We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for good service then look no further!”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ridgedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I recently returned to Big Cedar after 18 years. Kids, school and work have kept us from returning sooner but it was even better then last time.

This was a surprise trip for my wife to celebrate Valentines Day and our Anniversary. I started off speaking to Don in the Guest Services dept on the phone and arranging things like a horse drawn carriage ride and dinner reservations. We also arranged to have flowers in the room upon our arrival. I had coordinated with JJ at the front desk to ship a photo album and picture frame ahead of time to be setup with the flowers.

When we arrived I was informed that the flowers had not arrived yet but they did have the package with the photos of our previous visit. Matthew was at the front desk when we arrived (early) and had all the details of my "surprises" for my wife. He was able to have a fellow front desk clerk distract my wife while we conspired to have the flowers and photos delivered while were were at dinner.

After we got settled into our beautiful cabin we returned to Guest Services and Allthea was most helpful in assisting us with getting an appt. in the Spa for our "Class for Two" massage class. Even though she was busy she took the time to make sure we were taken care of.

We then had a carriage ride around the complex in a lighted horse drawn carriage pulled by our trusty steed "Willie" Our wrangler told us that he was one of their best horses unless someone started up a lawn mower, then he gets a little startled! Good thing this was February and no grass needed mowing! Willie was sure footed and provided us with a lovely ride.

We then had Dinner at the Worman house and the hostess made sure we had a nice window view of the glimmering lights shining off Table Rock Lake while we had a wonderful dinner served by Dan. The chef even accommodated us and altered our order so that we could have exactly the dinner that was part "special" and part regular menu.

When we returned to the room, the flowers had been delivered along with the photo album.

On Sunday after brunch at the Worman house, Crystal in the Carriage House Spa taught us how to properly and effectively give each other a massage! It was wonderfully relaxing.

Just to put the service in perspective, when were were in the cabin, our Internet service was not working. I called the front desk expecting some simple troubleshooting steps on how to resolve the connection issue. They told us someone would call us back or stop by. It was literally within 3 minutes there was a knock at the door. A gentleman from the engineering team came by and within a minute or two had us connected. This type of service permeates all the staff at Big Cedar. Lisa the shuttle driver, the bartender at the Buzzard Bar (whose name escapes me at the moment) and all that we met were most helpful.

Due to the sprwaling nature of the campus, there are shuttle buses that run 24 hrs a day to take you anywhere on the property. This cuts down on the vehicle traffic and makes things easily accessable. Of course, walking is a past time I witnessed alot of the guests taking, lesiurly strolls to see all the activities.

Big Cedar has done an excellent job of maintaining their facilities. The cabins are updated and modern and have all the conveniences that you could want. There is a lot of construction going on which may be viewed as a bother but I see it as progress! I hope we get back before another 18 years!

Big Cedar may not be the cheapest vacation but if you love good service and lots of activities or just simply sit on the deck of your private cabin and just get away from it all, give it a try...

Room Tip: If you want a good view from a private cabin make sure you talk to them before. While the cabins ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owasso_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband has been talking to me about going to Big Cedar for the past year, we finally went this week end. Although we got off to a bit of a rough start( there was an awful odor in our room) the staff was wonderful and moved us into a room that was perfect ( and no odor). The rest of the time was wonderful, it is beautiful there and we can't wait to go back again in the summer. Hopefully the Buzzard bar will be open then!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have loved Big Cedar so much over the years that we stayed for our 20, 25 and now our 40th Anniversary. Our reason for being so disappointed was all the construction noise. We had expected to spend a few days "romancing in our robes" and recharging our batteries. Sunday was a great day because there was no construction work. Monday was miserable, mainly due to the work being done on the new wedding chapel. Hammering would not have been a problem but the noise from the power equipment only stopped for an hour at noon. Then a chain saw started up for work on waterfall in front of our room. Then there was the noise from the heavy equipment breaking up rock and drive in front of Devil's Pool restaurant. It was a beautiful sunny day and sitting on the balcony was what we had been looking forward to. With all this noise it was impossible. So we went inside the room, closed the doors, closed the drapes and turned on the radio to drown out the noise but not much luck. Try being in a romantic mood with all that? I called the front desk and they offered to move us to a different location but being outside anywhere would have been the same and having to pack everything up was not what I was looking forward to.
The only mention of construction being done was work to the Devil's Pool and Buzzard Bar. The Worman House restaurant has beautiful views but the menu was very limited. The relocated bar served additional items but once again the menu was restricted. Unable to even order french fries with the sandwiches or burgers. Told this was due to limited space. Limited bar selection regarding beers, no draft. Reduced prices should have been offered for reduced menu.
I understand remodeling and construction is necessary to improve and maintain Big Cedar but I think they should have been more upfront of just what type was going on so we could have made other plans. We only have one 40th Anniversary to celebrate and we spent one of the days with a headache from all the noise.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Falls Lodge Deluxe King, Spring View Deluxe room and the Knotty Pine cottages. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Carol,

Thanks for posting your concerns for us to review. I believe I spoke to you last week. I've made our team aware of your experience and we are taking steps to address your concerns. You are absolutely correct in that we have many improvement projects going on. As an update, Devil's Pool Restaurant is scheduled to be back online in time for summer enjoyment. Our new chapel is scheduled to be completed by the end of the summer. We are diligently working to continually enhance the Big Cedar experience while not having a negative effect on current guests. Thank you again for letting us know your experience.

Sincerely,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stopped for one night on the way to Little Rock and rented a two-bedroom cabin overlooking the lake. It was adorable and very well-furnished. The kitchen was well-equipped for cooking our own dinner, and we loved sitting around the wood-burning fireplace in the evening. Beds and linens were super comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for making Big Cedar Lodge a part of your journey! We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I absolutely love Big Cedar Lodge. We usually stay here every year for our anniversary - but right now we live to far away, and for Christmas. We truly miss our yearly visits!! They decorate the grounds so beautifully at Christmas! We took the carriage ride that meanders through the grounds - so unbelievably beautiful!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dancingred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We hope to see you again soon!

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been coming to Worman House for the last 13 yrs with family, even bring visitors to show the highlight of Branson. Your price has gone up to almost $30 which we didn't mind it use to be worth it. Old style which is what you would find in any high end brunch as this one:Ice sculptures with Ample crab legs, shrimp, oysters, various salads would also including a favorite pate. Breads of all sorts, croissants, bagels with CREAM CHEESE, regular rolls, etc.. Desserts were to die for, multiple choices including cakes. Somewhere along last year someone started micromanaging the menu and things started disappearing and yet PRICE went up. Today was a birthday event and I was horrified. We were guaranteed at 12:00 we would still have everything. The shrimp container was full of melted ice and very little shrimp, 1 oyster, salmon was empty and the server walks out with a an individual plate enough for one person. No bread except bagels with no cream cheese in sight, so the server went to the back and only came back with an individual portion. what about the rest of the guests? The waffles were sitting out cold and dry. The chafing trays with entrees were empty and guests were standing around waiting for someone to come and replace, which by the way took a long time. Worman House stood out in Branson because of view, high end menu, and style.Loved it, but somewhere your menu has become equal to substandard restaurants in town yet higher price. Very Disappointed and Sad. Lower your prices or wake up and go back to old and prosperous style. Right now Chateau on the Lake looks better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to let us know of your recent experience at the Worman House. Our management and culinary team has taken steps to improve on the items you mentioned. We take your comments very seriously and we use them to make our offerings and experience better every day.

Sincerely,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had heard about this place for years what an amazing place this is. However, it was above and beyond my expectations! We pulled up in the early evening as a light snow was falling. The buildings were outlined in Christmas lights and it was a beautiful sight. The lobby was huge and beautiful, woodsy and lodge like. There were enormous Christmas trees beautifully decorated, and a big (BIG) gingerbread chapel in the warm and busy lobby. Our room was in the Falls Lodge and was absolutely beautiful. High ceilings, gas fireplace, woodsy decor, gorgeous bathroom, comfortable bed, variety of animals on the wall. Everywhere you go at this resort has various animals, either in whole form (bears, elk, birds, fish), or heads (moose, deer, cape water buffalo, elk). It gives each room and building a woodsy warm feel. We had dinner at the Worman House. It is a warm, candlelit atmosphere with live music, and amazing food. Very romantic for couples. Another evening we had a long wait (an hour) for dinner at the Devil's Pool restaurant, and we hadn't arrived there until 7:30pm. However, it was the weekend before New Year's and they were very very busy. Also there was one restaurant on property that was closed, so that added to the difficult dining situation too. The food was very good, and the service good as well. One morning we ordered breakfast and had another long wait, (over an hour) and when the man arrived with our food, said he was the only one delivering food that day. For the entire resort. For a busy holiday-time weekend you would think they could have had more help. One other very minor complaint I had was the muzak that was playing overhead in the lodge. It was irritating and was distracting from the overall feel of the place. I thought some 40's big band music, or even nature sounds would have been a better fit.
We tried to grab some breakfast at the coffee shop (Truman House), but it was so crowded with people standing and waiting for their food, that we left.
The price of the room and the restaurants was more than we would have normally spent. But it was a very romantic and beautiful place to spend a few days!

Room Tip: Top floor Falls Lodge has a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. I'm glad you had a great time and were able to enjoy part of the Christmas season with the Big Cedar family. While you wrote a glowing review please know that we have taken note of the areas you suggested for improvement and our team is diligently looking into ways to better serve our guests. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
5.8 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#73 of 133 in Branson
296 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling wilderness resort is located 1.7 miles from Big Cedar Hollow and 9 miles from the Branson Creek Golf Club. Accommodations range from rustic private cabins to warmly decorated lodge rooms, plus a modern cottage and a villa. All feature a sophisticated take on wilderness lodge decor, plus whirlpool tubs, free Wi-Fi and minifridges. Many have fireplaces. Amenities include a full-service spa, a fitness center with personal trainer, and pony and carriage rides, plus indoor/outdoor pools, a lazy river and loaner kayaks/canoes. There are several dining options, ranging from a casual cafe to a rustic-chic space with lake views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing