We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Worman House and tour of the grounds”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Worman House and tour of the grounds”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were staying in Branson and had reservations for dinner at the Worman House (read my separate reviews for that - it is fabulous!) and came early to tour the grounds. Wow, were we impressed with this resort and want to come back to stay! Bass Pro knows how to do it right! Gorgeous site, amazing buildings, and attention to detail everywhere! We enjoyed the reservations center, gift shop and of course the Worman House. We walked the paths to the chapel and Falls lodge seeing the giant fish in the putt putt area. After dinner we drove around the property some and enjoyed a relaxing coffee at the lovely Truman House All I can say is quality, quality, quality! Can't wait to come back and enjoy more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtTripHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ArtTripHer,
We’re so happy you came to enjoy our Worman House and spent some time around the property! Our landscaping team truly is amazing! We're glad you got to experience our Truman Coffee & Cafe, too! Come on back to stay with us some time! Check out our Falls Lodge Deluxe King room - you'll love the view!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    222
    84
    50
    35
See reviews for
526
485
13
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wright City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

this has been one of our favorite places to stay for the past 7-8 years, at first we stayed in the lodge which is beautiful and was a great stay, but later started getting the log cabin which i think has spoiled us, there's a nice marina a short walk from the main lodge where you can rent several types of boats for a hour or more,it is a bit pricey but for the services and what you get i think the price is fair. if your looking for a 49 dollar hotel for the night this isn't your place.this is a place to have great memories. last visit we had the kids and in laws and had blast there's stuff for all ages of people here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laruetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear laruetl,
What a great feeling it is to know that you've experienced both our lodge and our cabins! We're happy you've found what you love at Big Cedar with our private log cabins. Thanks for not only returning to Big Cedar repeatedly, but also bringing family to our resort as well! Your kind words mean a lot to us, and your loyalty to our resort means a lot as well! See you next time!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an amazing property! But it is very expensive. So, I would expect that it would be very clean. I have stayed here on and off for 17 years. The price keeps going up but the mildew in the showers stays the same. If you don't mind mildew then it's perfect. I hate to be negative but it is such an easy problem to solve and they can't seem to make it happen.

Room Tip: We stayed in Falls Lodge room 301. If you want a view of the lake ask for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cca12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear cca12,
We are so excited that you feel Big Cedar is PERFECT! Well, except for the one imperfect thing in the shower. I have passed your concerns on to our Housekeeping department, and we are looking at ways to make sure this isn't a problem again in the future. I'm so sorry you've dealt with this on more than one occasion, but we're thrilled that you enjoy Big Cedar overall! We look forward to seeing you again!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one room cabin that was beautiful! The bathtub was incredible! Kitchen was stocked and we loved it! The deck had a grill and we saw lots of wildlife. The lazy river was fun! The only thing we mentioned we would have appreciated, is a bar or over 21 area. There are lots of kids which is fine but they listed a bar, Buzzard Bar, which was more like an Applebee's. We will for sure return to stay in the private cabins!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDUB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SDUB01,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your cabin. We are very proud of the recent renovations we made on each of our 80+ cabins to make them more comfortable and modernly luxurious while maintaining their rustic charm! Keep your eyes open for some new dining options in the future as we plan ahead with our bar and restaurant possibilities!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pea Ridge, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed here for business meetings and it is always wonderful. The staff is extremely attentive. They even worked with our team to adjust the catered menu for us. Our meeting was on the stressful side, so it helped to be in a beautiful place where you could walk outside and relax and unwind. I've only stayed in Great Falls lodge and am sure the other options are as good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
LeslieDG,
So glad you’ve been able to be with us at Big Cedar Lodge on more than one occasion. We truly value those who come to Big Cedar for business purposes but end up personally loving it! We look forward to you coming back to see us again…we’ll save a spot for you!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Big Cedar Lodge and loved it! The grounds are amazing; clean, manicured and very creative. We ate a light breakfast one morning at the Truman Coffee & Cafe and enjoyed sitting outside in the shade, overlooking the lake. Cost was very reasonable. Dinner one night was at Devil's Pool restaurant. Our party of 4 adults thought the food was good and very plentiful, but a little expensive. Service at each restaurant was good too. We intended to stay one night while on a motorcycle vacation, but decided to stay an extra night. Our first night was in the Valley View Lodge. This must be the oldest building there and we really had the feeling of "old & rundown rooms". A bit of updating would be nice for the cost of the stay. The second night, we moved over to the Spring View Lodge into a much more spacious, and more expensive room. Strange layout with a king bed in the living room area and a private bedroom with a king bed as well. One bathroom, coffee maker, small refrigerator, couch and tv. My only complaint with this room was the view (picture attached). We were disappointed that there wasn't an area to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful scenery near our room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, just didn't feel we got our money's worth either night.

Room Tip: Book early as they sell out quickly. Specifically ask about the views of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear okgladmom,

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay at Big Cedar! Our landscaping team does a wonderful job keeping the grounds beautiful, and our culinary staff works hard to bring tasty food to all of our guests. I'm sorry that the Valley View Lodge room wasn't exactly what you were hoping for, and that the Springview Lodge room didn't have the greatest view. However, keep your eyes open as we look ahead to improve our lodging at Big Cedar in the future! We look forward to having you back with us! When you book your next reservations be sure to ask about our Falls Lodge or a Private Log Cabin!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice area and accommodations. Many activities to choose from and wonderful scenery. Family friendly and nice get away for all. All personal were friendly and helpful. Shuttle service to all areas with 24 hour service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Falls Lodge, facing the West and had a wonderful view of Table Rock Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Connie F,
Thank you so much for your comments about Big Cedar Lodge. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our property! We look forward to having you back with us in the future so that you can turn memories into traditions!

Matt Neal
Assistant Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
8.5 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#61 of 140 in Branson
280 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
D'Monaco Luxury Resort & Restaurant.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Property: Big Cedar Lodge
Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include mini golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing