We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Cedar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
328 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We loved the seclusion and beauty of Big Cedar Lodge! We went the week of the Fourth of July. The food and activities were great. It wasn't crowded with people (except the pool, of course!). The beds were super comfy! It was our first time and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44tvmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    222
    83
    50
    35
See reviews for
525
485
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I had a business meeting here for 3 days and 2 nights. We stayed in Falls Lodge. I don't know if all the rooms in Falls Lodge are king suites, but our rooms were! Mine had a jacuzzi tub, a fireplace, vaulted ceiling, and a walk out veranda. The view from my room was magnificent. It overlooked a wooded area of Big Cedar.

Our meeting room was all windows on two sides, so it provided a wonderful view, too. The staff was very friendly and courteous, though they forgot about us on the second afternoon.

We took a catamaran cruise dinner one night on Table Rock Lake. Captain Jack was awesome! It was a about a two hour ride and just a blast. The second night we had a Chuck Wagon dinner. We were taken by wagon, pulled by 2 horses, to a little outdoor eating area. They grilled the most amazing steaks right in front of us. It was an awesome experience.

I cannot wait to take my husband and son back here for a family vacation. It is very kid-friendly with lots of fun activities. It was a great venue for a business meeting, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenbug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The lodge seemed gimmicky until I arrived. The grounds are top rate and every detail was deliberate and comprehensive. I stayed in the old fishing cabins (which are not advertised online, but run around a third of the log cabin price) with my wife. We had plenty of room and had a small kitchenette. We could view the lake from our porch. We had lunch at one of the restaurants. It was only fair. Also, the pricing seems a bit steep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcfoodeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed a few extra days after a business conference he had at the Lodge. The grounds are beautiful, very well maintained. The restaurants on the property are nice, the brunch at the Devil's Pool restaurant was excellent and worth the $12 pp. They have a 5K running trail around the property, a lot of water activities on Table Rock Lake, great gift shop and a newly renovated exercise room. This is an excellent family friendly place with plenty to do for the kids. The rooms were ok, pretty basic and walls are a bit thin. The property is very hilly so be prepared if you plan to walk from building to building. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmtaggie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Just got back from a 5 night stay at Big Cedar. My wife, son, daughter, and their spouses, plus our 9 month old grand child (7 total) stayed in the Kevin Costner Cabin; a 2 bedroom two bath cabin and was very nice. It was a little confined with all of us there and in retrospect, we should have gotten a cabin with a loft. The kids said their beds were very comfy. The pull-out that my wife and I slept on was,,,,,, well a couch not a bed, but there's that. The grounds are impeccably landscaped and cared for, the food scrumptious and activities abound. The Buzzard Bar is not to be missed with the Singing Cowboy. A day on a pontoon boat at the lake is a great option. Make reservation well in advance for all activities as they fill up quickly and you can get left out (the stables for us). Golf courses are all around and the LedgeStone is gorgeous and not too far from the property. The room service was excellent and reasonable. The Spa was typical of other high end properties where we have stayed. All in all - A super place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chargerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Level Contributor
479 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Cannot say enough of this beautiful place. We stayed in a cabin next to the marina. My husband is an avid fisherman so he was in hog heaven. This was his 40th birthday trip. Big cedar was great. We ate at every restaurant on property all were excellent. They have too many activites to list. Did the horse ride/great. As you can see we loved our vacation there. will surely be back

Room Tip: marina side or lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidTexas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

All I can say is a awesome place, not a backwoods campground by any means! Immaculate grounds welcome you as you arrive, and as the sign says I really do believe they were biting like crazy yesterday! :) Cabin was immaculate comfy bed welcome basket with snacks and cold drinks waiting in fridge when we got there. Traveling with 4 kids 7,6,3,1 was awesome they went right to bed every night with exhaustion from the activities provided. Marina was great, pools awesome, bonfire with smores and singer everynight wonderful. Devil's pool cafe was great to take the family to, we opted to go downstairs to the Buzzard Bar, smoke free and eat with a little more ambient noise to better enjoy dinner with the kids. You would be a fool not to go spend a few days or a week at Big Cedar!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgedale
1.9 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
8.5 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#30 of 140 in Branson
1,025 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
D'Monaco Luxury Resort & Restaurant.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Property: Big Cedar Lodge
Address: 190 Top of the Rock Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739-4500
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include mini golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing