505
464
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
OKLAHOMA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

The kids (ages 4 & 11) were hooked on this place before we got out of the car. Entering the grounds of the Lodge we crossed over a series of low water bridges with waterfalls to our left and right. The two main lodges are on a hill overlooking the property and lake. There are three separate swimming pool areas. One of them is a lazy river with a side section that has a small slide that my 4yr old loved. We stayed at the Valley View Lodge. The room we had was probably the most basic there, but we didn't plan on staying in the room much. Only thing I would have liked for it to have would have been a private balcony. The Falls Lodge next door does have private balcony's. I was really surprised how laid back the atmosphere was with all the kids around. This is a great place for a family to go and kick back for a few days.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank OklahomaSlugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We (me, wife, our 2yr old, and wife's 12yr old sister) stayed here July 22nd - July 25th. We had actually been driving from NW Ark to Madison, WI to Chicago, St. Louis for over a week before we got to Big Cedar. It was time to relax and this was a great place to do that. We got lucky with the weather as the Thursday and Friday were beautiful.
We stayed at Thunderhead Point, which are old fishing cabins toward the main part of the lake. They have recently been updated. We stayed in a one bedroom and used the pull out couch. The rooms are very small. But they have a gas grill, full kitchen and separate bedroom, which most Big Cedar rooms do not have. It got a little crowded with four people, but with 2 it would have been perfect. The rate for these rooms we got for $150 a night. So the rate was much cheaper than any other resort room. Obviously you get all of the amenities of all the other rooms.
We really enjoyed the pools. All of the guests were very friendly. We mainly hung out at the pools all day and relaxed. The putt putt course was a little disappointing, it needs to be updated badly. The only other thing we did was walk some trails and use the playgrounds. When my little one gets older we will take advantage of the kids programs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArkansasFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the Falls Lodge in the Big Cedar Lodge---This resort was excellent and everyone is in for a great time--We traveled our 8 y/o son and 4 y/o daughter. This place is a haven for young children with an abundance of activities, pools and things to do for an active family. They have daily planned activities, the pool open from 9 am to 10 AM, a fitness center and several dining options.

The Falls Lodge was great. We loved the jacuzzi tub, the large spacious room. It was easy to get around the resort--we either drove or took the courtesy shuttle which the kids preferred. The trails for walking were excellent. We could easily walk down to Devil's pool, the swimming hole, minature golf, feed the catfish and turtles . Everyone drives to this lodge--so it doesn't seem to matter where you are staying. You can always drive where you want to go or call the shuttle--Even though the resort was full, there was an abundance of parking.

Dining was easy, convenient and had a menu for all---we dined at the Devil's pool restaurant, the Buzzard Bar for dinners and Worman House--which were all good--similar adult menu and many children's choices. They have a great wine selection. The kids eat Free at Worman House if between 5-6 pm for dinner.

For breakfast, the buffet was excellent with eggs, omlettes, waffles, fresh fruit--at the Worman House. The quick breakfast was great as well at Truman House. They also serve coffee and lattes there.

Since we drove we could drive off property to the near by Branson---Branson was about 10 minutes--there is abundant activity as well as less expensive dining there. The water activites there kept the kids well entertained.

Overall excellent resort for families with children---the pools, miniaturaure golf, shuffle board, marina, fishing, lazy river, lake and lodge or cabin rooms facilitate a vacation for families with kids of all ages. The grounds were very very well kept, the room was clean and excellent beds.

I would highly recommend this resort to others with families and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpearlsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed in a 2 bdrm lodge. Have stayed here multiple times. We love the decor and the location on the lake. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Washer/Dryers in units a big plus. Condos are a little smaller than others we have stayed at in the BlueGreen timeshare family.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okietraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chouteau, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

The whole family enjoyed there stay at The Wilderness Club @ Big Cedar. The grounds were so beautiful and the rooms were absolutly wonderful. My kids enjoyed the pools and lazy river as well as the arcades. We also liked the cookies delivered to our room each night. And if you get a chance you should order the pizza there, its great. I loved it there and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieblue522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

I know I had a great trip when I feel *homesick* for my vacation once I return home!

Big Cedar was absolutely delightful. I was there 3-days with family for a business meeting. We stayed in a 1 room cabin plus loft. The cabin was beautiful, clean, and modern. My only disappointment was that I was expecting a full-size fridge and it was only a tiny hotel-style fridge.

We were there in late-September so the pools felt a little chilly, but we still enjoyed them. The room service was exceptional. The shuttle service around the grounds was great.

I can't wait to go back! Big Cedar is a place I'd love to see in all 4 seasons.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizrunamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
7.0 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
8.1 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#26 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
8.3 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
5.6 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Property: Big Cedar Lodge
Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include mini golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing