We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went with our family of 2 young kids and mother in law. Had a wonderful experience- stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was perfect. Accommodations were first class- firewood waiting for you to start a fire in your cabin, the cookie lady bringing cookies every night, activities like games/movies available to check out for free. It was perfect. I love the restaurants and how family friendly everything is on site. You truly feel like you are away from reality here. It is also a great place for a romantic get away too. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited for spring break and had a great time. We stayed in the fishing lodge which was only $165 a night and sleeps 5. They have lots to do around the property even in the snow. At registration they recommended we gather some grass and feed the horses! They are sweet horses!! We also played mini golf and played in the arcade.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know about your recent stay at Big Cedar Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed some "family fun" during spring break. Since you mentioned the horses make sure and check out our facebook page and blog. We highlight the horses on occasion! We hope to see you again soon.

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I’d never heard of Big Cedar lodge until this weekend when we visited Bass Pro Shops in Springfield on the way home from Branson. They had a giant kiosk there selling packages for Cedar Lodge (with a timeshare presentation). Some were small packages only for a couple days but we went for the $699 package because we have a large family and LOVE Branson. The sales guy said our 7 nights and 8 days could be split up and we just needed to call with a bit of notice but dates 3 months from now should not be a problem. Imagine my surprise when I called today and asked for ANY date between the second week of June and second week of August and NOTHING was available. Ok, no problem. How about ANY weekend days from April through August? Again, NOTHING. They had a stray Sunday or Wednesday here and there but nothing for 3 or 4 consecutive nights. I then asked to speak to someone so I could ask for a refund. ($699 of our vacation money wasted did not sound good.) I was then transferred, got a heavy call volume message, and was disconnected. The reviews for this place are great, but I would stay away from the timeshare packages which appear to be a "take your money and run" type of thing.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
19  Thank cajzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

WOW is the only word I can come up with to describe how wonderful this place is. I've stayed here several times and just realized that I'd never written a review about it before and it definitely deserves one.

I've stayed in both the Falls Lodge and one of their Two Bedroom Cabins. The Falls Lodge king rooms have a fireplace, whirlpool tub for two, and a deck with a beautiful view. The Two Bedroom Cabin is amazing! Rustic with lots of stuffed wild game on the walls, and a deck overlooking Table Rock Lake.

The property is very woodsy and they've done a great job keeping the look tied in to it's natural surroundings. Sometime near the end of November, they light the place up with small white Christmas lights. It is so pretty! There are lots of activities you can do if you'd like. They have a spa, golf, fishing guides, horse drawn carriage rides, and a chuck wagon camp fire singing cowboy thing you can book that is really fun.

The dining options are very diverse. They have an upscale restaurant called Worman House that is very nice, and also have a more casual restaurant called Devil's Pool Restaurant with the Buzzard Bar adjoining. There is another restaurant that I imagine is very good too called Top of the Rock, but I've never been there when it wasn't under renovation, so I have no input on it.

They are great to work with for corporate events and have several different meeting rooms of various sizes. I've never had a wedding there or attended one there but I've seen several wedding set-ups at various locations on the property. Very beautiful!

This is a wonderful place and I highly recommend checking it out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Big Cedar! We greatly appreciate your kind words and your loyalty. We continue to strive on adding and updating our amenities. We are currently working on several projects including a chapel, a new spa, renovations at Devil's Pool & Buzzard Bar and renovations on accommodations throughout the property. We hope to see you again soon so you can check out the new offerings.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have always wanted to visit this property and kind of wondered what the attraction in southern Missouri could possibly be. Wow! It is a huge property with a variety of room configurations. They have managed to keep the property feeling like a smaller, more intimate property because of the design of placing small "escape" spaces throughout the acreage.

We were in an independent cabin near the Devil's Pool area which is currently under renovation. When making the reservation they made certain that we understood that. The construction was not a problem. Our cabin was paneled in old style knotty pine, old hickory furniture, great bedding, and a native stone wood-buring fireplace. (Fire starters were provided and there is plenty of wood available--replaced daily. The details in the lamps, chandeliers, door hardware, outdoor lighting is incredible. Best we have seen.

Only thing I would change is better lighting for walking back from the restaurant at night. True, they provide shuttle service, but we prefer to walk. Along with better lighting, a separate pedestrian path would be nice.

They are currently working on a number of projects, all of which will simply put this place over the top. Highly recommended for couples and multi-generational families as well as sportspeople. Staff is well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your recent experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your cabin and the amenities. Thank you for noting the need for more lighting, it has been noted! Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

With genuine Ozarks hospitality,
Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I were there for a 4-day get-a-way. It was gorgeous and the employees friendly. We stayed at "The Falls" and our view was breathtaking, not to mention we had two separate balconies because we were in a corner room. Unfortunately for us, the weather was too cold to enjoy them for any length of time (up until the day we were to leave, then it warmed up quite a bit). The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The shuttles were very prompt! The only complaints we have are 1) housekeeping did not make up one of our beds one morning when they came to "do the room", we thought that was odd as everything else was taken care of, just not the bed. Also, we had construction/renovations going on close to our lodge and we had a whole lot of construction noise during those times when we did go outside on the balcony during the daytime. Another disappointment was that neither the "heated pool" nor the "hot tub" nearest to our lodge were heated. There was no sign or notice on the pool/hot tub directing us to a heated pool a little further away which we discovered the day we were to leave (which is something we could have investigated ourselves before the trip ended, but didn't so that's partially our fault for not asking). We were disappointed in the things mentioned above, but there were many wonderful things about the trip as well. The horse and carriage ride was fun, the nightly entertainment in the Buzzard Bar was fun and the food good. Our steak dinner at the Worman House was wonderful, next to a roaring fire and a sunset view..can't beat that. All in all, other than a few things that weren't so wonderful mentioned above, the trip was nice and I would love to visit again during warmer weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Tablerock Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know about your stay at Big Cedar Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and we always love to hear from our guests. We are taking your experiences into consideration as we plan for the future. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time here: Awesome just loved the place I'll be back. The veiw, the grounds, the rooms and activities all great! One minor exception I do not recommend the horseback riding. It's way over priced, located at Dogwood Canyon 20 min ride and then 10 min of paperwork then 10 min to the stable makes prep time too long for a 50 min ride and not a very pretty mostly level open range ride. Similar rides available in more beautiful locations for half the price within 20 min of the Big Cedar

Room Tip: All rooms good but If choosing a cabin the lake cabins are far from the resturants and pools whereas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pld1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing Big Cedar for your 2013 Spring Break and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad you had a good time and we've also duly noted your comments about horseback riding at Dogwood Canyon. We will take this into consideration for future plans as we continue to enhance the experience at Dogwood Canyon. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
23.0 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 133 in Branson
864 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling wilderness resort is located 1.7 miles from Big Cedar Hollow and 9 miles from the Branson Creek Golf Club. Accommodations range from rustic private cabins to warmly decorated lodge rooms, plus a modern cottage and a villa. All feature a sophisticated take on wilderness lodge decor, plus whirlpool tubs, free Wi-Fi and minifridges. Many have fireplaces. Amenities include a full-service spa, a fitness center with personal trainer, and pony and carriage rides, plus indoor/outdoor pools, a lazy river and loaner kayaks/canoes. There are several dining options, ranging from a casual cafe to a rustic-chic space with lake views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing