We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family spot for any age”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently returned from a family trip at Big Cedar Lodge with my husband's mom, siblings and spouses. I'd never even heard of the Ozarks before going, and had no idea what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The grounds were wonderfully maintained, and most areas had a nice view of the lake.

Boat rentals: We rented boats 2 days. The boating staff at the marina went completely out of their way to help us. The boats were great.

Gym: I used the gym every day. I loved the selection of the complimentary fitness classes. The only complaint about the gym is that the treadmills had great views of the lake but the view was blocked by televisions attached to the treadmill. At least some treadmills shouldn't have the TVs.

Restaurants: The restaurant options were more than sufficient, however, they were crowded at times.

Cabins: We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath cabin, with a loft. They were nice, but could use some sprucing up (i.e., new carpet). The bathroom in the master bedroom was nice. We grilled out a couple nights, and unfortunately, 1/2 of the grill wouldn't light.

I think Big Cedar Lodge would be great in the winter time as well when it's snowing. We enjoyed the complimentary smores by the bonfires as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear AtlEmily,

So glad you got to come enjoy our little slice of the Ozarks! It was wonderful for you to be able to experience so much here - from the marina to the gym to the cabins. We hope you'll think of us next time your family plans a trip! And be sure to check out BigCedar.com to get onto our mailing list so you can be a part of great winter specials we may have!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Speechless what I great place!
Perfect place for anyone that loves the outdoor!!!
. The service was some of the best I have experienced! Highly recommend for families! Amenities are great. Nice rooms. Beautiful landscaping. Very nice. A bit pricey

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danyma988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Danyma988,

Speechless!! That's a wonderful reaction to some time spent at Big Cedar Lodge! Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us, and we can't wait until you come for a return visit!!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned(7-26-2013) from six day five night stay. Surroundings were beautiful and playing on and around the lake were awesome for my 7yr old grandson. The fool at Truman's and Devil's Restaurant was excellent. Beds were absolutely wonderful. The two short-comings most concerning to me was the "coldness" or could be said "too professional" attitude of the staff. No personality. However being from Texas maybe that is how Arkansas and Missouri people act. Falls Lodge where we stayed needs new paint and new carpeting. For the prices paid that is expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Jim F,

We're so sorry to hear that the staff seemed like they weren't thrilled you were here with us at Big Cedar! We are very happy you chose to come see us at Big Cedar, and we're glad you enjoyed the beach and some fun time with your grandson as well as the great food at Big Cedar! We hope to see you again in the future!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First - the views are just beautiful even though it was raining when we arrived. We had a great view of the lake from our cabin
As mentioned we stayed in one of the lakeside cabins. While the room was not gigantic, it was wonderful. The furnishings were outstanding and was more than what we were expecting. The service was some of the best I have experienced. I have had the fortune of traveling across the U.S. and we were treated like royalty. I would recommend Big Cedar to anyone wanting to have a great time

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you had such a great experience with us. We will certainly pass your compliments on to the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall, I have to rate Big Cedar as poor compared to other resorts I have stayed at in the same price range. Rooms are not as nice as a Marriott, grounds and service are not even close to Disney.
The Good:
1) Beautiful Grounds
2) Free family activities like canoeing, swimming, petting horses, hiking, DVDs
3) Water from tap is great, and coffee is delicious
4) Remote location
5) Freindly staff
The Bad:
1) Over priced room, food, activity fees
2) Bugs galore--ticks at stables, super noisy crickets at night, swarming flies every in between
3) Staff well meaning but inexperienced in the finer arts of service
4) Branson is a tourist trap
The Ugly:
1) Macabre decor, dead animals everywhere
2) Dirty rooms
3) Time share
4) Smokers station at front entry doors at every building
If you live close to Hot springs the scenery is the same. Stay at Degray lake for less than half the price for room, food and same activities. If you live near a big city, you can experience the real shows instead of the Branson knockoffs, play puttputt golf and ride go-carts where you live. Branson has nothing really unique to offer. If you live in a rural area though I could see how you would find this place appealing due to location in the mid US and activities that may not be available near you. Do not waste an aifare to Branson and stay here! There are so many nicer places to visit for a much better value. Hope this review helps keep people from squandering valuble vacation time and money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BevHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear BevHugs,

We are so sorry that your experience at Big Cedar Lodge didn’t live up to your expectations. I would personally like to follow up with you regarding your recent stay. If you would like, you can email me at BigCedar@big-cedar.com with Attn: Matt Neal. I look forward to hearing from you so that we can learn from your experience. Thanks very much,

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Booked a timeshare presentation at a bass pro store. Wasn't expecting to stay in a 5 star resort for the price I paid. Very nice place to stay. All the amenities were first class. Very professional staff. Lots of fun stuff for the kids like movie at the pool, and glow in the dark scavenger hunt. Would stay again. Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Jeremy S,

Relaxing at Big Cedar Lodge is one of the best ways to slow down during the summer! We are very happy you were able to spend some time with us and enjoy some of the Kid's Activites like our Dive In Movie and Glowing Up the Night Scavenger Hunt! Come on back anytime!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently my wife and I spent our anniversary down in branson. I found out about the boat rentals at Big Cedar and was interested in chartering the Goin Jessi. It was one of the best experiences we have had. Robbie (the captain) drove us around the lake for a little over an hour giving us little tid bits of information along the way. Oh, the champagne was a nice add on as well. I would definitely go back for a trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BWAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear BWAlvarez,

The Goin’ Jesse is one of our treasures at Big Cedar. The Goin’ Jessi is our 1934 Chris Craft boat that is names after Waylon Jennings’ wife, Jessi. We couldn’t be happier that you were able to experience this fine piece of history on a romantic tour around the lake. You definitely should come back to Big Cedar in the future for a relaxing getaway! We’ll be on the lookout for you!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
5.8 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#72 of 133 in Branson
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
6.6 mi away
Stone Castle Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling wilderness resort is located 1.7 miles from Big Cedar Hollow and 9 miles from the Branson Creek Golf Club. Accommodations range from rustic private cabins to warmly decorated lodge rooms, plus a modern cottage and a villa. All feature a sophisticated take on wilderness lodge decor, plus whirlpool tubs, free Wi-Fi and minifridges. Many have fireplaces. Amenities include a full-service spa, a fitness center with personal trainer, and pony and carriage rides, plus indoor/outdoor pools, a lazy river and loaner kayaks/canoes. There are several dining options, ranging from a casual cafe to a rustic-chic space with lake views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing