We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and restful celebration for Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and restful celebration for Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I went here to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. It was more than we had heard about and such a treat for us. We asked for a cabin. It was delightful and full of surprises. The set up was great and we needed nothing to stay even longer than we were there. The bath was great, the kitchen perfect, the sitting area and fireplace so cozy and great sleeping arrangements. There was a grill and a balcony looking over the water and had the weather been warmer we would have had a number of outside activities to do. This place would be great for kids and grandkids and families to gather. It is more expensive than an Inn and Suites you might stay at but it was well worth it to us.

Room Tip: The lodges looked great with wonderful views from high up. We had a cabin and the privacy was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy26steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating this special occasion with Big Cedar Lodge. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and you found the cabin more than accommodating! Thank you for giving us feedback about your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    214
    76
    49
    34
See reviews for
506
466
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spend the past weekend at Big Cedar, arrived Friday and never left the property. Devil's Pool and Buzzard Bar are under renovation but didn't seem to make a difference. Everything was moved to the Worman house and it was great. Beds are most comfortable ever and every employee was beyond great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjfuller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for spending the weekend with us! We are glad you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the service and quality of the Worman House. Thank you for your patience during this very busy time for us. We are very excited about all of the new projects being worked on including the new spa, renovations at Devil's Pool and Buzzard Bar and a new chapel. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We absolutely loved the cabin at Big Cedar! We were there for our anniversary and could not have had a more enjoyable time!. Imagine our surprise when we found an anniversary cake and card waiting in our room when we arrived! The grounds are beautiful, the employees are excellent and we are looking forward to going there again! Thank you Big Cedar staff for you wonderful hospitality and kindness!

Room Tip: We love the cabins overlooking the lake. They have a private balcony which is a perfect setting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Searcy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience while staying at Big Cedar Lodge. It is a privilege when a guest shares a special memory with us. We are happy that you had a wonderful time on your anniversary and we hope to see you again soon!

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our first visit to Big Cedar Lodge quickly became an annual family trip! Gorgeous property, outstanding service and activities for everyone to enjoy! I'm not much for the outdoors, but Big Cedar makes even a city girl like me feel right at home! We have enjoyed a private cabin each time we visited. Huge natural fireplaces in each private cabin, with wood delivery each evening no matter what the season..."The Cookie Lady" stopping by with her wicker basket full of fresh, homemade cookies each night...family lawn games hosted by the resort on the front lawn followed by a campfire and s'mores...oh, and the family scavenger hunt around the property...what fun!!!! There aren't many places that offer a woodsy ambiance with 5 star ammenties...but Big Cedar sure does, and they do it well! Fantastic dining options...comfy, clean accomodations and a calendar of resort events to fill every moment of your day if you choose! The spa was a little disappointing...small and not very high end which was very surprising given the rest of the resort features. The marina is fantastic- with dockside service that can't be beat. The pony rides for your little cowboys are well worth the money...Dinner at The Worman House is a must, and your visit simply won't be complete without making the short drive to Dogwood Canyon- A gorgeous, serene 10,000 acre nature "park" with trout fishing, private jeep tours, hiking, biking....and on and on and on! One of the best trips ever.

Room Tip: When traveling with a large family and/or small kiddos the private cabins are well worth the extra m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 11Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Big Cedar Lodge. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at BCL. It was our first trip, but won't be our last. These folks have instilled excellent customer service in all aspects of the resort. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin and it was just perfect. The fireplace was all set for us to light, and we even received dry wood when the maintenance staff noticed smoke from our fireplace - a light snowfall had occurred overnight. Great place for a winter getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom cabin - and although I'm sure the lodge rooms are nice, the cabins ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmcalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Many others have already commented about the service, hospitality, food and overall ambience of BCL. Rob, Hedi, JJ, Don, Linda, Michelle, Bill, etc...all excellent BCL employees and they represent the hospitalty industry and owners very well. The entire program is excellent and we totally agree with the other reviewers. In fairness to new guests, however, (we were new to BCL), we should mention a few other ipoints. We were surprised to enter our room in Falls Lodge and find at least a dozen fish, pelts and taxidermist's creations of all kinds...totally unexpected. Wow...like sleeping in a forest or lake...it was definitely not your ordinary room to say the least. The atriums and lobbies were mostly the same, so be prepared, If you bring children, coach them ahead of time that this is a wilderness resort...not the Holiday Inn or Marriott, so expect the "wilderness experience". Although we didn't have our grandkids with us, we sent pictures home for them to see our room and they had reactions to the "dead creatures"' in G'mas/G'pas room. Worman's restaurant and Truman's Cafe were great (thank you Hedi) ...service was excellent. Another unforgetable incident worth mentioning is my fall on black ice I suffered a laceration on my face and dislocated a thumb while walking to breakfast one morning after an ice storm. The BCL first responders came immediately to my aid and placed on splint on my hand and almost everyday afterwards someone at the front desk or the corporate office in Springfield ,MO followed up to ask me how I was recuperating. Now that is a caring team of employees and service beyond the call of duty. We were very impressed. Lastly, unless you have a serious interest in joining the "Wilderness Club" of time-sharing owners, skip the presentation. All nice folks, but keep in mind they are trying to sell property...if you are not interested, save their time and yours. Lastly, try the bar beneath Worman's restaurant.... Clay was perfoming at BCL. We thoroughly enjoyed the performance. We'd defintely go back again, hopefully in a warmer month so we would not run into an ice storm. Lovely resort!! Try it, you'll love it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carboguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are so glad you were our guests and that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we do have a few creatures around the place! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

With genuine Ozarks hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Without doubt, this is our favorite place anywhere close to Branson. We have stayed multiple times and have enjoyed each and every trip. If you can swing it, having a private cabin is the way to go. The other rooms are nice as well, but nothing compares to the cabins. The staff is wonderful and exactly what you would expect from a resort of this caliber. The food offerings are, for the most part, excellent. Breakfast at Devil's Pool has become a morning staple and dinner there is a delight. The Buzzard Bar is nice for refreshments. The Worman House used to be a favorite but the Sunday brunch has slipped a little in the recent past and is no longer a "must do". I continue to hold out hope that this will change because it used to be one of the highlights of each trip. Overall, though, Big Cedar is a gem. There will be many more trips there in our future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7KC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
7.0 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
8.1 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#26 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
5.6 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
D'Monaco Luxury Resort & Restaurant.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Property: Big Cedar Lodge
Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include mini golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing