We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary get away”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary get away”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I spent our 27th anniversary at Big Cedar after a referral from a friend. We had a cozy one room log cabin with a real wood burning fireplace and an operational kitchen (pots and pans and dishes) . It was the BEST place we have ever stayed. We wanted to return the following year but we waited too long to make our reservations and we couldn't get in at the time we needed. We stayed at another log cabin near Branson and it didn't even come close to Big Cedar. I wanted to make sure we made it this year so I booked our room in May for a January arrival. Our 29th anniversary was just as nice as the 27th. Guess where our 30th will be :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    221
    81
    49
    35
See reviews for
519
483
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The grandview lawn was a beautiful location for my wedding day. But the communication and customer service of big cedar ruined the experience. It was incredibly hard to contact them, and on my wedding morning I arrived to find the white wedding chairs piled and muddy on the lawn. A crane stood directly in the background. These things were taken care of before the ceremony but it shows a bit of the lack of communication. The waterfalls had been turned off and there was construction taking place as well- which was not relayed to me beforehand. The beautiful landscaping for photos was a big part of why I chose big cedar and I was very disappointed. A jackhammer ran in the background during the entire ceremony. The chairs are the only thing big cedar provided. It was a hot outdoor wedding and we were not offered anything to drink. I was offered their public restroom as a place to change and prepare for the wedding. I felt second class. Considering the cost of renting the lawn was outrageous it was a waste. My advice- dont book big cedar.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Laurabt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stumbled upon this place 22 years ago but it was too pricey for our limited budget. We promised ourselves to come back when we could afford it:-)
We stayed at the Springview Lodge section of Big Cedar. Our view was perfect in every way!
From the minute we checked in we were super impressed- our room, the employees and the amenities couldn't have been better. We ate at all of the eateries with the Worman House being exceptional. Our only complaint was there weren't enough places to eat to accommodate the number of guests staying onsite.
It was our anniversary and we were surprised by a cake and champagne flutes compliments of
Big Cedar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My brother works for Bluegreen, so needless to say, I spend a lot of time here! The pictures do not do this place justice! Everyone there is so friendly, the sites are amazing and beautiful. Watching the sun set from the top tier hot tub is by far my idea of peaceful.
My fiance and I have been at least four times now. We are in between Waikiki and Big Cedar for our honeymoon, and we are definitely leaning towards Big Cedar!
It is THAT nice of a place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

These cabins were very nice. We rented 3 of them for a family vacation. Beautiful property with privacy yet amenities. My only complaint is that the owners were unreachable when I wanted to rent my boys fishing poles on Sunday.

(We actually stayed at the cabins December 2012 but tripadvisor would not let me choose that option).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamacarla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had another exceptional get away at Big Cedar Lodge to help celebrate the New Year 2014. If you haven't been you need to go. Beautiful grounds ,comfortable rooms or cabins, friendly staff and delicious meals. They have a spectacular fireworks display at midnight and we were able to watch it from the comfort of our room balcony! The attention to detail is beyond expectations from the beautiful white lights outlining and decorating everything to the cookie lady that delivers cookies and turns down your bed every evening. It is our happy place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopper1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yantis, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a great place to visit as a couple or with kids or even groups. This was our 6th visit in the past 20 years and we will continue to visit. At Christmas & New Year's it is decorated beautifully. Great restaurants and activities on the property.

Room Tip: Great views from Falls Lodge or Valley View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
8.2 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#31 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
5.8 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#60 of 140 in Branson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Property: Big Cedar Lodge
Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include mini golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing