We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Winter Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Of all the resorts we have been to, BIG CEDAR is our top favorite in the midwest! What a relaxing way to get through winter and escape the city life! It has something for everyone! We love the ability to just stay on the grounds..places to eat..from simple to very gourmet. Or cook our own meals. The shuttle is a great addition. The fitness center is one of the best we have ever been to. The history and beauty of this resort is an asset. We come about 3-4x a year. It is great girl friend getaway retreat or a men's retreat to golf the awesome courses around Branson. It is a must see and stay resort in the midwest!

Room Tip: Cabins are awesome! THE lodges have great views of the Lake...Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BYI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your very nice compliments about your stay with us at Big Cedar Lodge. We strive to make Big Cedar the premier wilderness resort, a destination that keeps our guests longing to return. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you chose to vacation with us.

We hope you will return soon!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    214
    76
    49
    33
See reviews for
505
464
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We visit Big Cedar once or twice a year and always have a wonderful time! The best thing about this resort is that you can be as active as you choose. There is so much to do; boating, swimming, horseback riding, tennis, and more! But you can also choose to simply lounge around and enjoy the splendor of the lake and mountains. We stay in the lodge at the top of the mountain and I can't say enough about how lovely the rooms are, with the large spa tub and a balcony or patio that looks out at the lake. The service is top notch as well! They cater to your every need in a timely and polite manner. We also manage to put on a few pounds during every visit, as the food in both the casual restaurant and the fine dining restaurant, is excellent! On our last trip we booked massages. I have had massages at some of the finest resorts in the country and this was by far the most relaxing and enjoyable. If you're considering Big Cedar, don't hesitate! Book it now! You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the lodge at the top of the hill. The views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsongbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments abour your visit to Big Cedar Lodge. I am pleased to read that you loved your accommodations, the food, and your massages. We definitely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you chose to vacation with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishforlife5
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visit Big Cedar a couple of times a year and always stay in a Cabin. There is nothing better then cooking a meal on the grill and eating at the table with your family with the fire roaring and just knowing you are away from it all. The pool is fun and the kids always enjoy the slide. The property takes perfect family pictures. The bus will pick you up at the cabin and take you anywhere on property you need to go. If you are wanting something special such as milk or food to cook, bring it with you or the baskets will be pricey that you can purchase to cook. There is no better place to take your family to get away from it all in the state of Missouri then a Five Star Resort Such as Big Cedar. The Devil's Pool has amazing food and the Worman House has breakfast that the whole family will love. We enjoy the movie rentals and games they have also!!

Room Tip: Get a cabin...you won't want to leave!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishforlife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Big Cedar Lodge. We strive to make Big Cedar the premier wilderness resort, a destination that keeps our guests longing to return. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed grilling at your cabin and having fun at the pool. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you chose to vacation with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasville, mo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a room in the lodge, and it was very nice! The shuttle was available to take us where ever we wanted to go. We had a fun evening listening to music in the Buzzard Bar. It was just a fun getaway for a January weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to Big Cedar Lodge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the shuttle service and entertainment at Buzzard Bar. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you chose to vacation with us.

We hope you'll return soon to experience more of our 'Ozark Hospitality'!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

It's 15 years since we've been through this area & I forgot how lovely it is, especially with the naked trees of January & its lush folding hills. The landscapes rival anywhere I've driven in the Rockies, Sierras, Catskills & Appalachians.

This weekend we headed southwest out of town. Arriving at the southern arm of beautiful Table Rock Lake we spent 3 nights in a one room Lakeside Cabin at Big Cedar Lodge. Our authentic, no expenses spared cabin perched on a hillside high above the cove & marina, overlooking the many lodges, original buildings & cabins of this rambling roomy resort. We were treated to a massive stone wood burning fireplace (wood supplied daily outside our door), a deep compact Jacuzzi tucked in the corner of the large bathroom, his & her sinks, a 4head shower & a private toilet closet sectioned off in one corner. Our brass & iron king bed welcomed us with its headboard halfway to the ceiling, silky sheets, down comforter & Pendleton wool coverlet. Our balcony perched on a hillside high above the cove looking out over scattered lodges, cabins & original buildings of the resort - all still outlined in white holiday lights! An enchanted January day bid us spend the afternoon hiking outdoors as we hand carried our sweaters, sipped hot coffee on a cobbled patio at Truman's coffee shop & closed the day in the glow of a full moon & a black sky above a million sparkling lights.

Service was given with a smile throughout the entire resort. A free shuttle is offered anywhere on the grounds 24 hours a day. We asked our driver "Tom" about signing up for a tour of the resort & its history & were promptly given the grande driving tour on the spot! We had a couple things needing attention in our cabin & employees were there almost instantly to take care of them. And every inch of the buildings are "done right" from copper guttering, shake shingle roofing & genuine log craftsmanship to brass & iron door fittings, stained glass windows, leather lobby seating & wide plank wood, ceramic tile or flagstone flooring.

We experienced courtesy & welcome everywhere. We plan to make this a yearly retreat after the holidays.

We plan to make this a yearly respite after the holidays.

Room Tip: Unless you want a lot of room, ask for a one room Lakeside Cabin or Devil's Pool Cabin for the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailIntotheMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice words about your visit at Big Cedar Lodge. We strive to make Big Cedar the premier wilderness resort, a destination that keeps our guests longing to return. It truly sounds like you had a wonderful time with us. We definitely appreciate your opinion and are delighted you chose to vacation with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Big Cedar in a studio with a family of 4 over Spring Break 2011 and had a wonderful stay! The room itself is a little small, but very clean and adequate for a family of 4 with two small children. Our two children slept on the pull out couch, the king bed was very comfortable and the patio was wonderful! It was warm enough during our stay to use the patio a few times to have dinner.

The resort ammenities are very nice. We ate at one of the restaurants on site, they had live music- it was fun to take our family to. The bakery was also very good! The indoor pool was nice, but a bit crowded. The outdoor hot tub was very nice. The kids enjoyed playing putt-putt golf and swimming in the outdoor heated pool (one day when it was in the 70's).

Overall, a very nice resort! We will definitely be returning when staying in the Branson area!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaca-Fam-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Big Cedar Lodge. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed partaking in many of our amenities. We strive to make Big Cedar the premier wilderness resort, a destination that keeps our guests longing to return. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you chose to vacation with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

checked out lodge for our son. wonderful scenic complex at table rock lake. still had christmas decorations. twisting road in but worth the visit. wonderful architectural elements in buildings around lake . rambling waterfall, horseback riding, fishing, boating.wonderful rooms and conference center. wormen house (resturant) has excellent food and service and excellent views and atmosphere. great for a weekend getaway or longer. only drawback is the time share side/ promo. skip it and just enjoy nature,family and food

Room Tip: rooms facing lake. upper floors with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolsto314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H, General Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to Big Cedar Lodge. I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed the scenery, food, and service. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you chose to vacation with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Tina Harlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
7.0 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
8.1 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#26 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
8.3 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
5.6 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Property: Big Cedar Lodge
Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include mini golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing